advertisement
Bizarre Things: Computers & Math
June 26, 2019

Top Headlines
 

Astronomy Bot Speeds Up Search for Jupiter's Twins

Astronomers have a new tool in their search for extraterrestrial life -- a sophisticated bot that helps identify stars hosting planets similar to Jupiter and ... read more

Researchers Teach Robots What Humans Want

Researchers are developing better, faster ways of providing human guidance to autonomous ... read more

'Robot Blood' Powers Machines for Lengthy Tasks

Researchers have created a system of circulating liquid -- 'robot blood' -- within robotic structures, to store energy and power robotic applications for sophisticated, long-duration ... read more

Team Supersizes 'Quantum Squeezing' to Measure Ultrasmall Motion

Physicists have harnessed the phenomenon of 'quantum squeezing' to amplify and measure trillionths-of-a-meter motions of a lone trapped magnesium ion (electrically charged ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 10:38am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

New research suggests how to get large numbers of people engaged in participating during a live performance like a concert -- or a lecture -- and channel that energy for a sustained time ... read more

Making the 'Human-Body Internet' More Effective

Human body communication (HBC) uses the human body to transmit power and data, much like the internet. Because it's a smaller and closed network, it has the benefit of being more secure and ... read more

Behind the Magic: Making Moving Photos a Reality

Researchers have figured out how to take a person from a 2D photo or a work of art and make them run, walk or jump out of the frame. The system also allows users to view the animation in three ... read more

What makes Beethoven sound like Beethoven? Researchers have completed a first analysis of Beethoven's writing style, applying statistical techniques to unlock recurring ... read more

Researchers have given new capabilities to their fleet of robotic boats that let them target and clasp onto each other, and keep trying if they ... read more

Video Gamers Design Brand New Proteins

By encoding their specialized knowledge into a computer game, researchers enabled citizen scientists to successfully design synthetic proteins for the first ... read more

We know bees get the concept of zero and can do basic math. Now researchers have discovered they may also be capable of connecting symbols to numbers. It's a finding that sheds new light on how ... read more

Mathematicians have found a way to predict whether an actor's career has peaked or if their most successful days lie ... read more

According to a new study, the presence of simple hyphens in the titles of academic papers adversely affects the citation statistics, regardless of the quality of the articles. [Editor's note: ... read more

Physicists have teleported a computer circuit instruction known as a quantum logic operation between two separated ions (electrically charged atoms), showcasing how quantum computer programs could ... read more

'Time-Travel' Feature Added to Drives to Fight Ransomware Attacks

One of the latest cyber threats involves hackers encrypting user files and then charging 'ransom' to get them back. In a new paper, researchers examine how to use the commodity storage ... read more

Quantum Information Gets a Boost from Thin-Film Breakthrough

Efforts to create reliable light-based quantum computing, quantum key distribution for cybersecurity, and other technologies got a boost from a new study demonstrating an innovative method for ... read more

Sensor-Packed Glove Learns Signatures of the Human Grasp

Wearing a sensor-packed glove while handling a variety of objects, researchers have compiled a massive dataset that enables an AI system to recognize objects through touch alone. The information ... read more

Highly Flexible High-Energy Textile Lithium Battery to Cope With Surging Demand for Wearable Electronics

Researchers have developed a highly flexible, high-energy textile lithium battery that offers more stable, durable and safe energy supply for wearable electronics with a myriad of applications, such ... read more

Researchers have developed a simple and highly novel form of computing by shining patterned bands of light and shadow through different facets of a polymer cube and reading the combined results that ... read more

With aims of bringing more human-like reasoning to autonomous vehicles, researchers have created a system that uses only simple maps and visual data to enable driverless cars to navigate routes in ... read more

Physics Professor Jesse Berezovsky contends that until now, much of the thinking about math and music has been a top-down approach, applying mathematical ideas to existing musical compositions as a ... read more

Soft, Social Robot Brings Coziness to Homes, and Classrooms

A new social robot that can be customized with handcrafted material, such as wood and wool, brings simplicity and fun to home robotics -- and will soon be used to help teach math to fourth ... read more

How Augmented Reality Affects People's Behavior

Researchers found that people's interactions with a virtual person in augmented reality, or AR, influenced how they behaved and acted in the physical ... read more

With a Hop, a Skip and a Jump, High-Flying Robot Leaps Through Obstacles With Ease

First unveiled in 2016, Salto the jumping robot stands at little less than a foot, but can vault over three times its height in a single bound. Now researchers have equipped the robot with a slew of ... read more

Friday, June 14, 2019
Thursday, June 13, 2019
Tuesday, June 11, 2019
Thursday, June 6, 2019
Wednesday, June 5, 2019
Tuesday, June 4, 2019
Friday, May 31, 2019
Thursday, May 30, 2019
Wednesday, May 29, 2019
Friday, May 24, 2019
Thursday, May 23, 2019
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Tuesday, May 21, 2019
Monday, May 20, 2019
Friday, May 17, 2019
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Friday, May 10, 2019
Thursday, May 9, 2019
Wednesday, May 8, 2019
Tuesday, May 7, 2019
Saturday, May 4, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Monday, April 29, 2019
Saturday, April 27, 2019
Friday, April 26, 2019
Thursday, April 25, 2019
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Monday, April 22, 2019
Thursday, April 18, 2019
Wednesday, April 17, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Tuesday, April 16, 2019
Friday, April 12, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019
Tuesday, April 9, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Monday, April 1, 2019
Thursday, March 28, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019
Friday, March 22, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Monday, March 18, 2019
Friday, March 15, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Monday, March 11, 2019
Friday, March 8, 2019
Thursday, March 7, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Tuesday, March 5, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019

http://www.vxiaotou.com