advertisement
Transportation Issues News
April 23, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 9:28pm EDT

More Transportation Issues News
April 23, 2019

More Than a Strip of Paint Needed to Keep Cyclists Safe

Apr. 10, 2019 — On-road marked bicycle lanes are not the optimal solution to keeping cyclists safe, new research has ... read more

Distracted Drivers 29 Times More Likely to Wreck in a Highway Work Zone

Mar. 5, 2019 — Highway work zone crashes happen every 5.4 minutes. Now, a new study says an inattentive driver is 29 times more likely to cause a collision or near collision in a work ... read more

New Study Looks at Ways to Cut Roadkill Numbers for Small and Medium-Sized Mammals

Feb. 15, 2019 — A study of a stretch of highway in Quebec looks at the effect of road fencing and underground passages on the number of roadkill deaths of small and medium-sized mammals. The study found that ... read more

Dangerous School Commutes Lead to Student Absenteeism

Feb. 13, 2019 — The more crime that occurs along a student's way to school, the higher the likelihood that student will be absent, researchers have ... read more

Streetcars Don't Guarantee Heightened Development Activity

Feb. 12, 2019 — Development outcomes along streetcar corridors can't be entirely attributed to the presence of the streetcar, researchers found. Streetcar investment is commonly accompanied with a healthy ... read more

Scientists Use Smartphones to Improve Dismal Rating of Nation's Civil Infrastructure

Feb. 11, 2019 — Scientists at the have developed smartphone-based technologies that can monitor civil infrastructure systems such as crumbing roads and aging ... read more

Mean Streets: Self-Driving Cars Will 'Cruise' to Avoid Paying to Park

Jan. 31, 2019 — If you think traffic in city centers is bad now, just wait until self-driving cars emerge on the scene, cruising around to avoid paying hefty downtown parking ... read more

Lower Obesity Rates Linked With Public Transportation Use, Study Shows

Jan. 29, 2019 — Public transportation systems provide numerous economic benefits for a community. An added public health bonus provided by such systems may be lower obesity rates. A new study compared and analyzed ... read more

US Interstate Highways Need Overhaul, Says New Report

Dec. 6, 2018 — The future of the US Interstate Highway System is threatened by a persistent and growing backlog of structural and operational deficiencies and by various looming challenges, such as the progress of ... read more

Laws Designed to Ban or Curb Drivers' Use of Cell Phones Are Saving Motorcyclists' Lives

Dec. 5, 2018 — Laws to ban or curb drivers' use of cell phones and other handheld devices have greatly reduced the rate of fatalities for motorcyclists, according to a new study. Results show that states with ... read more

Autonomous Vehicles Could Shape the Future of Urban Tourism

Nov. 7, 2018 — In a new study, researchers examine how Autonomous Vehicles (AVs) may have a substantial impact on the future of urban ... read more

Buckling Down on Child Car Seat Use in Ride-Share Vehicles

Nov. 1, 2018 — The average Uber or Lyft vehicle does not generally come equipped with a car seat, and only in certain cities is it an option to request one. A new study looks at child ridership and child safety ... read more

Roadkill in the World's Largest Wetland, Pantanal Region, Brazil

Oct. 23, 2018 — Researchers have systematically monitored wild animals killed on the Brazilian federal highway BR-262, which passes through the Pantanal region -- the world's largest ... read more

To Crash or Swerve? Study Reveals Which Actions Taken by Self-Driving Cars Are Morally Defensible

Oct. 9, 2018 — Researchers asked the public what they believed would be the most morally and ethically sound behavior for an autonomous vehicle (AV) faced with an oncoming collision. Even a perfectly functioning AV ... read more

Location Makes or Breaks Many Forms of Public Housing

Sep. 26, 2018 — Researchers determined in a new study that subsidized housing is not affordable in the Dallas-Fort Worth region because its location does not make it transportation ... read more

Rural and Urban Communities Need Different Policies to Boost Economic Mobility

Sep. 12, 2018 — The farther away from a city a person is raised, the more likely they are to climb the economic ladder, according to economists, who also found that community characteristics associated with upward ... read more

Traffic Noise May Make Birds Age Faster

Aug. 28, 2018 — Traffic noise may be associated with an increased rate of telomere loss in Zebra finches that have left the nest, according to a new study. Telomeres are caps on the ends of chromosomes that protect ... read more

New Tool Helps Users Decide Which Countries Their Internet Traffic Transits

Aug. 2, 2018 — The Internet gives people worldwide access to applications and services, but in many cases, Internet traffic passes through a few dominant countries, according to new ... read more

Majority of Drivers Don't Believe Texting While Driving Is Dangerous

July 9, 2018 — New study shows that many drivers are still willing to take the risk, as 'fear of missing out' and separation anxiety keep them from abiding by the law. The study reveals that many drivers ... read more

Closer Monitoring of Surgeons Needed to Stave Off Burn-out and Heavy Drinking

June 25, 2018 — Surgeons need closer monitoring to stave off their risk of burn-out, heavy drinking, and other unhealthy behaviours, and it's time for the profession to fix this problem itself before the ... read more

Wednesday, April 10, 2019
Tuesday, March 5, 2019
Friday, February 15, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Tuesday, February 12, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Thursday, November 1, 2018
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Wednesday, September 26, 2018
Wednesday, September 12, 2018
Tuesday, August 28, 2018
Thursday, August 2, 2018
Monday, July 9, 2018
Monday, June 25, 2018
Tuesday, June 19, 2018
Wednesday, May 30, 2018
Tuesday, May 29, 2018
Wednesday, May 23, 2018
Monday, May 21, 2018
Tuesday, May 8, 2018
Tuesday, May 1, 2018
Monday, April 23, 2018
Thursday, April 19, 2018
Monday, April 16, 2018
Wednesday, March 28, 2018
Tuesday, March 27, 2018
Thursday, February 22, 2018
Thursday, February 15, 2018
Monday, February 12, 2018
Wednesday, January 17, 2018
Thursday, January 11, 2018
Friday, January 5, 2018
Wednesday, December 20, 2017
Tuesday, December 19, 2017
Friday, December 15, 2017
Wednesday, December 6, 2017
Friday, December 1, 2017
Wednesday, November 29, 2017
Monday, November 27, 2017
Thursday, November 16, 2017
Wednesday, November 15, 2017
Tuesday, November 7, 2017
Thursday, October 26, 2017
Friday, October 13, 2017
Thursday, October 12, 2017
Wednesday, October 11, 2017
Thursday, October 5, 2017
Thursday, September 28, 2017
Wednesday, September 27, 2017
Wednesday, September 6, 2017
Tuesday, September 5, 2017
Monday, August 28, 2017
Saturday, August 5, 2017
Monday, July 17, 2017
Thursday, July 6, 2017
Wednesday, July 5, 2017
Tuesday, June 27, 2017
Friday, June 23, 2017
Wednesday, June 21, 2017
Friday, June 16, 2017
Tuesday, June 6, 2017
Thursday, June 1, 2017
Wednesday, May 31, 2017
Wednesday, May 24, 2017
Tuesday, May 23, 2017
Monday, May 22, 2017
Friday, May 19, 2017
Wednesday, May 17, 2017
Tuesday, May 16, 2017
Monday, May 15, 2017
Wednesday, May 10, 2017
Wednesday, April 26, 2017
Tuesday, April 25, 2017
Thursday, April 20, 2017
Tuesday, April 11, 2017
Friday, April 7, 2017
Tuesday, April 4, 2017
Wednesday, March 29, 2017

http://www.vxiaotou.com