advertisement
Black Holes News
May 19, 2019

Top Headlines
 

Astronomers have discovered rapidly swinging jets coming from a black hole almost 8,000 light-years from Earth. The research shows jets from V404 Cygni's black hole behaving ... read more
A dusty, doughnut-shaped feature long thought to be an essential part of the 'engines' at the cores of active galaxies is seen for the first time in one of the most powerful ... read more
An international team of researchers has put a theory speculated by the late Stephen Hawking to its most rigorous test to date, and their results have ruled out the ... read more

Giant X-Ray 'Chimneys' Are Exhaust Vents for Vast Energies Produced at Milky Way's Center

At the center of our galaxy, where an enormous black hole blasts out energy as it chows down on interstellar detritus while neighboring stars burst ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 5:19am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

New Way Supermassive Black Holes Are 'Fed'

A new study finds that some supermassive black holes are 'triggered' to grow, suddenly devouring a large amount of gas in their ... read more

The Orderly Chaos of Black Holes

During the formation of a black hole a bright burst of very energetic light in the form of gamma-rays is produced, these events are called gamma-ray bursts. Researchers have built the POLAR ... read more

Birth of a Black Hole or Neutron Star Captured for First Time

After combining several imaging sources, including hard X-rays and radiowaves, a team now speculates that the telescopes captured the exact moment a star collapsed to form a compact object, such as a ... read more

Cosmic Telescope Zooms in on the Beginning of Time

Observations from Gemini Observatory identify a key fingerprint of an extremely distant quasar, allowing astronomers to sample light emitted from the dawn of time. Astronomers happened upon this deep ... read more

X-Ray Pulse Detected Near Event Horizon as Black Hole Devours Star

New findings are the first demonstration of a tidal disruption flare being used to estimate a black hole's ... read more

Astronomers Observe Evolution of a Black Hole as It Wolfs Down Stellar Material

On March 11, an instrument aboard the International Space Station detected an enormous explosion of X-ray light that grew to be six times as bright as the Crab Nebula, nearly 10,000 light years away ... read more

Astronomers Map 'Light Echoes' of Newly Discovered Black Hole

A team of astronomers has charted the environment surrounding a relatively small, 'stellar mass' black hole that is 10 times the mass of the sun. The observations provide the clearest ... read more

Beyond the Black Hole Singularity

Our first glimpses into the physics that exist near the center of a black hole are being made possible using 'loop quantum gravity'-- a theory that uses quantum mechanics to extend ... read more

Mystery of Coronae Around Supermassive Black Holes Deepens

Researchers have used observations from the ALMA radio observatory to measure, for the first time, the strength of magnetic fields near two supermassive black holes at the centers of an important ... read more

Tangled Magnetic Fields Power Cosmic Particle Accelerators

Magnetic field lines tangled like spaghetti in a bowl might be behind the most powerful particle accelerators in the universe. That's the result of a new computational study that simulated ... read more

LIGO and Virgo Announce Four New Gravitational-Wave Detections

The LIGO and Virgo collaborations have now confidently detected gravitational waves from a total of 10 stellar-mass binary black hole mergers and one merger of neutron stars, which are the dense, ... read more

Black Hole 'Donuts' Are Actually 'Fountains'

Based on computer simulations and new observations from the Atacama Large Millimeter/submillimeter Array (ALMA), researchers have found that the rings of gas surrounding active supermassive black ... read more

Gas Clouds Whirling Around Black Hole Form Heart of Distant Astronomical Object

Astronomers have concluded that gas clouds rapidly moving around a central black hole form the very heart of the 3C 327 quasar, confirming earlier ... read more

Virtual Reality Simulation of a Supermassive Black Hole

The black hole at the center of our galaxy, Sagittarius A*, has been visualized in virtual reality for the first ... read more

Trans-Galactic Streamers Feeding Most Luminous Galaxy in the Universe

ALMA data show the most luminous galaxy in the universe has been caught in the act of stripping away nearly half the mass from at least three of its smaller ... read more

Gravitational Waves from a Merged Hyper-Massive Neutron Star

For the first time astronomers have detected gravitational waves from a merged, hyper-massive neutron ... read more

Astronomers Find Pairs of Black Holes at the Centers of Merging Galaxies

For the first time, a team of astronomers has observed several pairs of galaxies in the final stages of merging together into single, larger galaxies. Peering through thick walls of gas and dust ... read more

Cosmic Fountain Offers Clues to How Galaxies Evolve

Galaxy evolution can be chaotic and messy, but it seems that streams of cold gas spraying out from the region around supermassive black holes may act to calm the ... read more

Most Detailed Observations of Material Orbiting Close to a Black Hole

ESO's exquisitely sensitive GRAVITY instrument has added further evidence to the long-standing assumption that a supermassive black hole lurks in the center of the Milky Way. New observations ... read more

Astronomers Spot Signs of Supermassive Black Hole Mergers

New research has found evidence for a large number of double supermassive black holes, likely precursors of gigantic black hole merging events. This confirms the current understanding of cosmological ... read more

Monday, January 14, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Monday, November 19, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Monday, October 22, 2018
Tuesday, October 16, 2018
Wednesday, October 10, 2018
Thursday, October 4, 2018
Tuesday, October 2, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Thursday, August 16, 2018
Saturday, July 28, 2018
Monday, July 30, 2018
Thursday, July 26, 2018
Thursday, July 12, 2018
Monday, June 18, 2018
Thursday, June 14, 2018
Wednesday, June 6, 2018
Tuesday, May 29, 2018
Wednesday, May 16, 2018
Friday, May 11, 2018
Tuesday, April 24, 2018
Wednesday, April 18, 2018
Tuesday, April 17, 2018
Thursday, April 12, 2018
Wednesday, April 4, 2018
Tuesday, April 3, 2018
Monday, April 2, 2018
Monday, March 19, 2018
Thursday, March 8, 2018
Wednesday, February 28, 2018
Monday, February 26, 2018
Thursday, February 22, 2018
Wednesday, February 21, 2018
Tuesday, February 20, 2018
Wednesday, February 14, 2018
Thursday, February 1, 2018
Wednesday, January 31, 2018
Tuesday, January 30, 2018
Tuesday, January 23, 2018
Monday, January 22, 2018
Friday, January 19, 2018
Wednesday, January 17, 2018
Tuesday, January 16, 2018
Friday, January 12, 2018
Thursday, January 11, 2018
Wednesday, January 10, 2018
Tuesday, January 9, 2018
Thursday, January 4, 2018
Monday, January 1, 2018
Saturday, December 23, 2017
Wednesday, December 20, 2017
Monday, December 18, 2017
Thursday, December 7, 2017
Wednesday, December 6, 2017
Monday, December 4, 2017
Thursday, November 30, 2017
Tuesday, November 28, 2017
Wednesday, November 15, 2017
Tuesday, October 31, 2017
Monday, October 30, 2017
Monday, October 16, 2017
Tuesday, October 3, 2017
Thursday, September 28, 2017
Wednesday, September 27, 2017
Monday, September 25, 2017
Monday, September 18, 2017

http://www.vxiaotou.com