advertisement
Big Bang News
June 17, 2019

Top Headlines
 

New research suggests most of Earth's heavy metals were spewed from a largely overlooked kind of star explosion called ... read more
The Subaru Telescope has captured images of more than 1800 exploding stars in the Universe, some located 8 billion light years ... read more
Scientists have announced a major new finding about how matter behaves in the extreme conditions of the sun's atmosphere. Their work has shed new light on the exotic but ... read more
Computer simulations provide compelling evidence that an insulating layer of gas hydrates could keep a subsurface ocean from freezing beneath Pluto's ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 12:20pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Fast and Furious: Detection of Powerful Winds Driven by a Supermassive Black Hole

This is the first publication based entirely on data obtained with EMIR, an instrument developed in the Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias (IAC) which analyses the infrared light gathered by the ... read more

Astronomers have put together the largest and most comprehensive 'history book' of galaxies into one single image, using 16 years' worth of observations from NASA's Hubble Space ... read more

Two Neutron Stars Collided Near the Solar System Billions of Years Ago

Astrophysicists have found signs of a cosmic event that created elements that sent gold and silver to ... read more

Researchers discovered a dust grain forged in a stellar explosion before our solar system was born. Atom-level analysis of the specimen reveals new insights about how stars end their lives and seed ... read more

Astronomers have discovered rapidly swinging jets coming from a black hole almost 8,000 light-years from Earth. The research shows jets from V404 Cygni's black hole behaving in a way never seen ... read more

Evidence of 6 New Binary Black Hole Mergers Within LVC Data

Scholars recently submitted an article announcing the discovery of six new binary black hole mergers, which exceed the detection thresholds defined by the LIGO-Virgo Collaboration. Applying a unique ... read more

New measurements from NASA's Hubble Space Telescope confirm that the Universe is expanding about 9% faster than expected based on its trajectory seen shortly after the big bang, astronomers ... read more

Rapid Destruction of Earth-Like Atmospheres by Young Stars

The discoveries of thousands of planets orbiting stars outside our solar system has made questions about the potential for life to form on these planets. Fundamentally important for the habitability ... read more

Hubble Celebrates Its 29th Birthday With Unrivaled View of the Southern Crab Nebula

This incredible image of the hourglass-shaped Southern Crab Nebula was taken to mark the NASA/ESA Hubble Space Telescope's 29th anniversary in space. The nebula, created by a binary star system, ... read more

Travel Through Wormholes Is Possible, but Slow

A physicist has shown that wormholes can exist: tunnels in curved space-time, connecting two distant places, through which travel is possible. But don't pack your bags for a trip to other side ... read more

Formation of a Magnetar 6.5 Billion Light Years Away

Building on recent discoveries about neutron stars, a team of astronomers has identified X-ray observations that are consistent with the merger of two neutron stars. This merger is believed to have ... read more

Revolutionary Camera Allows Scientists to Predict Evolution of Ancient Stars

For the first time scientists have been able to prove a decades old theory on stars thanks to a revolutionary high-speed ... read more

Origin of Photons in Mysterious Gamma-Ray Bursts

Scientists have used simulations to show that the photons emitted by long gamma-ray bursts -- one of the most energetic events to take place in the universe -- originate in the photosphere -- the ... read more

Dark Matter Is Not Made Up of Tiny Black Holes

An international team of researchers has put a theory speculated by the late Stephen Hawking to its most rigorous test to date, and their results have ruled out the possibility that primordial black ... read more

Dark Matter Experiment Finds No Evidence of Axions

Physicists have performed the first run of a new experiment to detect axions -- hypothetical particles that are predicted to be among the lightest particles in the universe. The team reports that in ... read more

Ultra-Sharp Images Make Old Stars Look Absolutely Marvelous!

Using high-resolution adaptive optics imaging from the Gemini Observatory, astronomers have uncovered one of the oldest star clusters in the Milky Way Galaxy. The remarkably sharp image looks back ... read more

Searching for Missing Anti-Matter: A Successful Start to Measurements With Belle II

The Belle II detector got off to a successful start in Japan. Since March 25, 2019, the instrument has been measuring the first particle collisions, which are generated in the modernized SuperKEKB ... read more

Matter-Antimatter Asymmetry in Charmed Quarks

Physicists have confirmed that matter and antimatter decay differently for elementary particles containing charmed quarks. The findings may also indicate new physics beyond the Standard Model, which ... read more

The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Star Formation and the Rich Dust from Ancient Stars

Researchers have detected a radio signal from abundant interstellar dust in MACS0416_Y1, a galaxy 13.2 billion light-years away in the constellation Eridanus. Standard models can't explain this ... read more

Spiraling Giants: Witnessing the Birth of a Massive Binary Star System

Scientists have made observations of a molecular cloud that is collapsing to form two massive protostars that will eventually become a binary star system. The observations showed that already at this ... read more

Friday, June 7, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Monday, April 29, 2019
Thursday, April 25, 2019
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Thursday, April 18, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Friday, March 29, 2019
Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Monday, March 18, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Thursday, March 7, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Friday, December 28, 2018
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Tuesday, November 13, 2018
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Monday, October 22, 2018
Friday, October 19, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Monday, October 15, 2018
Wednesday, October 10, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Thursday, October 4, 2018
Tuesday, October 2, 2018
Monday, October 1, 2018
Thursday, September 27, 2018
Wednesday, September 26, 2018
Monday, September 24, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Thursday, September 13, 2018
Wednesday, September 12, 2018
Monday, September 10, 2018
Thursday, September 6, 2018
Wednesday, August 22, 2018
Thursday, August 16, 2018
Tuesday, August 14, 2018
Thursday, August 9, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com