advertisement
Food News
February 22, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 6:53am EST

More Food News
February 22, 2019

Researchers Explore an Often Ignored Source of Greenhouse Gas

Feb. 21, 2019 — Researchers have discovered a surprising new source of carbon dioxide emissions -- bicarbonates hidden in the lake water used to irrigate local ... read more

Oldest Americans Most Focused on Reducing Food Waste

Feb. 14, 2019 — The vast majority of Americans are paying attention to reducing food waste with the oldest being the most cognizant, according to the latest ... read more

More Scrutiny Needed for Less-Deadly Foodborne Bacteria

Feb. 13, 2019 — Employing advanced genetic-tracing techniques and sharing the data produced in real time could limit the spread of bacteria -- Bacillus cereus -- which cause foodborne illness, according to ... read more

Grocery-Store Based Nutrition Education Improves Eating Habits

Feb. 11, 2019 — Hypertension affects over 60 million adults in the United States and less than half have their condition under control. A new study found that grocery store-based nutrition counseling was effective ... read more

Seafood Mislabelling Persistent Throughout Supply Chain, Study Finds

Feb. 7, 2019 — Researchers examined 203 samples from 12 key targeted species collected from various importers, processing plants and retailers in Ontario. Of the samples, 141 were from retailers, 51 from importers ... read more

More Than Enough on Our Plates

Feb. 6, 2019 — Researchers in the United Kingdom have worked with independent retailers in the take-away sector to try and make food healthier -- in the first instance, working with independent fish and chip shops. ... read more

Prehistoric Food Globalization Spanned Three Millennia

Feb. 6, 2019 — Prehistoric peasant farmers struggling to put more food on the table fueled the global spread of some of the world's first and most important domesticated grain crops beginning as early as 7,000 ... read more

A Taste for Fat May Have Made Us Human

Feb. 5, 2019 — A new article argues that early human ancestors acquired a taste for fat long before they began hunting for meat by scavenging marrow from the skeletal remains of large ... read more

Fruit and Vegetables May Be Important for Mental as Well as Physical Well-Being

Feb. 5, 2019 — Researchers have analyzed data from more than 40,000 people in the UK, and found that changes in fruit and vegetable consumption are correlated with changes in mental ... read more

Catching Flies With Vinegar

Feb. 5, 2019 — Taste is so familiar a sensation that you might think scientists had long ago sorted out how the sense works. Yet such research is far from ... read more

Flaxseed Fiber Ferments in Gut to Improve Health, Reduce Obesity

Feb. 5, 2019 — Research in mice suggests that fermentation of flaxseed fibers in the gut changes the microbiota to improve metabolic health and protect against diet-induced ... read more

Feb. 4, 2019 — A team has found that early spring rainfall warms up a thawing permafrost bog in Alaska and promotes the growth of plants and methane-producing ... read more

Quality of Overall Diet Is Key to Lowering Type 2 Diabetes Risk

Feb. 4, 2019 — New research shows that a high-quality diet defined by low intake of animal foods such as red meat, and high intake of plant foods such as vegetables, fruits and whole grains, and reduced intake of ... read more

Feb. 1, 2019 — When it comes to processing coffee beans, longer fermentation times can result in better taste, contrary to conventional wisdom. Lactic acid bacteria play an important, positive role in this process. ... read more

Jan. 31, 2019 — Rapeseed doesn't just contain oil but high-quality protein, too. However, protein extracts from rapeseed have an intense, bitter off-taste. Researchers have now identified the substance that is ... read more

Jan. 31, 2019 — Endangered species of hammerhead and dogfish are among the sharks being sold as food in the UK, researchers have ... read more

Some Gut Cells Slow Down Metabolism, Accelerate Cardiovascular Disease

Jan. 30, 2019 — Researchers have discovered how specific cells in the guts of mice slow down metabolism and eventually contribute to obesity, diabetes, hypertension and atherosclerosis. The findings, scientists say, ... read more

Calorie Restriction Prevents Asthma Symptoms Linked to Inflammation in Mice

Jan. 30, 2019 — Experimenting with mice, researchers report that a low-calorie diet prevented asthma symptoms regardless of the diet's fat and sugar content. The researchers also say they found that obesity ... read more

Want Healthier Eating Habits? Start With a Workout

Jan. 30, 2019 — Researchers have found that formerly sedentary young adults who were instructed to exercise regularly for several weeks started choosing healthier foods without being asked ... read more

A 'Greener' Way to Take the Bitterness out of Olives

Jan. 30, 2019 — Olives are staples of the Mediterranean diet, which has been linked to a reduced incidence of cardiovascular disease, Alzheimer's disease and other conditions. However, freshly picked olives are ... read more

Thursday, February 21, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Friday, February 1, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Friday, January 18, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Friday, January 4, 2019
Thursday, January 3, 2019
Thursday, December 27, 2018
Wednesday, December 26, 2018
Friday, December 21, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Friday, December 7, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Wednesday, November 21, 2018
Monday, November 19, 2018
Friday, November 16, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Tuesday, November 13, 2018
Monday, November 12, 2018
Friday, November 9, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com