advertisement
Asteroids, Comets and Meteors News
March 22, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 7:51pm EDT

More Asteroids, Comets and Meteors News
March 22, 2019

Houston, We're Here to Help the Farmers

Mar. 6, 2019 — Farmers irrigating their crops may soon be getting some help from space. In 2018, scientists launched ECOSTRESS, a new instrument now attached to the International Space Station. Its mission: to ... read more

Mar. 4, 2019 — For almost a decade, astronomers have tried to explain why so many pairs of planets outside our solar system have an odd configuration -- their orbits seem to have been pushed apart by a powerful ... read more

Research Laying Groundwork for Off-World Colonies

Mar. 4, 2019 — Before civilization can move off world it must make sure its structures work on the extraterrestrial foundations upon which they will be built. Researchers are already laying the groundwork for the ... read more

Using Stardust Grains, Scientists Build New Model for Nova Eruptions

Feb. 28, 2019 — Researchers have uncovered the connection and pinpointed the kind of stellar outburst that produced the stardust ... read more

Feb. 28, 2019 — Using New Horizons data from the Pluto-Charon flyby in 2015, scientists have indirectly discovered a distinct and surprising lack of very small objects in the Kuiper Belt. The evidence for the ... read more

Feb. 28, 2019 — Astronomers have detected a stealthy black hole from its effects on an interstellar gas cloud. This intermediate mass black hole is one of over 100 million quiet black holes expected to be lurking in ... read more

Feb. 28, 2019 — Paul Kalas of UC Berkeley was puzzled by the tilted but stable orbit of a planet around a binary star -- an orbit like that of our solar system's proposed Planet Nine. He calculated backwards in ... read more

Feb. 28, 2019 — A robotic rover deployed in the most Mars-like environment on Earth, the Atacama Desert in Chile, has successfully recovered subsurface soil samples during a trial mission to find signs of life. The ... read more

New Arguments in Favor of a Ninth Planet in Our Solar System

Feb. 27, 2019 — Researchers are offering new details about the suspected nature and location of a ninth planet in the solar ... read more

New NASA Mission Could Find More Than 1,000 Planets

Feb. 25, 2019 — A NASA telescope that will give humans the largest, deepest, clearest picture of the universe since the Hubble Space Telescope could find as many as 1,400 new planets outside Earth's solar ... read more

Feb. 21, 2019 — After several years of analysis, a team of planetary scientists using NASA's Hubble Space Telescope has at last come up with an explanation for a mysterious moon around Neptune that they ... read more

Feb. 20, 2019 — When a stream of charged particles known as the solar wind careens onto the moon's surface at 450 kilometers per second (or nearly 1 million miles per hour), they enrich the moon's surface ... read more

Feb. 19, 2019 — The team of scientist showed that solar storms can accelerate particles simultaneously in several locations by combining data from the Low Frequency Array, LOFAR, with images from NASA, NOAA and ESA ... read more

Feb. 19, 2019 — The oldest and coldest known white dwarf -- an Earth-sized remnant of a sun-like star that has died -- could be the first known white dwarf with multiple dust rings. The discovery forces researchers ... read more

Carbonaceous Chondrites Provide Clues About the Delivery of Water to Earth

Feb. 14, 2019 — Researchers have discovered that carbonaceous chondrites, a class of meteorites, incorporated hydrated minerals along with organic material from the protoplanetary disk before the formation of ... read more

Feb. 13, 2019 — One of the most successful and enduring feats of interplanetary exploration, NASA's Opportunity rover mission is at an end after almost 15 years exploring the surface of Mars and helping lay the ... read more

Insulating Crust Kept Cryomagma Liquid for Millions of Years on Nearby Dwarf Planet

Feb. 12, 2019 — A recent NASA mission to the dwarf planet Ceres found brilliant, white spots of salts on its surface. New research delved into the factors that influenced the volcanic activity that formed the ... read more

Feb. 12, 2019 — The Earth's magnetic shield booms like a drum when it is hit by strong impulses, according to new ... read more

Feb. 8, 2019 — The Lunar Reconnaissance Orbiter got a closer look at Chang'e 4 on the lunar far side. This time the small Yutu-2 rover shows up (two pixels) just north of the lander. Also, shadows cast by the ... read more

Feb. 8, 2019 — Scientists have quantitatively confirmed how energetic an auroral breakup can be. Using a combination of cutting-edge ground-based technology and new space-borne observations, they have demonstrated ... read more

Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Tuesday, February 12, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Friday, February 1, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Monday, January 21, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Thursday, January 3, 2019
Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Tuesday, January 1, 2019
Monday, December 31, 2018
Thursday, December 27, 2018
Friday, December 21, 2018
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Friday, December 7, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Friday, November 23, 2018
Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Monday, November 19, 2018
Friday, November 16, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Friday, November 2, 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Friday, October 26, 2018
Thursday, October 25, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Tuesday, October 16, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com