advertisement
Galaxies News
May 19, 2019

Top Headlines
 

The irregular galaxy NGC 4485 shows all the signs of having been involved in a hit-and-run accident with a bypassing galaxy. Rather than destroying the galaxy, the chance ... read more
Researchers have found, analyzing data from the Gaia satellite, that a strong star formation burst occurred in the Milky Way about 2 to 3 billion years ago. In this process, ... read more
Astronomers have discovered a star in the Milky Way Galaxy with a chemical composition unlike any other star in our Galaxy. This chemical composition has been seen in a small ... read more
Researchers have discovered the remains of a nova in a galactic globular cluster, located near the center of Messier 22. The finding, using modern instruments, confirms one ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 5:19am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Physicists Analyze Rotational Dynamics of Galaxies and Influence of the Photon Mass

The rotation of stars in galaxies such as our Milky Way is puzzling. The orbital speeds of stars should decrease with their distance from the center of the galaxy, but in fact they all have the same ... read more

Hiding Black Hole Found

Astronomers have detected a stealthy black hole from its effects on an interstellar gas cloud. This intermediate mass black hole is one of over 100 million quiet black holes expected to be lurking in ... read more

Anemic Galaxy Reveals Deficiencies in Ultra-Diffuse Galaxy Formation Theory

A team of astronomers have discovered a bizarre, solitary ultra-diffuse galaxy (UDG). This transparent, ghost-like galaxy, named DGSAT I, contradicts the current theory on the formation of UDGs. All ... read more

Tidal Tails: The Beginning of the End of an Open Star Cluster

In the course of their life, open star clusters continuously lose stars to their surroundings. The resulting swath of tidal tails provides a glimpse into the evolution and dissolution of a star ... read more

A Nearby River of Stars

Astronomers have found a river of stars, a stellar stream in astronomical parlance, covering most of the southern sky. The stream is relatively nearby and contains at least 4000 stars that have been ... read more

Bubbles of Brand New Stars

This dazzling region of newly forming stars in the Large Magellanic Cloud (LMC) was captured by the Multi Unit Spectroscopic Explorer instrument (MUSE) on ESO's Very Large Telescope. The ... read more

First Accurate 3D Map of the Milky Way Reveals a Warped Galaxy

The Milky Way's disk of stars becomes increasingly 'warped' and twisted far away from its center, according to astronomers who have built the first accurate 3D map of Earth's home ... read more

Hubble Fortuitously Discovers a New Galaxy in the Cosmic Neighborhood

Astronomers using the NASA/ESA Hubble Space Telescope to study some of the oldest and faintest stars in the globular cluster NGC 6752 have made an unexpected finding. They discovered a dwarf galaxy ... read more

Detailed Maps of Thousands of Nearby Galaxies

The latest data release from the Sloan Digital Sky Survey (SDSS) includes observations revealing the internal structure and composition of nearly 5,000 nearby galaxies observed during the first three ... read more

Birth of Massive Black Holes in the Early Universe

The light released from around the first massive black holes in the universe is so intense that it is able to reach telescopes across the entire expanse of the universe. Incredibly, the light from ... read more

Milky Way's Neighbors Pick Up the Pace

After slowly forming stars for the first few billion years of their lives, the Magellanic Clouds, near neighbors of our own Milky Way galaxy, have upped their game and are now forming new stars at a ... read more

Cosmic Telescope Zooms in on the Beginning of Time

Observations from Gemini Observatory identify a key fingerprint of an extremely distant quasar, allowing astronomers to sample light emitted from the dawn of time. Astronomers happened upon this deep ... read more

The Lonely Giant: Milky Way-Sized Galaxy Lacking Galactic Neighbors

Long ago in a galaxy far, far away, fewer galaxies were born than expected -- and that could create new questions for galaxy physics, according to a new ... read more

First Evidence of Gigantic Remains from Star Explosions

Astrophysicists have found the first ever evidence of gigantic remains being formed from repeated explosions on the surface of a dead star in the Andromeda Galaxy, 2.5 million light years from Earth. ... read more

'Missing' Galactic Mergers Come to Light With New Technique

Researchers have developed a new technique for finding galaxy mergers -- events in which two galaxies join together in sometimes-dramatic bursts of ... read more

Hubble Takes Gigantic Image of the Triangulum Galaxy

The NASA/ESA Hubble Space Telescope has captured the most detailed image yet of a close neighbor of the Milky Way -- the Triangulum Galaxy, a spiral galaxy located at a distance of only three million ... read more

Dark Matter on the Move

Scientists have found evidence that dark matter can be heated up and moved around, as a result of star formation in galaxies. The findings provide the first observational evidence for the effect ... read more

Faint Starlight in Hubble Images Reveals Distribution of Dark Matter

Astronomers have employed a revolutionary method to detect dark matter in galaxy clusters. The method allows astronomers to 'see' the distribution of dark matter more accurately than any ... read more

Black Hole 'Donuts' Are Actually 'Fountains'

Based on computer simulations and new observations from the Atacama Large Millimeter/submillimeter Array (ALMA), researchers have found that the rings of gas surrounding active supermassive black ... read more

All of the Starlight Ever Produced by the Observable Universe Measured

From their laboratories on a rocky planet dwarfed by the vastness of space, scientists have collaborated to measure all of the starlight ever produced throughout the history of the observable ... read more

Tuesday, March 5, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Friday, February 15, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Thursday, January 3, 2019
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Monday, November 19, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Wednesday, October 10, 2018
Tuesday, October 2, 2018
Thursday, September 27, 2018
Wednesday, September 26, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Tuesday, September 18, 2018
Thursday, September 13, 2018
Wednesday, September 12, 2018
Thursday, September 6, 2018
Tuesday, September 4, 2018
Wednesday, August 29, 2018
Tuesday, August 28, 2018
Tuesday, August 21, 2018
Thursday, August 16, 2018
Thursday, August 9, 2018
Wednesday, August 8, 2018
Saturday, July 28, 2018
Monday, July 30, 2018
Thursday, July 26, 2018
Tuesday, July 24, 2018
Monday, July 23, 2018
Wednesday, July 18, 2018
Wednesday, July 4, 2018
Tuesday, July 3, 2018
Wednesday, June 27, 2018
Monday, June 25, 2018
Thursday, June 21, 2018
Monday, June 18, 2018
Thursday, June 14, 2018
Thursday, June 7, 2018
Wednesday, June 6, 2018
Monday, June 4, 2018
Thursday, May 31, 2018
Wednesday, May 30, 2018
Tuesday, May 29, 2018
Wednesday, May 23, 2018
Thursday, May 17, 2018
Wednesday, May 16, 2018
Friday, May 11, 2018
Monday, May 7, 2018
Monday, April 30, 2018
Wednesday, April 25, 2018
Tuesday, April 24, 2018
Monday, April 23, 2018
Wednesday, April 18, 2018
Friday, April 13, 2018
Monday, April 9, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com