advertisement
Solar System News
May 19, 2019

Top Headlines
 

While volcanic, igneous rock predominates on Mars, virtually the entire Earth fossil record comes from sedimentary rocks. ... read more

ALMA Discovers Aluminum Around Young Star

Researchers have discovered an aluminum-bearing molecule for the first time around a young star. The discovery provides a crucial chance to study the early formation process of meteorites and planets ... read more
Small, hardy planets packed with dense elements have the best chance of avoiding being crushed and swallowed up when their host star dies, new research ... read more
A new analysis suggests that the moon is actively shrinking and producing moonquakes along thousands of cliffs called thrust faults spread over the moon's surface. The faults ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 4:19am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Only a few years ago, the astronomy and heliophysics communities were skeptical about whether CubeSats could reliably obtain scientific data. But these breadloaf-size satellites have proven their ... read more

Astronomers have discovered a third planet in the Kepler-47 system, securing the system's title as the most interesting of the binary-star worlds. Using data from NASA's Kepler space ... read more

Streams of meteoroids striking the Moon infuse the thin lunar atmosphere with a short-lived water vapor, according to researchers using data from NASA's LADEE spacecraft. The findings will help ... read more

A nearby system hosts the first Earth-sized planet discovered by NASA's Transiting Exoplanets Survey Satellite, as well as a warm sub-Neptune-sized world. This milestone sets the path for ... read more

Astronomers have made a surprising discovery that gives clues to how solar system ... read more

Newly published research reveals some interesting, surprising and reassuring data about how one human body adapted to -- and recovered from -- the extreme environment of ... read more

Iron Volcanoes May Have Erupted on Metal Asteroids

Metallic asteroids are thought to have started out as blobs of molten iron floating in space. As if that's not strange enough, scientists now think that as the metal cooled and solidified, ... read more

A fragment of a planet that has survived the death of its star has been discovered by astronomers in a disc of debris formed from destroyed planets, which the star ultimately ... read more

Little is known about the inner structure of the Moon, but a major step forward was made by a scientist who conducted experiments that enabled her to determine the temperature at the boundary of the ... read more

New findings have emerged about five tiny moons nestled in and near Saturn's rings. The closest-ever flybys by NASA's Cassini spacecraft reveal that the surfaces of these unusual moons are ... read more

New research suggests that deep groundwater could still be active on Mars and could originate surface streams in some near-equatorial areas on ... read more

Astronomers who study stars have contributed to the analysis of a planet discovered by NASA's new TESS Mission. It's the first planet identified by TESS for which the oscillations -- ... read more

Scientists have catalogued these rivers to conclude that significant river runoff persisted on Mars later into its history than previously thought. According to the study, the runoff was intense -- ... read more

Hubble Captures Birth of Giant Storm on Neptune

Images taken by the Hubble Space Telescope document the formation of a Great Dark Spot on Neptune for the first time, report researchers in a new ... read more

Giant planets like Neptune may contain much less free hydrogen than previously assumed. Researchers drove shock waves through two different types of plastic to reach the same temperatures and ... read more

The giant planet Jupiter was formed four times further from the sun than its current orbit, and migrated inwards in the solar system over a period of 700,000 years. Researchers found proof of this ... read more

Water-Bearing Minerals on Asteroid Bennu

Astronomers have discovered evidence of abundant water-bearing minerals on the surface of the near-Earth asteroid (101955) Bennu. Using early spectral data from NASA's OSIRIS-REx spacecraft ... read more

Hayabusa2 Probes Asteroid Ryugu for Secrets

The first data received from the Hayabusa2 spacecraft in orbit of asteroid Ryugu helps space scientists explore conditions in the early solar system. The space probe gathered vast amounts of images ... read more

Superbugs Have Colonized the International Space Station -- But There's a Silver Lining

Researchers have taken another small step towards deep space exploration, by testing a new silver- and ruthenium-based antimicrobial coating aboard the International Space Station (ISS). Their study ... read more

Dormant Viruses Activate During Spaceflight

Herpes viruses reactivate in more than half of crew aboard Space Shuttle and International Space Station missions. While only a small proportion develop symptoms, virus reactivation rates increase ... read more

Tuesday, April 16, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Thursday, April 4, 2019
Monday, April 1, 2019
Thursday, March 28, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019
Friday, March 22, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Saturday, March 16, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Monday, March 11, 2019
Friday, March 8, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Sunday, February 17, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Tuesday, February 12, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Monday, January 21, 2019
Friday, January 18, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Thursday, January 3, 2019
Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Tuesday, January 1, 2019
Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Monday, December 31, 2018
Thursday, December 27, 2018
Friday, December 21, 2018
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Friday, December 7, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018
Wednesday, November 21, 2018
Monday, November 19, 2018
Friday, November 16, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Friday, November 9, 2018
Wednesday, November 7, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com