advertisement
Extreme Survival News
June 26, 2019

Top Headlines
 

A new study suggests vents in the seafloor may affect life near the ocean's surface and the global carbon cycle more than previously thought. It's the first to show how iron ... read more
A mass die-off of seabirds in the Bering Sea may be partially attributable to climate change, according to a ... read more
A rover scanning the surface of Mars for evidence of life might want to check for rocks that look like pasta, researchers report. The bacterium that controls the formation of ... read more
New research reveals that low oxygen is required for proper development ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 9:52am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Animals May Have More Than One Means of Surviving Hypoxia

A tidepool crustacean's ability to survive oxygen deprivation though it lacks a key set of genes raises the possibility that animals might have more ways of dealing with hypoxic environments ... read more

When Macrophages Are Deprived of Oxygen

Infected tissue has a low concentration of oxygen. The body's standard immune mechanisms, which rely on oxygen, can then only function to a limited extent. How does the immune system ... read more

Researchers have found that the enzyme responsible for the methane-methanol conversion in methanotrophic bacteria catalyzes the reaction at a site that contains just one copper ion. This finding ... read more

Radioactive carbon released into the atmosphere from 20th-century nuclear bomb tests has reached the deepest parts of the ocean, a new study finds. Crustaceans in deep ocean trenches have ... read more

Genetic Adaptation to Climate Change

New research has shown that the threat of range losses for some species as a result of climate change could be overestimated because of the ability of certain animals to adapt to rising temperatures ... read more

Deep-Ocean Creatures Living a 'Feast-or-Famine' Existence Because of Energy Fluxes

Scientists for the first time have tracked how much energy from plants and animals at the surface of the open ocean survives as particles drop to the seafloor more than two miles below, where they ... read more

Holy Pleistocene Batman, the Answer's in the Cave

Examining a 3-meter stack of bat feces has shed light on the landscape of the ancient continent of Sundaland. The research could help explain the biodiversity of present-day Borneo, Sumatra, and ... read more

Global Warming Hits Sea Creatures Hardest

Global warming has caused twice as many ocean-dwelling species as land-dwelling species to disappear from their habitats, a unique study found. The greater vulnerability of sea creatures may ... read more

Researchers Reveal How Bacteria Can Adapt to Resist Treatment by Antibiotics

New research shows that bacteria produce a specific stress molecule, divide more slowly, and thus save energy when they are exposed to antibiotics. The new knowledge is expected to form the basis for ... read more

Antimicrobial Paints Have a Blind Spot

Researchers tested bacteria commonly found inside homes on samples of drywall coated with antimicrobial, synthetic latex paints. Within 24 hours, all bacteria died except for Bacillus timonensis, a ... read more

Plants and Microbes Shape Global Biomes Through Local Underground Alliances

Researchers report that the distribution of forest types worldwide is based on the relationships plant species forged with soil microbes to enhance their uptake of nutrients. These symbioses could ... read more

We Now Know How Insects and Bacteria Control Ice

Scientists show how key proteins produced in bacteria and insects can either promote or inhibit the formation of ice, based on their length and their ability to team up to form large ice-binding ... read more

Unique Oil-Eating Bacteria Found in World's Deepest Ocean Trench, Mariana Trench

Research that reveals what lies at the bottom of the deepest part of the ocean -- the Mariana Trench. Until now, scientists knew more about Mars than the deepest part of the ocean. But an expedition ... read more

Oral Bacteria 'Battle Royale' Helps Explain How a Pathogen Causes Hospital Infections

Researchers have found that that three closely related species of bacteria belonging to the family Enterobacteriaceae outlived all other oral bacteria in long-term starvation or 'doomsday' ... read more

Long-Lived Bats Could Hold Secrets to Mammal Longevity

Researchers analyzed an evolutionary tree reconstructed from the DNA of a majority of known bat species and found four bat lineages that exhibit extreme longevity. They also identified, for the first ... read more

Giant Antarctic Sea Spiders Weather Warming by Getting Holey

Scientists have wondered for decades why marine animals that live in the polar oceans and the deep sea can reach giant sizes there, but nowhere else. Zoologists went to Antarctica to test the ... read more

Using Bacteria to Protect Roads from Deicer Deterioration

Special bacteria that help form limestone and marble could soon have a new job on a road crew. Recent research shows how the bacteria, called Sporosarcina pasteurii, can be used to prevent the road ... read more

All Microbes and Fungi on the International Space Station Catalogued

A comprehensive catalogue of the bacteria and fungi found on surfaces inside the International Space Station (ISS) is being presented in a study published in the open-access journal ... read more

Compass Orientation of a Migratory Bat Species Depends on Sunset Direction

Scientists combined a mirror experiment simulating a different direction of the setting sun and a new test procedure to measure orientation behavior in bats to understand the role of the sun's ... read more

Deep Microbes' Key Contribution to Earth's Carbon Cycle

Hydrocarbons play key roles in atmospheric and biogeochemistry, the energy economy, and climate change. Most hydrocarbons form in anaerobic environments through high temperature or microbial ... read more

Thursday, June 20, 2019
Friday, May 24, 2019
Thursday, May 9, 2019
Wednesday, May 8, 2019
Monday, May 6, 2019
Friday, April 26, 2019
Thursday, April 25, 2019
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Thursday, April 18, 2019
Wednesday, April 17, 2019
Friday, April 12, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019
Wednesday, April 10, 2019
Tuesday, April 9, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Thursday, April 4, 2019
Thursday, March 28, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Monday, March 18, 2019
Thursday, March 7, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Tuesday, March 5, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Friday, February 22, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Friday, January 25, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Friday, January 11, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Friday, December 21, 2018
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Sunday, November 25, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Tuesday, November 13, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Friday, October 26, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Tuesday, October 16, 2018
Monday, October 15, 2018
Thursday, October 11, 2018
Thursday, October 4, 2018
Tuesday, October 2, 2018
Monday, October 1, 2018
Thursday, September 27, 2018
Wednesday, September 26, 2018
Tuesday, September 25, 2018
Tuesday, September 18, 2018
Monday, September 17, 2018
Wednesday, September 12, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com