advertisement
Human Quirks News
January 18, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 1:48pm EST

More Human Quirks News
January 18, 2019

Dec. 20, 2018 — Researchers created LEAP, a flexible motion-capture tool that can be trained in a matter of minutes to track body parts over millions of frames of existing video with high accuracy, without any ... read more

Dec. 19, 2018 — Researchers have genetically modified a common houseplant to remove chloroform and benzene from the air around ... read more

Dec. 13, 2018 — Researchers have found a bacteria-killing virus that can listen in on bacterial conversations -- and then they made it attack diseases including salmonella, E. coli and ... read more

Dec. 13, 2018 — Researchers have designed an ingestible capsule that can be controlled using Bluetooth wireless technology. Their capsule, which can be customized to deliver drugs, sense environmental conditions, or ... read more

Fighting Obesity: Could It Be as Plain as Dirt?

Dec. 12, 2018 — It costs the global economy an estimated US $2 trillion annually and has been dubbed a modern day health epidemic, but new research has unearthed a possible cure for obesity -- and it is as plain as ... read more

Dec. 11, 2018 — New 'classification models' sense how well humans trust intelligent machines they collaborate with, a step toward improving the quality of interactions and ... read more

Dec. 10, 2018 — The human brain needs to suppress obvious ideas in order to reach the most creative ones, according to scientists. These obvious associations are present in both convergent thinking (finding an ... read more

What Can a Snowflake Teach Us About How Cancer Spreads in the Body?

Dec. 6, 2018 — What can seashells, lightning and the coastline of Britain teach us about new drugs for cancer? The answer, according to a team of researchers, may revolve around fractals, the infinitely complex ... read more

Dec. 6, 2018 — Babies recognize faces from profile view in the second half of the first year of life, new research ... read more

Dec. 5, 2018 — Scientists have produced a memristive element made from nanowires that functions in much the same way as a biological nerve cell. The component is able to both save and process information, as well ... read more

Dec. 5, 2018 — What does the brain do when things go bump in the night? Researchers are looking at neural activity in the amygdala by studying how mice react when they hear a sound they've been taught to ... read more

Dec. 4, 2018 — Currently, uterus donation is only available for women with family members who are willing to donate. With live donors in short supply, the new technique might help to increase availability and give ... read more

Dec. 4, 2018 — Changing the gut microbiome to beat illness really does hold great potential, said a biologist, but first scientists must answer what constitutes a healthy gut microbiome and in ... read more

Dec. 4, 2018 — Until now, research exploring how and why cute aggression occurs has been the domain of behavioral psychology. But recently, a licensed clinical psychologist with a background in neuroscience has ... read more

Dec. 4, 2018 — Scientists have demonstrated a new neurotechnology for reading out neural signals of position in real-time as rats run a maze, or replay it during sleep, with a high degree of accuracy, with more ... read more

Nov. 29, 2018 — About 75 percent of amputees exhibit mobility of their phantom limb. Using this information, researchers have developed a prototype capable of detecting these movements and activating a prosthetic ... read more

Nov. 28, 2018 — Human skin contains sensitive nerve cells that detect pressure, temperature and other sensations that allow tactile interactions with the environment. To help robots and prosthetic devices attain ... read more

Wriggly, Giggle, Puffball: What Makes Some Words Funny?

Nov. 27, 2018 — Upchuck, bubby, boff, wriggly, yaps, giggle, cooch, guffaw, puffball, and jiggly: the top 10 funniest words in the English language, according to a new study. The researchers determined that there ... read more

Why Small Size Matters: Tiny Mitochondria Stimulate Brain Cell Connections

Nov. 27, 2018 — New research suggests that mitochondria help neurons grow and make proper connections in the developing brain. The work could open up new lines of inquiry into may be at play when these processes go ... read more

Electrical Stimulation in the Nose Induces Sense of Smell in Human Subjects

Nov. 27, 2018 — Physicians have, for the first time, induced a sense of smell in humans by using electrodes in the nose to stimulate nerves in the olfactory bulb, a structure in the brain where smell information ... read more

Thursday, December 20, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Friday, November 23, 2018
Wednesday, November 21, 2018
Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Monday, November 19, 2018
Friday, November 16, 2018
Friday, November 9, 2018
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Thursday, November 1, 2018
Tuesday, October 30, 2018
Friday, October 26, 2018
Thursday, October 25, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Monday, October 22, 2018
Tuesday, October 16, 2018
Monday, October 15, 2018
Friday, October 12, 2018
Thursday, October 11, 2018
Wednesday, October 10, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Monday, October 8, 2018
Thursday, October 4, 2018
Wednesday, October 3, 2018
Tuesday, October 2, 2018
Friday, September 28, 2018
Wednesday, September 26, 2018
Tuesday, September 25, 2018
Monday, September 24, 2018
Friday, September 21, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Tuesday, September 18, 2018
Monday, September 17, 2018
Thursday, September 13, 2018
Wednesday, September 12, 2018
Thursday, September 6, 2018
Wednesday, September 5, 2018
Tuesday, September 4, 2018
Friday, August 31, 2018
Thursday, August 30, 2018
Wednesday, August 29, 2018
Tuesday, August 28, 2018
Monday, August 27, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com