advertisement
Public Health News
May 19, 2019

Top Headlines
 

Legal Marijuana Reduces Chronic Pain, but Increases Injuries and Car Accidents

The legalization of recreational marijuana is associated with an increase in its abuse, injury due to overdoses, and car accidents, but does not ... read more
A new analysis identified 25 United States counties that are most likely to experience measles outbreaks in 2019. The analysis combined international air travel volume, ... read more

Education May Be Key to a Healthier, Wealthier US

A first-of-its-kind study estimate the economic value of education for better health and longevity. The new study finds that the reduced disability and longer lives among the more educated are worth ... read more
Most Americans continue to sit for prolonged periods despite public health messages that such inactivity increases the risk of obesity, diabetes, heart disease and certain ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 3:54am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Progress Against Child Mortality Lags in Many Indian States

India in 2015 had more deaths among children under five than any other country and had large disparities in the under-five mortality rate between richer and poorer states, according to a new ... read more

Misapplication of Opioid Guidelines?

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention is clarifying its guidelines on opioid prescribing, citing the findings of a review panel that many clinicians, policymakers and payers are misapplying ... read more

Tech-Savvy People More Likely to Trust Digital Doctors

Would you trust a robot to diagnose your cancer? According to new research, people with high confidence in machine performance and also in their own technological capabilities are more likely to ... read more

The Art of the Circus

From tightrope to trapeze, circus arts have long fascinated and inspired people of all ages. Now, research is revealing the true value of circus skills and their unique ability to deliver significant ... read more

Fewer Than Half of British Men and Women Have Sex at Least Once a Week

Fewer than half of men and women in Britain aged 16-44 have sex at least once a week, reveals a large ... read more

Improved WIC Food Packages Reduced Obesity Risk for Children, Study Finds

A decade ago, the U.S. federal government overhauled nutrition standards for food packages in its primary food assistance program for young mothers and their children. The change reduced obesity ... read more

New Rules for Lung Transplants Lead to Unintended Consequences

A recent policy change in allocating donor lungs has had several unintended consequences, according to a new study. The new policy has imposed a significant logistical burden on organ procurement ... read more

Study Finds That Quitting Smoking During Pregnancy Lowers Risk of Preterm Births

A new study of more than 25 million pregnant women reports on rates of smoking cessation at the start of and during pregnancy and also examines the association of quitting cigarette smoking and the ... read more

National Effort Urged to Overhaul 'Broken' Health Data System

Our system for protecting health data in the United States is fundamentally broken and we need a national effort to rethink how we safeguard this information, say three experts in data ... read more

FDA Added Sugar Label Could Be a Cost-Effective Way to Improve Health, Generate Savings

The FDA's mandatory added sugar labeling policy for packaged foods and beverages could generate important health gains and cost-savings for the healthcare system and society, according to a new ... read more

National Handwashing Campaign Reduces Incidence of Staphylococcus Aureus Infection in Australia's Hospitals

Since its implementation in 2009, the National Australian Hand Hygiene Initiative (NHHI) has seen significant, sustained improvements in hand hygiene compliance among Australian healthcare workers, ... read more

Population Health: A Rapidly Evolving Discipline in US Academic Medicine

Leaders from department-level initiatives across the US weigh in on how academic medicine is embracing population health and the opportunities med schools have to make an impact, according to a new ... read more

Opioid Epidemic May Have Cost US Governments $37.8 Billion in Tax Revenue

The opioid epidemic may have cost U.S. state and federal governments up to $37.8 billion in lost tax revenue due to opioid-related employment ... read more

Lack of Access to Antibiotics Is a Major Global Health Challenge

Researchers have identified key access barriers to antibiotics in low-, middle-, and high-income countries. The report makes several recommendations proposing action on R&D, strengthening ... read more

Kids Living Near Major Roads at Higher Risk of Developmental Delays

Young children who live close to a major roadway are twice as likely to score lower on tests of communications skills, compared to those who live farther away from a major roadway, according to a new ... read more

Is It Genetic Code or Postal Code That Influence a Child's Life Chances?

Most children inherit both their postal code and their genetic code from their parents. But if genetic factors influence where families are able to live and children's health and educational ... read more

Medical Guidelines May Be Biased, Overly Aggressive in US

A doctor practiced general medicine for several years in the United Kingdom's National Health Service. When she came to the United States, she noticed something strange. The U.K. guidelines for ... read more

Health Claims on Packaging for Many Foods Marketed to UK Kids Are 'Confusing'

The health claims made on the product packaging for a large proportion of foods marketed to children in the UK are 'confusing,' and could be contributing to rising rates of childhood ... read more

Supporting HIV-Affected Couples Trying to Conceive

Timed vaginal insemination is a safe, effective way to help HIV-affected couples conceive, finds a new pilot study in Kenya led by a Michigan Medicine ... read more

People in almost every region of the world could benefit from rebalancing their diets to eat optimal amounts of various foods and nutrients, according to the Global Burden of Disease study tracking ... read more

Tuesday, May 14, 2019
Monday, May 13, 2019
Friday, May 10, 2019
Thursday, May 9, 2019
Wednesday, May 8, 2019
Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Friday, April 19, 2019
Wednesday, April 17, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Friday, April 12, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019
Tuesday, April 9, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Friday, April 5, 2019
Thursday, April 4, 2019
Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Monday, April 1, 2019
Friday, March 29, 2019
Thursday, March 28, 2019
Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Friday, March 15, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Monday, March 11, 2019
Friday, March 8, 2019
Thursday, March 7, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Tuesday, March 5, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Tuesday, February 26, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Friday, February 22, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Monday, February 18, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Tuesday, February 12, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Saturday, January 19, 2019
Friday, January 18, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019

http://www.vxiaotou.com