advertisement
Mating and Breeding News
March 22, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 10:55am EDT

More Mating and Breeding News
March 22, 2019

Why Fly the Coop? With Shortage of Mates, Some Birds Choose to Help Others Raise Offspring

Mar. 14, 2019 — After a five-year experiment, researchers in Florida found that when fewer mates were available for brown-headed nuthatches, these small pine-forest birds opted to stay home and help their parents or ... read more

Mar. 14, 2019 — Insects show a variety of species-specific innate behaviors (instinctive behaviors). For example, a worker honeybee that has found flower nectar exhibits 8-shape waggle-dances upon returning to its ... read more

Mar. 13, 2019 — Results from a new study suggest that bees might be exposed to pesticides in more ways than we thought, and it could impact their development significantly. The study looks at the non-target effects ... read more

Mar. 13, 2019 — Climate change could contribute to the demographic collapse of the painted turtle, a species that has temperature-dependent sex determination. A scientist is sounding the alarm about the painted ... read more

Pheromones and Social Status: Machos Smell Better

Mar. 8, 2019 — Male house mice are territorial and scent-mark their territories with urine -- and dominant, territorial males have much greater reproductive success than other males. A study now shows that female ... read more

Insects in Decline: On Farmland, Latecomers Lose out

Mar. 7, 2019 — Wild bees in Europe are in trouble -- more than 50 percent of local species are now classified as endangered. Recent findings indicate that, in farming areas, species that emerge in late summer are ... read more

Mar. 6, 2019 — New research has analysed the behavior of 12 dolphin social groups in South Australia's Coffin Bay region and shows males who team up in groups of two to five to form beneficial alliances may ... read more

Mar. 4, 2019 — How can a species split into several new species if they still live close to each other and are able to interbreed? Using a group of Caribbean reef fishes as a model system, a team of scientists has ... read more

Feb. 27, 2019 — A species of Central American cuckoo, the greater ani, forms groups of two or three females that nest communally to protect their eggs from predators, but sometimes a female will go outside the ... read more

Feb. 27, 2019 — Snails, like humans, can be right-handed or left-handed and the swirl etched into the shell of a snail can reveal a lot about them, down to their genetic makeup. Researchers have found that the gene ... read more

Live Long and Prosper: Mongooses Enjoy Lifelong Benefits of 'Silver Spoon Effect'

Feb. 25, 2019 — The benefits of the 'silver spoon effect' in mongoose pups extend across their lifetime, a new study has ... read more

Feb. 25, 2019 — Thought to be Canada's most promising potential defense against the brown marmorated stink bug (a globally spreading pest of various fruits and vegetables), the samurai wasp has been considered ... read more

Feb. 20, 2019 — New research revealed that foreign honey bees often account for more than 90 percent of pollinators observed visiting flowers in San Diego, considered a global biodiversity hotspot. The non-native ... read more

Feb. 20, 2019 — A female stickleback fish, nick-named 'Mary,' has produced offspring from eggs that appear to have been fertilized while they were still inside her, according to ... read more

Feb. 14, 2019 — Aloe sanguinalis, or Somali Red Aloe, forms large, conspicuous clumps and has blood red sap. Its clumps can easily be spotted from the road, but the species has only just been named and ... read more

'Old' Sperm Produces Healthier Offspring

Feb. 14, 2019 — Research shows that sperm that live for longer before fertilizing an egg produce healthier offspring. What's more, these offspring go on to have longer, healthier lifespans -- and in turn ... read more

Feb. 14, 2019 — Researchers wanted to know how Magellanic penguin parents in South America balance the dietary demands of multiple chicks. They found that when a Magellanic penguin parent returns to its nest with ... read more

Mom's Reward: Female Galápagos Seabird Has a Shorter Lifespan Than Males

Feb. 12, 2019 — The male Nazca booby, a large seabird of the Galápagos Islands, often outlives the domineering female of the species, according to new research. Why? It's a story of rotating sex partners, the ... read more

Feb. 8, 2019 — Under the influence of the drug fluconazole, the fungus Candida albicans can change its mode of reproduction and thus become even more resistant, scientists ... read more

Feb. 8, 2019 — With bright reds and yellows -- and even the occasional white -- poppies are very bright and colorful. Their petals, however, are also very thin; they are made up of just three layers of cells. ... read more

Thursday, March 14, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Friday, March 8, 2019
Thursday, March 7, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Tuesday, February 12, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Friday, January 25, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Friday, January 18, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Friday, January 11, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Thursday, January 3, 2019
Saturday, December 22, 2018
Friday, December 21, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Friday, December 14, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Tuesday, November 13, 2018
Saturday, November 10, 2018
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Thursday, November 1, 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Tuesday, October 30, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com