advertisement
Fisheries News
May 22, 2019

Top Headlines
 

Nutrition: Substantial Benefit from Replacing Steak With Fish

Consumers will gain a health benefit from substituting part of the red and processed meat in their diet with fish, according to new calculations. Men over 50 and women of childbearing age in ... read more
The deep sea is home to fish species that can detect various wavelengths of light in near-total darkness. Unlike other vertebrates, they have several genes for the ... read more
Global warming has caused twice as many ocean-dwelling species as land-dwelling species to disappear from their habitats, a unique study found. The greater vulnerability of ... read more
The discovery of dozens of pregnant giant devil rays tangled in fishing nets in a village along Mexico's Gulf of California could mean the endangered species has a previously ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 5:21am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Fish Biology: How the Cytoplasm Separates from the Yolk

The segregation of yolk from the surrounding cytoplasm in the very early fish embryo is a key process for the development of the fish larva. Researchers found that actin dynamics in the bulk of the ... read more

Breaking Bread With Rivals Leads to More Fish on Coral Reefs

When fishermen and women communicate with their fisher rivals, and cooperate over local environmental problems, they can improve the quality and quantity of fish on coral reefs. The study advances a ... read more

Marine Scientists Investigate the Relationship Between Bumphead Parrotfish and Their Coral Reef Habitat on a Molecular Level

The next time you find yourself luxuriating in some exotic, Instagrammable vacation spot, thank a parrotfish. That white sand slithering between your toes? It consists mostly of their ... read more

In the wild and in the lab, researchers find a relationship between higher water temperature and a lower percentage of female flounder, a cause for ... read more

Ocean acidification could have serious consequences for the millions of people globally whose lives depend on coastal protection, fisheries and aquaculture, a new publication ... read more

Maximizing Conservation Benefits

Overexploitation and population collapse pose significant threats to marine fish stocks across the globe. While certain fish populations have already collapsed, research indicates that nearly one ... read more

Freshwater Fish Species Richness Has Increased in Ohio River Basin Since '60s

The taxonomic and trophic composition of freshwater fishes in the Ohio River Basin has changed significantly in recent decades, possibly due to environmental modifications related to land use and ... read more

Can We Solve the Riddle of the Coral Reef Halos?

Patches of coral reef are often surrounded by very large 'halos' of bare sand that are hundreds to thousands of square meters. New research sheds light on these enigmatic features that are ... read more

Group Decisions: When More Information Isn't Necessarily Better

Modular -- or cliquey -- group structure isolates the flow of communication between individuals, which might seem counterproductive to survival. But for some animal groups, more information ... read more

Preliminary Study Suggests Mercury Not a Risk in Dog Foods

Researchers recently investigated levels of methylmercury in a small sampling of commercial dog foods and found good news for dog owners. Of the 24 diets tested, only three were positive for low ... read more

Fish warn each other about danger by releasing chemicals into the water as a signal, research has ... read more

Ocean Currents Bring Good News for Reef Fish

A new study suggests reefs suffering coral bleaching can still be productive, as fish dependent on reefs get a bulk of their food delivered via the currents flowing ... read more

2018 was the worst year for red tide in more than a decade. A new study reveals what made it so ... read more

Sharks More Vulnerable Than Originally Thought

A new study reveals in excess of 2.5 million sharks are caught annually in the South West Indian Ocean - 73% more than officially reported. Experts say that similar underreporting is happening in ... read more

Fishy Diagnostics for Food Allergy Testing

Scientists have found material commonly used for fish allergy testing is unreliable -- potentially putting lives at ... read more

When mitochondria become damaged, they avoid causing further problems by signaling cellular proteins to degrade them. In a new study, scientists report that they have discovered how the cells trigger ... read more

Bionics: Electric View in Murky Waters

When dealing with disasters or searching for objects, robots or drones with cameras are usually used. However, conventional cameras are of rather limited use in murky, dark water, such as in a sewage ... read more

A new study reveals that 97 per cent of the sharks and rays caught and brought to market domestically by fleets from the European, North African and Middle Eastern countries that surround the ... read more

Australian Murray River Habitat Restoration Increases Native Fish Populations

Dubbed the 'honeypot effect' -- a team of scientists from around Australia have shown that providing woody habitat, or 'snags,' for native fish in the Murray River increases their ... read more

Federal Subsidies for US Commercial Fisheries Should Be Rejected, Analysis Concludes

A pending rule change proposed by the US National Marine Fisheries Service would allow the use of public funds to underwrite low-interest loans for the construction of new commercial fishing vessels. ... read more

Thursday, May 9, 2019
Friday, May 3, 2019
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Friday, April 26, 2019
Thursday, April 25, 2019
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Monday, April 22, 2019
Thursday, April 18, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Friday, April 12, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019
Tuesday, April 9, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Friday, April 5, 2019
Thursday, April 4, 2019
Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Monday, April 1, 2019
Thursday, March 28, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Friday, March 22, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Thursday, March 7, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Friday, February 22, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Friday, January 25, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Friday, January 18, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Thursday, January 3, 2019
Wednesday, December 26, 2018
Friday, December 21, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Friday, December 7, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com