advertisement
Insects (including Butterflies) News
March 21, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 5:54pm EDT

More Insects (including Butterflies) News
March 21, 2019

Protection from Zika Virus May Lie in a Protein Derived from Mosquitoes

Mar. 11, 2019 — By targeting a protein found in the saliva of mosquitoes that transmit Zika virus, investigators reduced Zika infection in mice. The finding demonstrates how researchers might develop a vaccine ... read more

Mar. 11, 2019 — New research shows how an insect common to the Eastern U.S., the long-horned passalid beetle, has a hardy digestive tract with microbes to thank for turning its woody diet into energy, food for its ... read more

What's for Dinner? Sushi, With a Side of Crickets

Mar. 11, 2019 — While insects have been consumed for centuries worldwide, many people still haven't warmed to the idea of a creepy-crawly on the ... read more

Potential Treatment for Cancer in Butterfly Disease

Mar. 7, 2019 — New research lays foundation for upcoming clinical trial for patients with epidermolysis ... read more

How Antifreeze Proteins Make Ice Crystals Grow

Mar. 7, 2019 — Bacteria, plants, insects, or even fish use antifreeze proteins to protect themselves from the cold. The proteins block the growth of ice crystals. In a new study, researchers have confirmed that ... read more

Insects in Decline: On Farmland, Latecomers Lose out

Mar. 7, 2019 — Wild bees in Europe are in trouble -- more than 50 percent of local species are now classified as endangered. Recent findings indicate that, in farming areas, species that emerge in late summer are ... read more

Mar. 7, 2019 — A total of 103 new species of weevils are added to the genus Trigonopterus from Sulawesi whereas. Prior to the study, there had only been a single species from this group documented on the Indonesian ... read more

Forecasting Mosquitoes' Global Spread

Mar. 4, 2019 — New prediction models factoring in climate, urbanization and human travel and migration offer insight into the recent spread of two key disease-spreading mosquitoes -- Aedes aegypti and Aedes ... read more

Disclosing Bed Bug Infestation to Potential Tenants Can Save Landlords Money

Mar. 4, 2019 — Laws that require landlords to disclose bed bug infestations help combat the spread of the insects and protect the health of potential tenants. According to a new study, these laws also lead to cost ... read more

Dying Trees in Cities? Blame It on the Pavement

Mar. 4, 2019 — A new study of urban tree life in the Southeast shows pavement and concrete may have a bigger effect than longitudinal ... read more

How the Humble Marigold Outsmarts a Devastating Tomato Pest

Mar. 1, 2019 — Researchers carried out a study to prove what gardeners around the world have known for generations -- marigolds repel tomato ... read more

Feb. 28, 2019 — Temnothorax americanus is a slavemaking ant found in northeastern America. In a new study, biologists examined the special relationship between the parasites and their host and made an exciting ... read more

Feb. 27, 2019 — Spiders that pretend to be ants to fool predators have an unusual problem when it comes to sex. How do they get the attention of potential mates without breaking character to birds that want to eat ... read more

Medicating Mosquitoes to Fight Malaria

Feb. 27, 2019 — Mosquitoes that landed on surfaces coated with the anti-malarial compound atovaquone were completely blocked from developing Plasmodium falciparum, the parasite that causes malaria, according to new ... read more

Feb. 27, 2019 — Researchers on the remote forested island of Hauturu, New Zealand have compiled a staggering inventory of invertebrate biodiversity using DNA sequencing, adding a significant number of invertebrates ... read more

Packaging Insecticides in Tiny Capsules May Make Them More Toxic

Feb. 27, 2019 — Encasing insecticides in microscopic plastic capsules -- a common formulation for many pest sprays on the market -- could lead to unintended ... read more

Earning a Bee's Wings

Feb. 26, 2019 — When a honey bee turns 21 days old, she leaves the nest to look for pollen and nectar. For her, this is a moment of great risk, and great reward. It's also the moment at which she becomes ... read more

Nematode Odors Offer Possible Advantage in the Battle Against Insect Pests

Feb. 26, 2019 — Gardeners commonly use nematodes to naturally get rid of harmful soil-dwelling insects. A new study revealed that these insect-killing nematodes also produce distinctive chemical cues, which deter ... read more

Feb. 26, 2019 — Using CRISPR, scientists have carried out extensive work on a little-known yet effective weapon of the innate immune system, antimicrobial ... read more

Feb. 25, 2019 — Carabid beetles produce caustic chemicals they spray to defend themselves against predators, and the compound that protects their bodies from these toxic substances shows promise for use in ... read more

Monday, March 11, 2019
Thursday, March 7, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Friday, March 1, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Tuesday, February 26, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Friday, February 22, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Monday, February 18, 2019
Friday, February 15, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Friday, February 1, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Sunday, January 27, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Monday, January 21, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Friday, December 21, 2018
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com