advertisement
Marine Biology News
March 22, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 9:54am EDT

More Marine Biology News
March 22, 2019

Cardiorespiratory Fitness of Farmed Atlantic Salmon Unaffected by Virus

Mar. 13, 2019 — The respiratory systems of Atlantic salmon function normally even when carrying large loads of piscine orthoreovirus (PRV), new research has found. The results are a positive step in reducing the ... read more

Fatal Horizon, Driven by Acidification, Closes in on Marine Organisms in Southern Ocean

Mar. 11, 2019 — Marine microorganisms in the Southern Ocean may find themselves in a deadly vise grip by century's end as ocean acidification creates a shallower horizon for ... read more

Mar. 11, 2019 — Using a combination of advanced satellite imaging and over 20 years of coral monitoring across the Reef, a team of researchers has found that chronic exposure to poor water quality is limiting the ... read more

Small Animals With Big Impact

Mar. 8, 2019 — Copepods, the world's most common animal, release unique substances into the oceans. Concentrations of these substances are high enough to affect the marine food web, according to new research. ... read more

Coral Reef Parks Protecting Only 40 Percent of Fish Biomass Potential

Mar. 7, 2019 — Marine scientists examining the ecological status of coral reefs across the Indian and Pacific oceans have uncovered an unsettling fact: even the best coral reef marine parks contain less than half ... read more

Mathematics of Sea Slug Movement Points to Future Robots

Mar. 7, 2019 — Mathematicians recently discovered a lot of new, powerful geometries involved in frilly surfaces. They developed the mathematics to describe these surfaces -- inflected nonsmooth surfaces, which ... read more

Scientists Find Mystery Killer Whales Off Cape Horn, Chile

Mar. 7, 2019 — In January 2019, scientists working off the tip of southern Chile got their first live look at what might be a new species of killer whale. Genetic samples will help determine whether this animal, ... read more

Mar. 7, 2019 — Ecologists and local fishing populations may perceive major environmental shifts in fundamentally different ... read more

Fish Diversity Linked to Caribbean Coral Reef Health

Mar. 6, 2019 — The health of coral reefs can be impacted as much by the diversity of fish that graze on them as by the amount of fish that do so, according to a new study. In the paper, the researchers untangle and ... read more

Mar. 6, 2019 — Some wetlands perform better under pressure. A new study revealed that when faced with sea-level rise, coastal wetlands respond by burying even more carbon in their ... read more

Mar. 6, 2019 — An international team has developed newly refined techniques for obtaining past climate data from mollusc shells. Mollusc shells are abundant in archaeological sites spanning the last 160,000 years. ... read more

Scientists Put Ichthyosaurs in Virtual Water Tanks

Mar. 6, 2019 — Using computer simulations and 3D models, paleontologists have uncovered more detail on how Mesozoic sea dragons ... read more

Mar. 4, 2019 — Megalodon, the largest shark that ever lived, is known only from its gigantic bladelike teeth. But these teeth took millions of years to evolve into their final, iconic ... read more

Mar. 4, 2019 — Researchers find a Florida-specific strain of red-tide-causing-algae thrives in both high and low CO2 ... read more

Mar. 4, 2019 — How can a species split into several new species if they still live close to each other and are able to interbreed? Using a group of Caribbean reef fishes as a model system, a team of scientists has ... read more

Balloons the Number 1 Marine Debris Risk of Mortality for Seabirds

Mar. 1, 2019 — A new study has found that balloons are the highest-risk plastic debris item for seabirds -- 32 times more likely to kill than ingesting hard plastics. Researchers looked at the cause of death of ... read more

Endangered Eel Located Using DNA from One Liter of Water

Mar. 1, 2019 — Researchers have shed light on the distribution of Japanese eel by analyzing environmental DNA (eDNA) from small samples of river water. This could enable faster and more effective surveys of ... read more

Feb. 28, 2019 — Fish provide a vital source of protein for over half the world's population, with over 56 million people employed by or subsisting on fisheries. But climate change is beginning to disrupt the ... read more

Feb. 28, 2019 — Prehistoric worms populated the sea bed 500 million years ago -- evidence that life was active in an environment thought uninhabitable until now, research ... read more

Feb. 28, 2019 — New research confirms that drastic changes in ocean salinity from, for example, severe freshwater flooding, as recently experienced off the coast of north-east Queensland from abnormal monsoonal ... read more

Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Monday, March 11, 2019
Friday, March 8, 2019
Thursday, March 7, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Friday, March 1, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Tuesday, February 26, 2019
Friday, February 22, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Sunday, February 17, 2019
Friday, February 15, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Friday, February 1, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Friday, January 25, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Monday, January 21, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019

http://www.vxiaotou.com