advertisement
Asteroids, Comets and Meteors News
June 17, 2019

Top Headlines
 

New research shows that the sun could experience a massive burst of energy called a superflare sometime in the next several ... read more
A mysterious large mass of material has been discovered beneath the largest crater in our solar system -- the Moon's South Pole-Aitken basin -- and may contain metal from the ... read more
Scientists believe they have discovered the site of the biggest meteorite impact ever to hit the ... read more
Geologists gain new insights regarding the Earth's composition by analyzing meteorites. They conclude that the building blocks that brought volatile elements to Earth have a ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 12:20pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

In a finding that is soon to be ground-truthed by NASA's next Mars rover, researchers show that a Martian mineral deposit was likely formed by ashfall from ancient volcanic ... read more

Scientists studying super-cold states of water discovered a pathway to the unexpected formation of dense, crystalline phases of ice thought to exist beyond Earth's limits. Their findings ... read more

Astronomers using the Gemini Observatory explore Neptune's largest moon Triton and observe, for the first time beyond the lab, an extraordinary union between carbon monoxide and nitrogen ices. ... read more

Three extrasolar comets have been discovered around the star Beta Pictoris, 63 light years away. Analysis of data from the current NASA mission TESS has revealed the objects for the first time using ... read more

Scientists have discovered 18 Earth-sized planets beyond the solar system. The worlds are so small that previous surveys had overlooked them. One of them is one of the smallest known so far; another ... read more

Earth has a large amount of water and a relatively large moon, which stabilizes Earth's axis. Both are essential for life to develop on our planet. Scientists have now been able to show that ... read more

The stark difference between the Moon's heavily-cratered farside and the lower-lying open basins of the Earth-facing nearside has puzzled scientists for decades. Now, new evidence about the ... read more

While volcanic, igneous rock predominates on Mars, virtually the entire Earth fossil record comes from sedimentary rocks. Addressing the problem, Swedish scientists have begun compiling evidence of ... read more

ALMA Discovers Aluminum Around Young Star

Researchers have discovered an aluminum-bearing molecule for the first time around a young star. The discovery provides a crucial chance to study the early formation process of meteorites and planets ... read more

Small, hardy planets packed with dense elements have the best chance of avoiding being crushed and swallowed up when their host star dies, new research has ... read more

Astronomers have mapped the substance aluminum monoxide in a cloud around a distant young star -- Origin Source I. The finding clarifies some important details about how our solar system, and ... read more

Astronomers propose placing two or three satellites in circular orbit around the Earth to observe black ... read more

When It Comes to Planetary Habitability, It's What's Inside That Counts

Can the geologic and dynamic features that make our home planet habitable be produced on planets with different ... read more

Two Neutron Stars Collided Near the Solar System Billions of Years Ago

Astrophysicists have found signs of a cosmic event that created elements that sent gold and silver to ... read more

Cosmochemists have made the first-ever measurements of water contained in samples from the surface of an ... read more

Observers watching January's total eclipse of the Moon saw a rare event, a short-lived flash as a meteorite hit the lunar surface. Astronomers now think the space rock collided with the moon at ... read more

For more than a century, scientists have squabbled over how Earth's moon formed. Now researchers say they may have the ... read more

Researchers discovered a dust grain forged in a stellar explosion before our solar system was born. Atom-level analysis of the specimen reveals new insights about how stars end their lives and seed ... read more

This sparkling burst of stars is Messier 75. It is a globular cluster: a spherical collection of stars bound together by gravity. Clusters like this orbit around galaxies and typically reside in ... read more

The celestial phenomenon known as STEVE is likely caused by a combination of heating of charged particles in the atmosphere and energetic electrons like those that power the aurora, according to new ... read more

Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Tuesday, May 21, 2019
Monday, May 20, 2019
Friday, May 17, 2019
Thursday, May 16, 2019
Tuesday, May 14, 2019
Friday, May 10, 2019
Monday, May 6, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Monday, April 29, 2019
Friday, April 26, 2019
Thursday, April 25, 2019
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Thursday, April 18, 2019
Wednesday, April 17, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Friday, April 12, 2019
Tuesday, April 9, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Thursday, April 4, 2019
Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Monday, April 1, 2019
Friday, March 29, 2019
Thursday, March 28, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Friday, March 22, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Saturday, March 16, 2019
Friday, March 15, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Thursday, March 7, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Tuesday, February 12, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Friday, February 1, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Monday, January 21, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Thursday, January 3, 2019
Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Tuesday, January 1, 2019
Monday, December 31, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com