advertisement
Urbanization News
April 23, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 10:28pm EDT

More Urbanization News
April 23, 2019

Climate Panel Disbanded by Trump, Now Regrouped, Releases Its Report

Apr. 4, 2019 — A federal advisory committee started meeting in 2016 to explore how to make the National Climate Assessment more usable for communities who want to take action. President Trump dismissed the panel in ... read more

Land Conservation Helps Local Economies Grow

Mar. 26, 2019 — Land conservation modestly increases employment rates, a traditional indicator of economic growth, according to an analysis of New England cities and ... read more

Mar. 21, 2019 — Protecting houses against mosquitoes with netting window screens can suppress malaria vector populations and dramatically reduce human parasite infection prevalence, according to new ... read more

When Green 'Fixes' Actually Increase the Carbon Footprint

Mar. 11, 2019 — New research shows that when tech companies move in, they often encourage a sustainability mindset, but can lead to gentrification and stable or higher ... read more

Mar. 6, 2019 — Human disturbance reduces forest density, biomass, and richness of species in sacred church forests of northern Ethiopia, according to new ... read more

What Rising Seas Mean for Local Economies

Feb. 15, 2019 — High-tide flooding resulting from climate change is already disrupting the economy of Annapolis, Md. As sea levels rise, the impacts are expected to get worse for coastal ... read more

New Study Looks at Ways to Cut Roadkill Numbers for Small and Medium-Sized Mammals

Feb. 15, 2019 — A study of a stretch of highway in Quebec looks at the effect of road fencing and underground passages on the number of roadkill deaths of small and medium-sized mammals. The study found that ... read more

Dangerous School Commutes Lead to Student Absenteeism

Feb. 13, 2019 — The more crime that occurs along a student's way to school, the higher the likelihood that student will be absent, researchers have ... read more

Streetcars Don't Guarantee Heightened Development Activity

Feb. 12, 2019 — Development outcomes along streetcar corridors can't be entirely attributed to the presence of the streetcar, researchers found. Streetcar investment is commonly accompanied with a healthy ... read more

Scientists Use Smartphones to Improve Dismal Rating of Nation's Civil Infrastructure

Feb. 11, 2019 — Scientists at the have developed smartphone-based technologies that can monitor civil infrastructure systems such as crumbing roads and aging ... read more

New Study Linking Blight and Homicide May Help Predict Where Murder May Occur

Feb. 8, 2019 — A new study shows a statistical connection between homicide, blighted buildings and convenient ... read more

Think Big, at Least When It Comes to Global Conservation

Feb. 8, 2019 — According to a group of international researchers, the potential for large countries to contribute to environmental protection is being overlooked. The researchers recently examined the leverage an ... read more

Shrinking Population in More Than a Third of Rural U.S. Counties

Feb. 6, 2019 — Nearly 35 percent of rural counties in the United States are experiencing protracted and significant population loss, according to new research. Those counties are now home to 6.2 million residents, ... read more

Walking With Pokémon

Feb. 5, 2019 — In a recent study, researchers reveal how the Pokémon GO augmented reality game positively impact the physical activity in players over 40. The authors hope the findings will inform urban planners ... read more

Mean Streets: Self-Driving Cars Will 'Cruise' to Avoid Paying to Park

Jan. 31, 2019 — If you think traffic in city centers is bad now, just wait until self-driving cars emerge on the scene, cruising around to avoid paying hefty downtown parking ... read more

Predicting Gentrification in Order to Prevent It

Jan. 29, 2019 — This first-of-its-kind study offers a new model to identify the U.S. neighborhoods most vulnerable to gentrification. The study reveals the factors with the greatest influence on gentrification and ... read more

More Than Ruffled Feathers: Mockingbirds Show Heightened Aggression After Lead Exposure

Jan. 23, 2019 — Mockingbirds exposed to sub-lethal levels of lead in urban areas display significantly heightened aggression, according to researchers. Their findings highlight the possibility that sub-lethal lead ... read more

Jan. 23, 2019 — Land conservation programs that have converted tens of thousands of acres of agricultural land in Illinois back to a more natural state appear to have helped some rare birds increase their ... read more

Lack of Fair Access to Urban Green Spaces

Jan. 17, 2019 — People with higher incomes and more education tend to have greater access to urban green spaces than their less privileged neighbors, a new study of parks and greenery in 10 major North American ... read more

Jan. 16, 2019 — A new study says the future of tigers in Asia is linked to the path of demographic transition -- for ... read more

Thursday, April 4, 2019
Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Monday, March 11, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Friday, February 15, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Tuesday, February 12, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Friday, January 4, 2019
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Monday, November 12, 2018
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Tuesday, October 30, 2018
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Friday, October 12, 2018
Wednesday, October 10, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Thursday, October 4, 2018
Wednesday, October 3, 2018
Tuesday, October 2, 2018
Monday, October 1, 2018
Wednesday, September 26, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Wednesday, September 12, 2018
Monday, September 10, 2018
Thursday, September 6, 2018
Tuesday, August 28, 2018
Wednesday, August 22, 2018
Monday, August 20, 2018
Thursday, August 9, 2018
Friday, August 3, 2018
Wednesday, August 1, 2018
Monday, July 30, 2018
Tuesday, July 24, 2018
Wednesday, July 18, 2018
Friday, July 6, 2018
Thursday, July 5, 2018
Monday, July 2, 2018
Tuesday, June 19, 2018
Monday, June 18, 2018
Thursday, June 14, 2018
Wednesday, June 6, 2018
Thursday, May 31, 2018
Wednesday, May 30, 2018
Wednesday, May 23, 2018
Tuesday, May 22, 2018
Monday, May 14, 2018
Wednesday, May 2, 2018
Monday, April 30, 2018
Thursday, April 26, 2018
Thursday, April 19, 2018
Wednesday, April 18, 2018
Wednesday, April 11, 2018
Monday, April 2, 2018
Wednesday, March 28, 2018
Tuesday, March 27, 2018
Wednesday, March 14, 2018
Wednesday, March 7, 2018
Monday, March 5, 2018
Thursday, March 1, 2018
Tuesday, February 27, 2018
Monday, February 26, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com