advertisement
NASA News
May 20, 2019

Top Headlines
 

While volcanic, igneous rock predominates on Mars, virtually the entire Earth fossil record comes from sedimentary rocks. ... read more
The irregular galaxy NGC 4485 shows all the signs of having been involved in a hit-and-run accident with a bypassing galaxy. Rather than destroying the galaxy, the chance ... read more
A new analysis suggests that the moon is actively shrinking and producing moonquakes along thousands of cliffs called thrust faults spread over the moon's surface. The faults ... read more
NASA's Spitzer Space Telescope has revealed that some of the Universe's earliest galaxies were brighter than expected. The excess light is a by-product of the galaxies ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 8:49am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

New measurements from NASA's Hubble Space Telescope confirm that the Universe is expanding about 9% faster than expected based on its trajectory seen shortly after the big bang, astronomers ... read more

NASA and other U.S. agencies and space science institutions, along with international partners, will participate in a 'tabletop exercise' that will play out a realistic -- but fictional -- ... read more

NASA's Mars InSight lander has measured and recorded for the first time ever a likely 'marsquake'. This is the first recorded trembling that appears to have come from inside the ... read more

Researchers find that 'speed bumps' in space, which can slow down satellites orbiting closer to Earth, are more complex than originally ... read more

This incredible image of the hourglass-shaped Southern Crab Nebula was taken to mark the NASA/ESA Hubble Space Telescope's 29th anniversary in space. The nebula, created by a binary star system, ... read more

Scientists have long known that Earth and Mercury have metallic cores. Like Earth, Mercury's outer core is composed of liquid metal, but there have only been hints that Mercury's innermost ... read more

The Chelyabinsk meteor caused extensive ground damage and numerous injuries when it exploded on impact with Earth's atmosphere in 2013; to prevent another such impact, scientists plan to use a ... read more

On its final flyby of Saturn's largest moon in 2017, NASA's Cassini spacecraft gathered radar data revealing that the small liquid lakes in Titan's northern hemisphere are surprisingly ... read more

Only a few years ago, the astronomy and heliophysics communities were skeptical about whether CubeSats could reliably obtain scientific data. But these breadloaf-size satellites have proven their ... read more

Astronomers have discovered a third planet in the Kepler-47 system, securing the system's title as the most interesting of the binary-star worlds. Using data from NASA's Kepler space ... read more

A team of astronomers used a newly commissioned radio telescope in South Korea to make the first high-resolution observations of the molecular clouds within a star-forming region of the Milky Way. ... read more

Streams of meteoroids striking the Moon infuse the thin lunar atmosphere with a short-lived water vapor, according to researchers using data from NASA's LADEE spacecraft. The findings will help ... read more

Messier 3: containing an incredible half-million stars, this 8-billion-year-old cosmic bauble is one of the largest and brightest globular clusters ever ... read more

Newly published research reveals some interesting, surprising and reassuring data about how one human body adapted to -- and recovered from -- the extreme environment of ... read more

Building on recent discoveries about neutron stars, a team of astronomers has identified X-ray observations that are consistent with the merger of two neutron stars. This merger is believed to have ... read more

A new, first-of-its-kind space weather model reliably predicts space storms of high-energy particles that are harmful to many satellites and spacecraft orbiting in the Earth's outer radiation ... read more

Iron Volcanoes May Have Erupted on Metal Asteroids

Metallic asteroids are thought to have started out as blobs of molten iron floating in space. As if that's not strange enough, scientists now think that as the metal cooled and solidified, ... read more

All Microbes and Fungi on the International Space Station Catalogued

A comprehensive catalogue of the bacteria and fungi found on surfaces inside the International Space Station (ISS) is being presented in a study published in the open-access journal ... read more

Scientists re-inspected 45-year-old Helios data, finding long trains of massive blobs -- like lava lamp's otherworldly bubbles, but 50 to 500 times the size of Earth -- that ooze from the sun ... read more

Little is known about the inner structure of the Moon, but a major step forward was made by a scientist who conducted experiments that enabled her to determine the temperature at the boundary of the ... read more

Thursday, April 25, 2019
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Thursday, April 18, 2019
Wednesday, April 17, 2019
Tuesday, April 16, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Friday, April 12, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019
Tuesday, April 9, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Thursday, April 4, 2019
Monday, April 1, 2019
Thursday, March 28, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Saturday, March 16, 2019
Friday, March 15, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Monday, March 11, 2019
Friday, March 8, 2019
Thursday, March 7, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Sunday, February 17, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Tuesday, February 12, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Friday, January 4, 2019
Thursday, January 3, 2019
Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Tuesday, January 1, 2019

http://www.vxiaotou.com