advertisement
Sun News
January 20, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 10:51pm EST

More Sun News
January 20, 2019

Mystery of Coronae Around Supermassive Black Holes Deepens

Dec. 18, 2018 — Researchers have used observations from the ALMA radio observatory to measure, for the first time, the strength of magnetic fields near two supermassive black holes at the centers of an important ... read more

Dec. 17, 2018 — A team of astronomers has discovered the most-distant body ever observed in our solar system. It is the first known solar system object that has been detected at a distance that is more than 100 ... read more

Dec. 17, 2018 — New NASA research confirms that Saturn is losing its iconic rings at the maximum rate estimated from Voyager 1 and 2 observations made decades ago. The rings are being pulled into Saturn by gravity ... read more

Dec. 17, 2018 — Lab simulations nix the common wisdom that atmospheric oxygen and organic compounds are good evidence that a planet harbors ... read more

Dec. 14, 2018 — Astronomers have captured one of the most detailed views of a young star taken to date, and revealed an unexpected companion in orbit around ... read more

Dec. 12, 2018 — Astronomers used the powerful ALMA telescope to discover that in other parts of the Milky Way Galaxy (seen here) there is potentially a large population of young planets -- similar in mass to Neptune ... read more

Dec. 10, 2018 — Scientists have developed a new technique for looking at historic solar data to distinguish trustworthy observations from those that should be used with care. This work is critical to understanding ... read more

Dec. 10, 2018 — For the second time in history, a human-made object has reached the space between the stars. NASA's Voyager 2 probe now has exited the heliosphere -- the protective bubble of particles and ... read more

Dec. 7, 2018 — On Dec. 3, after traveling billions of kilometers from Earth, NASA's OSIRIS-REx spacecraft reached its target, Bennu, and kicked off a nearly two-year, up-close investigation of the asteroid. It ... read more

Magnetic Reconnection in Space: Experiment and Satellite Sightings

Dec. 7, 2018 — New research describes striking similarity of laboratory research findings with observations of the four-satellite Magnetospheric Multiscale Mission that studies magnetic reconnection in ... read more

Dec. 7, 2018 — The first unbiased survey of protoplanetary disks surrounding young stars in the Taurus star-forming region turned up a higher-than-expected number of disks with features suggesting nascent planets, ... read more

Dec. 5, 2018 — The Earth formed relatively quickly from the cloud of dust and gas around the Sun, trapping water and gases in the planet's mantle, based on neon isotopes from the depths of the Earth and deep ... read more

Nov. 30, 2018 — Earth's atmosphere is leaking, but how does oxygen get the energy to escape to space? NASA's VISIONS-2 rocket will soon launch into the unique magnetic environment near the North Pole in ... read more

Nov. 29, 2018 — Scientists have discovered a new method to explain how radiation belts are formed around the planet ... read more

Nov. 27, 2018 — NASA's InSight has sent signals to Earth indicating that its solar panels are open and collecting sunlight on the Martian ... read more

Nov. 21, 2018 — New research from astronomers gives updated climate models for the seven planets around the star TRAPPIST-1. The work also could help astronomers more effectively study planets around stars unlike ... read more

Odd Bodies, Rapid Spins Keep Cosmic Rings Close

Nov. 19, 2018 — Forget those shepherding moons. Gravity and the odd shapes of asteroid Chariklo and dwarf planet Haumea -- small objects deep in our solar system -- can be credited for forming and maintaining their ... read more

Nov. 15, 2018 — Researchers have captured a difficult-to-view singular event involving 'magnetic reconnection' -- the process by which sparse particles and energy around Earth collide producing a quick but ... read more

What Did Birds and Insects Do During the 2017 Solar Eclipse?

Nov. 15, 2018 — In August of 2017, millions peered through protective eyewear at the solar eclipse -- the first total eclipse visible in the continental United States in nearly 40 years. During the event, ... read more

Nov. 15, 2018 — The first known interstellar object to visit our solar system -- named 'Oumuamua -- was detected in October 2017 by Hawaii's Pan-STARRS 1 telescope. But it was too faint for NASA's ... read more

Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018
Friday, December 14, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Friday, December 7, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Wednesday, November 21, 2018
Monday, November 19, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Friday, November 2, 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Friday, October 26, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Friday, October 19, 2018
Thursday, October 18, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Wednesday, October 10, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Thursday, October 4, 2018
Wednesday, October 3, 2018
Tuesday, October 2, 2018
Thursday, September 27, 2018
Wednesday, September 26, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Monday, September 10, 2018
Thursday, September 6, 2018
Wednesday, September 5, 2018
Monday, September 3, 2018
Tuesday, September 4, 2018
Monday, September 3, 2018
Thursday, August 30, 2018
Wednesday, August 29, 2018
Monday, August 27, 2018
Wednesday, August 22, 2018
Thursday, August 16, 2018
Wednesday, August 15, 2018
Monday, August 13, 2018
Sunday, August 12, 2018
Thursday, August 9, 2018
Tuesday, August 7, 2018
Monday, August 6, 2018
Friday, August 3, 2018
Wednesday, August 1, 2018
Tuesday, July 31, 2018
Monday, July 30, 2018
Thursday, July 26, 2018
Tuesday, July 24, 2018
Thursday, July 19, 2018
Wednesday, July 18, 2018
Tuesday, July 17, 2018
Thursday, July 19, 2018
Tuesday, July 10, 2018
Tuesday, July 3, 2018
Friday, June 29, 2018
Wednesday, June 27, 2018
Monday, June 25, 2018
Wednesday, June 20, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com