advertisement
Insects (including Butterflies) News
June 17, 2019

Top Headlines
 

Researchers shed light on the important role that microbial genes, like those from viruses, can play in insect and ... read more
The timing of a hurricane is one of the primary factors influencing its impact on the spread of mosquito-borne infectious ... read more
We know bees get the concept of zero and can do basic math. Now researchers have discovered they may also be capable of connecting symbols to numbers. It's a finding that ... read more
An international survey finds that the number of honey bee colonies fell by 16 percent in the winter of 2017-18 across ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 12:52pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Interactions Between Plant and Insect-Infecting Viruses

Aphids and the plant viruses they transmit cause billions of dollars in crop damage every year. Researchers are examining this relationship at the molecular level, which could lead to new methods for ... read more

Thinning Forests, Prescribed Fire Before Drought Reduced Tree Loss

Thinning forests and conducting prescribed burns may help preserve trees in future droughts and bark beetle epidemics expected under climate change, suggests a new ... read more

Researchers report on chimpanzees in Guinea fishing and consuming freshwater crabs, something previously undiscovered. The article describes how this is a potential clue in explaining how our ... read more

Wood-living beetles that use oak trees are a species-rich and threatened animal group in modern forestry and agriculture in southern Sweden. New research shows that management with conservation ... read more

Older male crickets are better at getting females to live with them -- but they mate less than younger rivals once they find a ... read more

Parasites Dampen Beetle's Fight or Flight Response

Beetles infected with parasitic worms put up less of a fight against simulated attacks from predators and rival males, according to a new ... read more

Reverse-Engineered Computer Model Provides New Insights Into Larval Behavior

Scientists have developed a new approach to describe the behaviors of microscopic marine larvae, which will improve future predictions of how they disperse and ... read more

A Tale of Two Skeeters

A native mosquito in Missouri has fewer parasites when it shares its waters with an interloper, according to new ... read more

Bedbugs -- some of the most unwanted human bed-mates -- have been parasitic companions with other species aside from humans for more than 100 million years, walking the earth at the same time as ... read more

A new study reveals the loss of plant diversity harms the humble bumblebee at a critical stage in its development from egg to ... read more

Research shows that animals move faster through 'low quality' habitats (fulfilling a minimum of resources for survival) -- evidence that could change the way conservationists think about ... read more

Making a Meal of It: Mosquito Spit Protein Controls Blood Feeding

Researchers developed a transgenic approach to inactivating the mosquito salivary protein AAPP. Transgenic mosquitoes showed significantly longer probing and prediuresis times, and worse feeding ... read more

Egg Yolk Precursor Protein Regulates Mosquitoes' Attraction to Humans

Feeding mosquitoes sugar makes them less attracted to humans, a response that is regulated by the protein vitellogenin, according to a new ... read more

Finnish Researchers Discover a New Moth Family

Two moth species new to science belonging to a previously unknown genus and family have been found in Kazakhstan, constituting an exceptional ... read more

Zoologists have discovered the messenger substance responsible for the flight of the small planktonic crustacean Daphnia from fish in lakes. This animal's dive into deeper waters has significant ... read more

A new study provides the first evidence of transitive inference, the ability to use known relationships to infer unknown relationships, in a nonvertebrate animal: the lowly paper ... read more

Fifteen Years of Mosquito Data Implicate Species Most Likely to Transmit West Nile Virus in Iowa

A study which analyzed 15 years of mosquito surveillance data shows Iowa's western counties experience a higher abundance of the species thought to most commonly carry West Nile virus. Culex ... read more

Discovery of RNA Transfer Through Royal Jelly Could Aid Development of Honey Bee Vaccines

Researchers have discovered that honey bees are able to share immunity with other bees and to their offspring in a hive by transmitting RNA 'vaccines' through royal jelly and worker jelly. ... read more

A common woodland beetle that plays an important role in the decomposition of fallen trees may be getting a boost from a surprising source: ... read more

Pest-Killing Fungi Could Protect NYS Grapes, Apples from Invasive Insect

Two fungal pathogens could potentially curb an invasive insect that has New York vineyard owners on ... read more

Thursday, June 13, 2019
Wednesday, May 29, 2019
Tuesday, May 28, 2019
Thursday, May 23, 2019
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Monday, May 20, 2019
Thursday, May 16, 2019
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Tuesday, May 14, 2019
Friday, May 10, 2019
Thursday, May 9, 2019
Wednesday, May 8, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Monday, April 29, 2019
Friday, April 26, 2019
Thursday, April 25, 2019
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Monday, April 22, 2019
Thursday, April 18, 2019
Wednesday, April 17, 2019
Tuesday, April 16, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019
Wednesday, April 10, 2019
Tuesday, April 9, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Thursday, April 4, 2019
Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Thursday, March 28, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019
Friday, March 22, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Monday, March 18, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Monday, March 11, 2019
Thursday, March 7, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Friday, March 1, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Tuesday, February 26, 2019

http://www.vxiaotou.com