advertisement
Food and Agriculture News
May 19, 2019

Top Headlines
 

New discoveries made at the Klasies River Cave in South Africa's southern Cape, where charred food remains from hearths were found, provide the first archaeological evidence ... read more

Organic Animal Farms Benefit Birds Nesting in Agricultural Environments

Environmental subsidies for agriculture awarded by the European Union aim to improve biodiversity in agricultural environments. A recently completed Finnish study indicates that the proximity of ... read more
A new study reveals the loss of plant diversity harms the humble bumblebee at a critical stage in its development from egg ... read more
Do you find that most store-bought tomatoes don't have much flavor? Scientists may have spotlighted the solution by developing the tomato pan-genome, mapping almost 5,000 ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 4:52am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Soy Protein Lowers Cholesterol, Study Suggests

With the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) planning to remove soy from its list of heart healthy foods, researchers set out to provide a meta-analysis of 46 existing trials that evaluated soy and ... read more

First they mapped the genome of wheat; now they have reconstructed its breeding history. Scientists have examined the genetic diversity of wheat varieties in the WHEALBI study. By doing so, they ... read more

Climate Extremes: Impact on Global Crop Yield Variations

Climate extremes, such as drought, heatwaves, heavy precipitation and more are responsible for 18 to 43 percent of variation in crop yields for maize, spring wheat, rice and soybeans. according to a ... read more

Working to understand the genetics of peanut disease resistance and yield, researchers led by scientists at the University of Georgia have uncovered the peanut's unlikely and complicated ... read more

Mathematician's Breakthrough on Non-Toxic Pest Control

Breakthrough 'gene silencing' technique uses naturally occurring soil bacteria to kill specific crop-destroying pests without harming other insects or the environment. Non-toxic pest ... read more

Do Additives Help the Soil?

A researcher is using her latest study to question whether soil additives are worth their salt. Despite a decades-long practice, there could be environmental consequences of adding bio-fertilizers ... read more

The Hunger Gaps: How Flowering Times Affect Farmland Bees

For the very first time, researchers have measured farmland nectar supplies throughout the whole year and revealed hungry gaps when food supply is not meeting pollinator demand. This novel finding ... read more

Recent flooding in the Midwest has brought attention to the complex agricultural problems associated with too much rain. Data from the past three decades suggest that excessive rainfall can affect ... read more

Bees exposed to a neonicotinoid pesticide fly only a third of the distance that unexposed bees are able to achieve. Flight behavior is crucial for determining how bees forage, so reduced flight ... read more

Planting and growing a strategic mix of cover crops not only reduces the loss of nitrogen from farm fields, protecting water quality in the Chesapeake Bay, but the practice also contributes nitrogen ... read more

For scores of wild bee species, females and males visit very different flowers for food -- a discovery that could be important for conservation efforts. Indeed, the diets of female and male bees of ... read more

Sustainable Way to Increase Seed Oil Yield in Crops

Scientists have developed a sustainable way to demonstrate a new genetic modification that can increase the yield of natural oil in seeds by up to 15% in laboratory ... read more

Low-Calorie Sweetener Derived from Lactose Gets Manufacturing Boost from Yeast

The quest to satisfy the sweet tooth without adding to the waistline has a new weapon in its arsenal: a strain of yeast that can metabolize lactose, the sugar in dairy products, into tagatose, a ... read more

Pollen Genes Mutate Naturally in Only Some Strains of Corn

Pollen genes mutate naturally in only some strains of corn, according to research that helps explain the genetic instability in certain strains and may lead to better breeding of corn and other ... read more

Farmers can't predict their annual corn harvest with certainty, but with the help of new research, they can now pinpoint specific parts of their fields that consistently produce either good or ... read more

Substituting Healthy Plant Proteins for Red Meat Lowers Risk for Heart Disease

Diets that replaced red meat with healthy plant proteins led to decreases in risk factors for cardiovascular disease (CVD), according to a new study. The study is the first meta-analysis of ... read more

Genetic Breakthrough on Tropical Grass Could Help Develop Climate-Friendly Cattle Farms

Researchers have shown that Brachiaria grass species can reduce greenhouse gas emissions from cattle and increase productivity -- and breeding improved varieties can potentially augment the ... read more

International Team Decodes the Durum Wheat Genome

An international consortium has sequenced the entire genome of durum wheat -- the source of semolina for pasta, a food staple for the world's ... read more

Just How Much Does Enhancing Photosynthesis Improve Crop Yield?

In the next two decades, crop yields need to increase dramatically to feed the growing global population. Wouldn't it be incredibly useful if we had a crystal ball to show us what are the best ... read more

Beer and Fodder Crop Has Been Deteriorating for 6,000 Years

The diversity of the crop sorghum, a cereal used to make alcoholic drinks, has been decreasing over time due to agricultural practice. To maintain the diversity of the crop and keep it growing ... read more

Monday, May 6, 2019
Friday, May 3, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Monday, April 29, 2019
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Saturday, April 20, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Tuesday, April 9, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Friday, April 5, 2019
Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Monday, April 1, 2019
Friday, March 29, 2019
Thursday, March 28, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Monday, March 11, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Friday, March 1, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Saturday, February 16, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Saturday, February 2, 2019
Friday, February 1, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Friday, January 4, 2019

http://www.vxiaotou.com