advertisement
Virology News
January 18, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 12:26pm EST

More Virology News
January 18, 2019

Herpes Viruses and Tumors Evolved to Learn How to Manipulate the Same Ancient RNA

Jan. 14, 2019 — Herpes viral infections use the ancient genetic material found in the human genome to proliferate, mimicking the same process tumors have been found to manipulate, Mount Sinai researchers have shown ... read more

Madariaga Virus Spreads to Haiti

Jan. 10, 2019 — Madariaga virus (MADV), or South American eastern equine encephalitis virus (EEEV), has -- until now -- been found primarily in animals of South and Central America, with the first human outbreak ... read more

Jan. 10, 2019 — In a first for plant virology, a team from CIRAD recently used nanopore technology to sequence the entire genomes of two yam RNA viruses. This as yet little-used but promising molecular biology ... read more

Malaria Vaccine Passes Test in Humans

Jan. 10, 2019 — A vaccine against fatal pregnancy malaria shows promising results in the first tests in humans. The new study has taken a vaccine all the way from discovery of a mechanism through development and ... read more

Jan. 9, 2019 — Specific respiratory microbiome communities may be linked to influenza susceptibility, according to a new ... read more

Schizophrenia Linked With Abnormal Immune Response to Epstein-Barr Virus

Jan. 9, 2019 — New research shows that people in the study with schizophrenia also have higher levels of antibodies against the Epstein-Barr virus (EBV), a herpes virus that causes infectious mononucleosis, ... read more

Jan. 9, 2019 — Genetics may play a bigger role in the body's disease-fighting ability than scientists previously thought, according to the results from a new study of ... read more

Jan. 8, 2019 — Entomologists have performed a study on the Big Island and found viruses associated with the varroa mite, a parasite of honeybees, have spilled over into the western yellowjacket, a honeybee predator ... read more

Fighting Human Disease With Birth Control ... for Mosquitoes

Jan. 8, 2019 — A newly discovered protein that is crucial for egg production in mosquitoes opens a possibility for 'mosquito birth control.' The approach might offer a way to reduce mosquito populations ... read more

Bacterial Immunity and Infectious Disease

Jan. 8, 2019 — Patients with cystic fibrosis are often infected by pseudomonas aeruginosa, a bacterium that infects the lungs and prevents breathing, often causing death. P. aeruginosa itself can also be infected ... read more

Jan. 8, 2019 — Scientists have developed an analytic method that can very precisely detect viral infections using immune ... read more

Antibiotic Resistance in the Environment Linked to Fecal Pollution

Jan. 8, 2019 — A study shows that 'crAssphage', a virus specific to bacteria in human feces, is highly correlated to the abundance of antibiotic resistance genes in environmental ... read more

Close Flu Vaccine Supply Gaps to Ease Flu Seasons, Make Pandemics Less Deadly

Jan. 8, 2019 — Gaps in the logic of how we restock flu vaccines may be costing hundreds of lives, or more. A new model to tweak the gaps could save hundreds to hundreds-of-thousands of people and millions to ... read more

New Bat-Borne Virus Related to Ebola

Jan. 7, 2019 — Newly discovered Mengla virus is evolutionarily closely related to Ebola virus and Marburg virus and shares several important functional similarities with them. For example, the genome organization ... read more

Jan. 4, 2019 — Scientists have identified wildlife species that are the most likely to host flaviviruses such as Zika, West Nile, dengue and yellow fever. They created a global flavivirus hotspot map from their ... read more

Elegant Trick Improves Single-Cell RNA Sequencing

Dec. 20, 2018 — Droplet microfluidics has revolutionized single-cell RNA sequencing, offering a low-cost, high-throughput method for single-cell genomics. However, this method has been limited in its ability to ... read more

Dec. 20, 2018 — Current HIV treatments need to be taken for life by those infected as antiretroviral therapy is unable to eliminate viral reservoirs lurking in immune cells. Scientists have identified the ... read more

Dec. 20, 2018 — In mouse trials, a vaccine based on recombinant adenovirus protected against Zika without evidence of antibodies. Reports have shown Zika antibodies can worsen Dengue virus ... read more

Dec. 19, 2018 — The compound called GA-Hecate also acts on bacteria, fungi and cancer cells and will be tested against Zika and yellow fever ... read more

Game Over for Zika? KU Leuven Researchers Develop Promising Vaccine

Dec. 19, 2018 — Scientists have developed a new vaccine against the Zika virus. This vaccine should prevent the virus from causing microcephaly and other serious conditions in unborn ... read more

Monday, January 14, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Friday, January 4, 2019
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Friday, December 7, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018
Friday, November 23, 2018
Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Monday, November 19, 2018
Friday, November 16, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Tuesday, November 13, 2018
Monday, November 12, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Friday, November 2, 2018
Thursday, November 1, 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Tuesday, October 30, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Thursday, October 25, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Monday, October 22, 2018
Thursday, October 18, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Tuesday, October 16, 2018
Monday, October 15, 2018
Friday, October 12, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com