advertisement
Astrophysics News
January 18, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 12:50pm EST

More Astrophysics News
January 18, 2019

Jan. 9, 2019 — A team of astronomers has charted the environment surrounding a relatively small, 'stellar mass' black hole that is 10 times the mass of the sun. The observations provide the clearest ... read more

Jan. 9, 2019 — The first direct evidence of white dwarf stars solidifying into crystals has been discovered by astronomers, and our skies are filled with ... read more

Jan. 8, 2019 — Researchers have developed a new technique for finding galaxy mergers -- events in which two galaxies join together in sometimes-dramatic bursts of ... read more

Jan. 8, 2019 — On the night of Jan. 9, 2019, the V. M. Blanco 4-meter telescope at the National Science Foundation's (NSF) Cerro Tololo Inter-American Observatory (CTIO), high in the mountains of Chile, will ... read more

Jan. 7, 2019 — NASA's Transiting Exoplanet Survey Satellite, TESS, has discovered a third small planet outside our solar system, scientists ... read more

Jan. 7, 2019 — The NASA/ESA Hubble Space Telescope has captured the most detailed image yet of a close neighbor of the Milky Way -- the Triangulum Galaxy, a spiral galaxy located at a distance of only three million ... read more

Jan. 3, 2019 — Physicists have created the world's first laser-cooled neutral plasma. The research opens a frontier where experimental atomic and plasma physicists can coax matter to behave in bizarre new ... read more

Dark Matter on the Move

Jan. 3, 2019 — Scientists have found evidence that dark matter can be heated up and moved around, as a result of star formation in galaxies. The findings provide the first observational evidence for the effect ... read more

Dec. 28, 2018 — Researchers have devised a new model for the universe -- one that may solve the enigma of dark energy. Their new article proposes a new structural concept, including dark energy, for a universe that ... read more

New Insights Into Pion Condensation and the Formation of Neutron Stars

Dec. 25, 2018 — Performing studies on a doubly magic isotope of tin, researchers have shown that the pion condensation should occur at around two times normal nuclear density, which can be realized in a neutron star ... read more

Dec. 21, 2018 — NASA's Cold Atom Laboratory on the International Space Station is the first facility in orbit to produce clouds of "ultracold" atoms, which can reach a fraction of a degree above ... read more

Turbulence in Exceptionally Hot Solar Corona

Dec. 21, 2018 — Astrophysicists are keen to learn why the corona is so hot. Scientists have completed research that may advance the ... read more

Dec. 21, 2018 — A massive stellar flare on a baby star has been spotted by astronomers, shedding light on the origins of potentially habitable ... read more

Dec. 20, 2018 — As the brilliant comet 46P/Wirtanen streaked across the sky, NASA telescopes caught it on camera from multiple ... read more

Dec. 20, 2018 — Astronomers have employed a revolutionary method to detect dark matter in galaxy clusters. The method allows astronomers to 'see' the distribution of dark matter more accurately than any ... read more

Beyond the Black Hole Singularity

Dec. 20, 2018 — Our first glimpses into the physics that exist near the center of a black hole are being made possible using 'loop quantum gravity'-- a theory that uses quantum mechanics to extend ... read more

Dec. 19, 2018 — Researchers have discovered a new, exotic class of planets outside our solar system. These so-called super-Earths were formed at high temperatures close to their host star and contain high quantities ... read more

Dec. 19, 2018 — Astronomers have discovered a young star undergoing a rare growth spurt -- giving a fascinating glimpse into the development of these distant stellar ... read more

Proton Scattering Reveals the Secrets of Strongly-Correlated Proton-Neutron Pairs in Atomic Nuclei

Dec. 19, 2018 — An international research collaboration has reported the first experimental evidence that the strongly correlated proton-neutron pairs found in an atomic depend on nuclear structure. The experiment, ... read more

Mystery of Coronae Around Supermassive Black Holes Deepens

Dec. 18, 2018 — Researchers have used observations from the ALMA radio observatory to measure, for the first time, the strength of magnetic fields near two supermassive black holes at the centers of an important ... read more

Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Thursday, January 3, 2019
Friday, December 28, 2018
Tuesday, December 25, 2018
Friday, December 21, 2018
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018
Friday, December 14, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Friday, December 7, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Wednesday, November 21, 2018
Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Monday, November 19, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Tuesday, November 13, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Friday, October 26, 2018
Thursday, October 25, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Monday, October 22, 2018
Friday, October 19, 2018
Thursday, October 18, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Tuesday, October 16, 2018
Monday, October 15, 2018
Thursday, October 11, 2018
Wednesday, October 10, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com