advertisement
Cosmic Rays News
May 22, 2019

Top Headlines
 

NASA's Spitzer Space Telescope has revealed that some of the Universe's earliest galaxies were brighter than expected. The excess light is a by-product of the galaxies ... read more
The celestial phenomenon known as STEVE is likely caused by a combination of heating of charged particles in the atmosphere and energetic electrons like those that power the ... read more
Using the unique capabilities of telescopes specialized on cosmic gamma rays, scientists have measured the smallest apparent size of a star on the night sky to date. The ... read more
Rocky, Earth-like planets orbiting our closest stars could host life, according to a new study that raises the excitement ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 4:49am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Giant X-Ray 'Chimneys' Are Exhaust Vents for Vast Energies Produced at Milky Way's Center

At the center of our galaxy, where an enormous black hole blasts out energy as it chows down on interstellar detritus while neighboring stars burst to life and explode. astronomers have discovered ... read more

The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Star Formation and the Rich Dust from Ancient Stars

Researchers have detected a radio signal from abundant interstellar dust in MACS0416_Y1, a galaxy 13.2 billion light-years away in the constellation Eridanus. Standard models can't explain this ... read more

NASA's Fermi Satellite Clocks 'Cannonball' Pulsar Speeding Through Space

Astronomers have found a runaway pulsar hurtling through space at nearly 2.5 million miles an hour -- so fast it could travel the distance between Earth and the Moon in just 6 ... read more

How Heavy Elements Come About in the Universe

Heavy elements are produced during stellar explosion or on the surfaces of neutron stars through the capture of hydrogen nuclei (protons). This occurs at extremely high temperatures, but at ... read more

Research Set to Shake Up Space Missions

A new study has found a number of 2D materials can not only withstand being sent into space, but potentially thrive in the harsh ... read more

A Cosmic Bat in Flight

Hidden in one of the darkest corners of the Orion constellation, this Cosmic Bat is spreading its hazy wings through interstellar space 2,000 light-years away. It is illuminated by the young stars ... read more

Testing the Symmetry of Space-Time by Means of Atomic Clocks

According to Einstein the speed of light is always the same. But according to theoretical models of quantum gravitation, this uniformity of space-time does not apply to particles. Physicists have now ... read more

Correlated Nucleons May Solve 35-Year-Old Mystery

A careful re-analysis of data taken as revealed a possible link between correlated protons and neutrons in the nucleus and a 35-year-old mystery. The data have led to the extraction of a universal ... read more

Solar Tadpole-Like Jets Seen With NASA'S IRIS Add New Clue to Age-Old Mystery

Scientists have discovered tadpole-shaped jets coming out of the Sun that may help explain why the corona (the wispy upper atmosphere of our star) is so inexplicably ... read more

Spacecraft Measurements Reveal Mechanism of Solar Wind Heating

A new study describes the first direct measurement of how energy is transferred from the chaotic electromagnetic fields in space to the particles that make up the solar wind, leading to the heating ... read more

Shedding Light on the Science of Auroral Breakups

Scientists have quantitatively confirmed how energetic an auroral breakup can be. Using a combination of cutting-edge ground-based technology and new space-borne observations, they have demonstrated ... read more

The Vibrating Universe: Making Astronomy Accessible to the Deaf

Astronomers designed an astronomy workshop for students with hearing loss that can be easily used in classrooms, museums, fairs, and other public events. The workshop utilized a sound stage that ... read more

To Catch a Wave, Rocket Launches from Top of World

On Jan. 4, 2019, at 4:37 a.m. EST the CAPER-2 mission launched from Norway. The rocket flew through active aurora borealis, or northern lights, to study the waves that accelerate electrons into our ... read more

Scientists Observe a New Form of Strange Matter

In a discovery that could provide new insights into the origin of mass in the universe following the Big Bang, scientists have used experiments with kaons and helium-3 to experimentally demonstrate, ... read more

Stellar Winds, the Source Material for the Universe, Are Clumpy

Data recorded by NASA's Chandra X-ray Observatory of a neutron star as it passed through a dense patch of stellar wind emanating from its massive companion star provide valuable insight about ... read more

How Hot Are Atoms in the Shock Wave of an Exploding Star?

A new method to measure the temperature of atoms during the explosive death of a star will help scientists understand the shock wave that occurs as a result of this supernova ... read more

High-Speed Supernova Reveals Earliest Moments of a Dying Star

An international team of researchers found evidence for the much theorized 'hot ... read more

The Orderly Chaos of Black Holes

During the formation of a black hole a bright burst of very energetic light in the form of gamma-rays is produced, these events are called gamma-ray bursts. Researchers have built the POLAR ... read more

X-Ray Pulse Detected Near Event Horizon as Black Hole Devours Star

New findings are the first demonstration of a tidal disruption flare being used to estimate a black hole's ... read more

Astronomers Observe Evolution of a Black Hole as It Wolfs Down Stellar Material

On March 11, an instrument aboard the International Space Station detected an enormous explosion of X-ray light that grew to be six times as bright as the Crab Nebula, nearly 10,000 light years away ... read more

Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Monday, March 18, 2019
Friday, March 15, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Friday, December 21, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Friday, December 7, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Monday, November 19, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Tuesday, November 13, 2018
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Thursday, October 25, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Tuesday, October 16, 2018
Thursday, October 4, 2018
Wednesday, October 3, 2018
Tuesday, October 2, 2018
Monday, October 1, 2018
Friday, September 28, 2018
Wednesday, September 26, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Monday, September 17, 2018
Wednesday, September 5, 2018
Tuesday, September 4, 2018
Wednesday, August 29, 2018
Wednesday, August 22, 2018
Monday, August 20, 2018
Thursday, August 16, 2018
Wednesday, August 15, 2018
Tuesday, August 14, 2018
Monday, August 13, 2018
Thursday, August 9, 2018
Wednesday, August 8, 2018
Monday, July 30, 2018
Saturday, July 28, 2018
Thursday, July 26, 2018
Thursday, July 19, 2018
Wednesday, July 18, 2018
Thursday, July 12, 2018
Wednesday, July 11, 2018
Tuesday, July 3, 2018
Monday, July 2, 2018
Wednesday, June 20, 2018
Monday, June 18, 2018
Thursday, June 14, 2018
Tuesday, June 12, 2018
Monday, June 11, 2018
Thursday, June 7, 2018
Tuesday, May 29, 2018
Thursday, May 24, 2018
Monday, May 21, 2018
Tuesday, May 8, 2018
Wednesday, April 25, 2018
Thursday, April 19, 2018
Tuesday, April 17, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com