advertisement
Space & Time News
May 19, 2019

Top Headlines
 

A new analysis suggests that the moon is actively shrinking and producing moonquakes along thousands of cliffs called thrust faults spread over the moon's surface. The faults ... read more
NASA's Spitzer Space Telescope has revealed that some of the Universe's earliest galaxies were brighter than expected. The excess light is a by-product of the galaxies ... read more
Blue supergiants are rock-and-roll: they live fast and die young. This makes them rare and difficult to study. Before space telescopes were invented, few blue supergiants had ... read more
Astronomers have put together the largest and most comprehensive 'history book' of galaxies into one single image, using 16 years' worth of observations from NASA's Hubble ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 4:58am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

To address messy measurements of the cosmic web that connects matter in the universe, researchers developed a way to improve the accuracy and clarity of these measurements based on the stretching of ... read more

Could This Rare Supernova Resolve a Longstanding Origin Debate?

Detection of a supernova with an unusual chemical signature may hold the key to solving the longstanding mystery that is the source of these violent explosions. Observations taken by the Magellan ... read more

Astronomers propose placing two or three satellites in circular orbit around the Earth to observe black ... read more

NGC 2903 is located about 30 million light-years away in the constellation of Leo (the Lion), and was studied as part of a Hubble survey of the central regions of roughly 145 nearby disk ... read more

When It Comes to Planetary Habitability, It's What's Inside That Counts

Can the geologic and dynamic features that make our home planet habitable be produced on planets with different ... read more

A new image, a composite of several observations captured by ESO's VLT Survey Telescope (VST), shows the ESA spacecraft Gaia as a faint trail of dots across the lower half of the star-filled ... read more

Two Neutron Stars Collided Near the Solar System Billions of Years Ago

Astrophysicists have found signs of a cosmic event that created elements that sent gold and silver to ... read more

Cosmochemists have made the first-ever measurements of water contained in samples from the surface of an ... read more

Scientists Track Giant Ocean Vortex from Space

Researchers have found a new way to use satellites to monitor the Great Whirl, a massive whirlpool the size of Colorado that forms each year off the coast of East Africa, they report in a new ... read more

Astronomers have discovered a star in the Milky Way Galaxy with a chemical composition unlike any other star in our Galaxy. This chemical composition has been seen in a small number of stars in dwarf ... read more

Observers watching January's total eclipse of the Moon saw a rare event, a short-lived flash as a meteorite hit the lunar surface. Astronomers now think the space rock collided with the moon at ... read more

For more than a century, scientists have squabbled over how Earth's moon formed. Now researchers say they may have the ... read more

Researchers have discovered the remains of a nova in a galactic globular cluster, located near the center of Messier 22. The finding, using modern instruments, confirms one of the oldest observations ... read more

Researchers discovered a dust grain forged in a stellar explosion before our solar system was born. Atom-level analysis of the specimen reveals new insights about how stars end their lives and seed ... read more

A deep learning approach to detecting storms on Saturn shows the vast regions affected by storms and that dark storm clouds contain material swept up from the lower ... read more

Research team finds huge ice feature on Titan while trying to understand where Saturn's largest moon gets all of its methane. This research, which used Principal Components Analysis in an ... read more

Astronomers have discovered rapidly swinging jets coming from a black hole almost 8,000 light-years from Earth. The research shows jets from V404 Cygni's black hole behaving in a way never seen ... read more

Drawing design inspiration from the skin of stealthy sea creatures, engineers have developed a next-generation, adaptive space blanket that gives users the ability to control their temperature. The ... read more

This sparkling burst of stars is Messier 75. It is a globular cluster: a spherical collection of stars bound together by gravity. Clusters like this orbit around galaxies and typically reside in ... read more

Evidence of 6 New Binary Black Hole Mergers Within LVC Data

Scholars recently submitted an article announcing the discovery of six new binary black hole mergers, which exceed the detection thresholds defined by the LIGO-Virgo Collaboration. Applying a unique ... read more

Wednesday, May 8, 2019
Tuesday, May 7, 2019
Monday, May 6, 2019
Friday, May 3, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Monday, April 29, 2019
Friday, April 26, 2019
Thursday, April 25, 2019
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Thursday, April 18, 2019
Wednesday, April 17, 2019
Tuesday, April 16, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Friday, April 12, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019
Wednesday, April 10, 2019
Tuesday, April 9, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Friday, April 5, 2019
Thursday, April 4, 2019
Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Monday, April 1, 2019
Friday, March 29, 2019
Thursday, March 28, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019
Friday, March 22, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Monday, March 18, 2019
Saturday, March 16, 2019
Friday, March 15, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019

http://www.vxiaotou.com