advertisement
Wild Animals News
January 20, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 10:54pm EST

More Wild Animals News
January 20, 2019

Mediterranean Freshwater Fish Species Susceptible to Climate Change

Jan. 18, 2019 — Climate change will strongly affect many European freshwater fish species. This is particularly the case for species in the Mediterranean ... read more

Jan. 17, 2019 — Declines in native bee populations are widely reported, but can existing data really analyze these trends? Entomologists report findings about pollinator biodiversity in California's Pinnacle ... read more

Jan. 15, 2019 — Alaskan wildlife management that prioritizes reducing bear and wolf populations so hunters can kill more moose, caribou and deer is both backward and lacks scientific ... read more

Animals May Get Used to Drones

Jan. 15, 2019 — A new study shows that over time, bears get used to drones. Previous work indicated that animals behave fearfully or show a stress response near drone flights. Using heart monitors to gauge stress, ... read more

Jan. 15, 2019 — Haida Gwaii's small population of northern goshawks -- already of great concern to conservationists -- are the last remnant of a highly distinct genetic cluster of the birds, according to a new ... read more

History of North African Date Palm

Jan. 14, 2019 — Genome analysis reveals that North African date palms are a hybrid between cultivated date palms from the Middle East and a different, wild species of palm that grows on the island of Crete and in ... read more

Wild Insects 'Get Old' Before They Die

Jan. 14, 2019 — Short-lived wild insects 'get old' -- losing some of their physical abilities -- before they die, new research ... read more

Jan. 11, 2019 — One of the greatest challenges in saving endangered species is to predict if an animal population will die out. Accurate and reliable models are crucial for ... read more

Jan. 10, 2019 — There are only so many fish in the sea. And our appetite for seafood has already stressed many wild fisheries to the breaking point. Meanwhile, the planet's growing population will only further ... read more

Jan. 10, 2019 — Fish become anxious and more cautious when water quality is degraded by sediment, an effect that could stunt their growth and damage their ... read more

Jan. 9, 2019 — Landscapes can change from day-to-day and year-to-year, and many animals will move about according to resource availability. But do they remember past resource conditions? Just how important is ... read more

Jan. 9, 2019 — The weight of elephants living in zoos fluctuates over the course of their adult lives in cycles lasting around a hundred months, researchers have found. The fluctuation is linked to the particular ... read more

Jan. 8, 2019 — Entomologists have performed a study on the Big Island and found viruses associated with the varroa mite, a parasite of honeybees, have spilled over into the western yellowjacket, a honeybee predator ... read more

Roaming Cats Prey on Their Owners' Minds

Jan. 8, 2019 — Many cat owners worry about their pets wandering the streets, but perceive cats hunting mice and birds to be unavoidable instinct, researchers have ... read more

Variable Venom: Why Are Some Snakes Deadlier Than Others?

Jan. 8, 2019 — By comparing records of venom potency and quantity for over 100 venomous snake species, researchers have discovered that the potency of a snake's venom depends on what it ... read more

Jan. 8, 2019 — Using the CRISPR gene editing tool, researchers have developed a new way to control and suppress populations of insects, potentially including those that ravage agricultural crops and transmit deadly ... read more

Jan. 7, 2019 — According to a new study that looked at 10 species of vertebrates, evolution used a kind of universal formula for turning non-monogamous species into monogamous species -- turning up the activity of ... read more

New Bat-Borne Virus Related to Ebola

Jan. 7, 2019 — Newly discovered Mengla virus is evolutionarily closely related to Ebola virus and Marburg virus and shares several important functional similarities with them. For example, the genome organization ... read more

Jan. 4, 2019 — Scientists have identified wildlife species that are the most likely to host flaviviruses such as Zika, West Nile, dengue and yellow fever. They created a global flavivirus hotspot map from their ... read more

Jan. 3, 2019 — Timber rattlesnakes, according to the study's author, are among the most docile creatures in Appalachia. They choose places to hibernate that are more likely to be surface mined due to their ... read more

Friday, January 18, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Friday, January 11, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Friday, January 4, 2019
Thursday, January 3, 2019
Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Thursday, December 27, 2018
Friday, December 21, 2018
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018
Friday, December 14, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Friday, December 7, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com