advertisement
Energy Issues News
June 26, 2019

Top Headlines
 

The use of Bitcoin causes around 22 megatons in carbon dioxide emissions annually -- comparable to the total emissions of cities such as Las Vegas ... read more
Infrastructure development and other human-made changes have already fragmented or disrupted two-thirds of Earth's longest rivers. Dams and reservoirs are the leading ... read more

A Jetsons Future? Assessing the Role of Flying Cars in Sustainable Mobility

A new study of the environmental sustainability impacts of flying cars, formally known as electric vertical takeoff and landing aircraft, or VTOLs, finds that they wouldn't be suitable for a ... read more

Researchers Uncover Additional Evidence for Massive Solar Storms

Solar storms can be far more powerful than previously thought. A new study has found evidence for the third known case of a massive solar storm in historical times. The researchers believe that ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 9:54am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

New York State Winters Could Pose Solar Farm 'Ramping' Snag for Power Grid

With low energy demand around midday in the winter, combined with solar-electricity production, New York's power system could face volatile swings of 'ramping' -- which is how power ... read more

Giving Rural Indians What They Want Increases Demand for Cookstoves

Adopting common business practices, such as robust supply chains, market analysis and rebates, can increase the adoption of improved cookstoves by as much as 50 percent in rural India, according to a ... read more

Rethinking Digital Service Design Could Reduce Their Environmental Impact

Digital technology companies could reduce the carbon footprint of services like YouTube by changing how they are designed, experts ... read more

Turn Off a Light, Save a Life

We all know that turning off lights and buying energy-efficient appliances affects our financial bottom line. Now, according to a new study, we know that saving energy also saves lives and even more ... read more

Renewable Energy Won't Make Bitcoin 'Green,' but Tweaking Its Mining Mechanism Might

The cryptocurrency Bitcoin is known for its energy footprint. Now, a researcher suggests that renewable hydropower production cannot supply the large quantities of energy needed to power machinery ... read more

Autonomous Vehicles Could Be an Environmental Boon or Disaster, Depending on Public Policy

Widespread use of autonomous vehicles (AVs) could either massively increase or drastically cut greenhouse gas emissions depending, in large part, on public policy, according to new ... read more

Forests, Carbon Sinks Cannot Make Up for Delays in Decarbonizing the Economy, Experts Argue

To stabilize the Earth's climate for people and ecosystems, it is imperative to ramp up natural climate solutions and, at the same time, accelerate mitigation efforts across the energy and ... read more

CO<sub>2</sub> Emissions in Developed Economies Fall Due to Decreasing Fossil Fuel and Energy Use

Efforts to cut emissions of carbon dioxide and tackle climate change in developed economies are beginning to pay off according to new ... read more

'Goldilocks' Thinking to Cut Cost of Fuel Cells in Electric Vehicles

Electric vehicles running on fuel cells tout zero emissions and higher efficiency, but expensive platinum is holding them back from entering a larger market. A new method increases fuel cell ... read more

Carbon Taxes Could Create New Winners and Losers Among Countries, Research Says

A global carbon tax would create new sets of economic winners and losers, with some countries holding a distinct competitive advantage over others, according to new ... read more

Planning Ahead: A New Robust Approach for Minimizing Costs in Power-Distribution Networks

Scientists have developed a new method for scheduling the turning on and off of power generators that minimizes costs and ensures reliability while addressing the issues prevalent in multiple ... read more

Environmental Regulations May Have Unintended Consequences in Energy Production

Many countries have passed environmental laws to preserve natural ecosystems. Although the regulations seem to have improved preservation efforts, they may have had unintended consequences in energy ... read more

Economist Find a Global Tax on Carbon May Be Feasible

There is a consistently high level of public support across nations for a global carbon tax if the tax policy is carefully designed, according to a recent ... read more

Racial Inequality in the Deployment of Rooftop Solar Energy in the United States, Study Finds

Fewer rooftop solar photovoltaics installations exist in African-American and Hispanic-dominant neighborhoods than in white-dominant neighborhoods, even when controlling for household income and home ... read more

In Response to Heat, the More Affluent Use Air-Conditioners; Low-Income Households Use Water

A new study has revealed that Singapore households from different socioeconomic groups vary significantly in their use of water and electricity for the relief of heat. The findings suggest that water ... read more

Team Locates Nearly All US Solar Panels in a Billion Images With Machine Learning

Researchers have identified the GPS locations and sizes of almost all US solar power installations from a billion images. Using the data, which is public, they identified factors that promote the use ... read more

The Full Story on Climate Change Requires the Long View

Researchers offer a new calculation that provides the long view of what nine different world regions have contributed to climate change since 1900. They also show how that breakdown will likely look ... read more

Scientists Warn of Slow Progress Towards United Nations Biodiversity Targets

Researchers praises widespread commitment but call for broader participation to better protect global marine ... read more

Fighting Smog Supports Solar Power

Model calculations by researchers show that if China fought smog more aggressively, it could massively increase solar power ... read more

Fine-Tuning Renewables Could Help Texas Balance Energy Resources

A new study analyzes Texas' mix of wind and solar energy resources, and how to achieve better balance between them going ... read more

Tuesday, May 28, 2019
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Monday, May 6, 2019
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018
Friday, December 14, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018
Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Monday, November 12, 2018
Friday, November 9, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Thursday, November 1, 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Tuesday, October 30, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Friday, October 26, 2018
Thursday, October 25, 2018
Tuesday, October 16, 2018
Friday, October 12, 2018
Thursday, October 4, 2018
Wednesday, September 26, 2018
Tuesday, September 25, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Tuesday, September 18, 2018
Wednesday, September 12, 2018
Friday, September 7, 2018
Thursday, September 6, 2018
Thursday, August 30, 2018
Sunday, August 26, 2018
Friday, August 24, 2018
Thursday, August 23, 2018
Monday, August 20, 2018
Tuesday, July 31, 2018
Monday, July 30, 2018
Monday, July 23, 2018
Thursday, July 19, 2018
Wednesday, July 18, 2018
Monday, July 16, 2018
Thursday, July 5, 2018
Monday, July 2, 2018
Thursday, June 28, 2018
Wednesday, June 20, 2018
Monday, June 4, 2018
Thursday, May 31, 2018
Wednesday, May 30, 2018
Friday, May 25, 2018
Wednesday, May 23, 2018
Monday, May 21, 2018
Thursday, May 17, 2018
Wednesday, May 16, 2018
Monday, May 14, 2018
Thursday, May 10, 2018
Monday, May 7, 2018
Thursday, May 3, 2018
Monday, April 30, 2018
Thursday, April 26, 2018
Monday, April 23, 2018
Thursday, April 5, 2018
Wednesday, March 28, 2018
Monday, March 19, 2018
Wednesday, March 14, 2018
Thursday, March 8, 2018
Tuesday, March 6, 2018
Monday, March 5, 2018
Thursday, March 1, 2018
Wednesday, February 28, 2018
Tuesday, February 27, 2018
Friday, February 16, 2018
Thursday, February 15, 2018
Tuesday, February 13, 2018
Wednesday, February 7, 2018
Monday, February 5, 2018
Wednesday, January 24, 2018
Monday, January 22, 2018
Wednesday, January 17, 2018
Monday, January 15, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com