advertisement
Strange & Offbeat News
January 20, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 9:48pm EST

More Strange & Offbeat News
January 20, 2019

Jan. 15, 2019 — Biologists have modeled the hagfish's gag-inducing defense mechanism ... read more

Jan. 15, 2019 — Using stimuli-responsive materials and geometric principles, engineers have designed structures that have 'embodied logic.' Through their physical and chemical makeup alone, they are able ... read more

Jan. 15, 2019 — For the first time, researchers performed logic operations -- the basis of computation -- with a chemical device using electric fields and ultraviolet light. The device and the pioneering methods ... read more

Jan. 15, 2019 — Icy weather is blamed for multibillion dollar losses every year in the United States, including delays and damage related to air travel, infrastructure and power generation and transmission ... read more

Jan. 14, 2019 — Astronomers have found the first confirmed example of a double star system that has flipped its surrounding disc to a position that leaps over the orbital plane of those ... read more

Jan. 14, 2019 — During the formation of a black hole a bright burst of very energetic light in the form of gamma-rays is produced, these events are called gamma-ray bursts. Researchers have built the POLAR ... read more

Jan. 14, 2019 — A new theoretical framework predicts the kinds of holes that can form in two-dimensional materials like graphene. The work could help in the design of new filtration and desalination devices or new ... read more

3D Printing 100 Times Faster With Light

Jan. 11, 2019 — Rather than building up plastic filaments layer by layer, a new approach to 3D printing lifts complex shapes from a vat of liquid at up to 100 times faster than conventional 3D printing ... read more

Jan. 11, 2019 — Scientists have discovered an unusual new light sensor in green algae. The sensor triggers a reaction that is similar to one in the human ... read more

Jan. 10, 2019 — After combining several imaging sources, including hard X-rays and radiowaves, a team now speculates that the telescopes captured the exact moment a star collapsed to form a compact object, such as a ... read more

Jan. 10, 2019 — Researchers report how fruit flies, which lay eggs communally, use chemical deception to protect their eggs from being cannibalized by their own ... read more

Bacteria Help Discover Human Cancer-Causing Proteins

Jan. 10, 2019 — Researchers applied an unconventional approach that used bacteria to discover human proteins that can lead to DNA damage and promote ... read more

Jan. 10, 2019 — Observations from Gemini Observatory identify a key fingerprint of an extremely distant quasar, allowing astronomers to sample light emitted from the dawn of time. Astronomers happened upon this deep ... read more

Jan. 9, 2019 — New findings are the first demonstration of a tidal disruption flare being used to estimate a black hole's ... read more

Jan. 9, 2019 — The first direct evidence of white dwarf stars solidifying into crystals has been discovered by astronomers, and our skies are filled with ... read more

Jan. 9, 2019 — Researchers have revealed direct evidence of medieval women's involvement in the production of illuminated manuscripts. Lapis lazuli in the dental calculus of a woman buried at a 12th-century ... read more

Jan. 9, 2019 — Researchers have succeeded in producing what are known as spin wave overtones. The technology paves the way for increasing the data transmission rate of wireless ... read more

Jan. 9, 2019 — Tropical forests are one of the largest natural sources of the greenhouse gas nitrous oxide (N2O), and a tiny insect may play a big role in how those emissions are spread out across the ... read more

Jan. 8, 2019 — For the first time, researchers have finally found the root cause responsible for thelytoky syndrome -- which dramatically turns bees from altruistic helpers to selfish ... read more

Jan. 8, 2019 — Researchers have developed a new technique for finding galaxy mergers -- events in which two galaxies join together in sometimes-dramatic bursts of ... read more

Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Friday, January 11, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Thursday, January 3, 2019
Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Tuesday, January 1, 2019
Friday, December 28, 2018
Thursday, December 27, 2018
Friday, December 21, 2018
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Friday, December 7, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com