advertisement
Extrasolar Planets News
May 19, 2019

Top Headlines
 

ALMA Discovers Aluminum Around Young Star

Researchers have discovered an aluminum-bearing molecule for the first time around a young star. The discovery provides a crucial chance to study the early formation process of meteorites and planets ... read more
Small, hardy planets packed with dense elements have the best chance of avoiding being crushed and swallowed up when their host star dies, new research ... read more
Astronomers found that as planets form out of the chaotic churn of gravitational, hydrodynamic -- or, drag -- and magnetic ... read more
Astronomers have discovered a third planet in the Kepler-47 system, securing the system's title as the most interesting of the binary-star worlds. Using data from NASA's ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 5:19am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

The GRAVITY instrument on ESO's Very Large Telescope Interferometer (VLTI) has made the first direct observation of an exoplanet using optical interferometry. This method revealed a complex ... read more

NASA's new Transiting Exoplanet Survey Satellite (TESS) is designed to ferret out habitable exoplanets, but with hundreds of thousands of sunlike and smaller stars in its camera views, which of ... read more

The giant planet Jupiter was formed four times further from the sun than its current orbit, and migrated inwards in the solar system over a period of 700,000 years. Researchers found proof of this ... read more

Carbon Monoxide Detectors Could Warn of Extraterrestrial Life

Scientists have used computer models of chemistry in the biosphere and atmosphere to identify two intriguing scenarios in which carbon monoxide readily accumulates in the atmospheres of living ... read more

ALMA Observes the Formation Sites of Solar-System-Like Planets

Researchers have spotted the formation sites of planets around a young star resembling our sun. Two rings of dust around the star, at distances comparable to the asteroid belt and the orbit of ... read more

Kepler Space Telescope's First Exoplanet Candidate Confirmed

An international team of astronomers announced the confirmation of the first exoplanet candidate identified by NASA's Kepler ... read more

'Goldilocks' Stars May Be 'Just Right' for Finding Habitable Worlds

A new study finds a particular class of stars called K stars, which are dimmer than the Sun but brighter than the faintest stars, may be particularly promising targets for searching for signs of ... read more

Chances for Life Expand When Passing Stars Push Binaries Together

Planetary systems can be harsh environments in their early history. Now astronomers find one positive of this tumultuous period; a model looks at how the habitable zone -- the region around a star ... read more

The Case of the Over-Tilting Exoplanets

For almost a decade, astronomers have tried to explain why so many pairs of planets outside our solar system have an odd configuration -- their orbits seem to have been pushed apart by a powerful ... read more

Exiled Planet Linked to Stellar Flyby 3 Million Years Ago

Paul Kalas of UC Berkeley was puzzled by the tilted but stable orbit of a planet around a binary star -- an orbit like that of our solar system's proposed Planet Nine. He calculated backwards in ... read more

New Arguments in Favor of a Ninth Planet in Our Solar System

Researchers are offering new details about the suspected nature and location of a ninth planet in the solar ... read more

New NASA Mission Could Find More Than 1,000 Planets

A NASA telescope that will give humans the largest, deepest, clearest picture of the universe since the Hubble Space Telescope could find as many as 1,400 new planets outside Earth's solar ... read more

Habitable Zone Planet Finder Enables Discovery of Planets Around Cool Stars

A new astronomical spectrograph provides the highest precision measurements to date of infrared signals from nearby stars, allowing astronomers to detect planets capable of having liquid water on ... read more

'Astrocomb' Opens New Horizons for Planet-Hunting Telescope

The hunt for Earth-like planets, and perhaps extraterrestrial life, just got more precise, thanks to record-setting starlight measurements made possible by the ... read more

Citizen Scientist Finds Ancient White Dwarf Star Encircled by Puzzling Rings

The oldest and coldest known white dwarf -- an Earth-sized remnant of a sun-like star that has died -- could be the first known white dwarf with multiple dust rings. The discovery forces researchers ... read more

Massive Collision in the Planetary System Kepler 107

Two of the planets which are orbiting the star Kepler 107 could be the result of an impact similar to that which affected the Earth to produce the ... read more

Retreating Snow Line Reveals Organic Molecules Around Young Star

Astronomers using ALMA have detected various complex organic molecules around the young star V883 Ori. A sudden outburst from this star is releasing molecules from the icy compounds in the planet ... read more

Environmental Protection in Outer Space?

Should regulations for environmental protection be valid beyond our solar system? Currently, extra-terrestrial forms of life are only deemed worth protecting if they can be scientifically ... read more

Where Is Earth's Submoon?

Juna Kollmeier and Sean Raymond kicked off an internet firestorm late last year when they posted a draft of their article about submoons on a preprint server. The online conversation obsessed over ... read more

Planetary Collision That Formed the Moon Made Life Possible on Earth

Most of Earth's life-essential elements probably arrived with the planetary collision that produced the moon. Petrologists now conclude Earth most likely received the bulk of its carbon, ... read more

Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Friday, March 22, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Monday, March 11, 2019
Thursday, March 7, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Monday, January 21, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Tuesday, January 1, 2019
Friday, December 21, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018
Friday, December 14, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Friday, December 7, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Wednesday, November 21, 2018
Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Thursday, October 18, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Monday, October 15, 2018
Wednesday, October 3, 2018
Tuesday, October 2, 2018
Monday, September 24, 2018
Friday, September 7, 2018
Wednesday, September 5, 2018
Friday, August 31, 2018
Tuesday, August 28, 2018
Monday, August 27, 2018
Saturday, August 18, 2018
Wednesday, August 15, 2018
Thursday, August 9, 2018
Tuesday, August 7, 2018
Friday, August 3, 2018
Wednesday, August 1, 2018
Tuesday, July 31, 2018
Monday, July 30, 2018
Thursday, July 26, 2018
Tuesday, July 24, 2018
Wednesday, July 18, 2018
Tuesday, July 17, 2018
Tuesday, July 10, 2018
Monday, July 2, 2018
Thursday, June 28, 2018
Monday, June 25, 2018
Thursday, June 21, 2018
Monday, June 18, 2018
Thursday, June 14, 2018
Wednesday, June 13, 2018
Thursday, June 7, 2018
Monday, May 21, 2018
Friday, May 18, 2018
Tuesday, May 15, 2018
Wednesday, May 9, 2018
Monday, May 7, 2018
Wednesday, May 2, 2018
Wednesday, April 25, 2018
Thursday, April 19, 2018
Monday, April 16, 2018
Thursday, April 12, 2018
Wednesday, April 11, 2018
Monday, April 2, 2018
Tuesday, March 27, 2018
Tuesday, March 20, 2018
Monday, March 19, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com