advertisement
Extinction News
March 21, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 5:54pm EDT

More Extinction News
March 21, 2019

Mar. 18, 2019 — A study into the effectiveness of disinfecting birds' nests has led to a breakthrough in the understanding of biosecuity measures for the endangered echo parakeet in Mauritius. The research team ... read more

Mar. 12, 2019 — New study on an owl's re-colonization of northern ... read more

UK Wild Newt Species Free from Flesh-Eating Fungus for Now...

Mar. 12, 2019 — The UK's wild newt populations seem to be free from a flesh-eating lethal fungus known to be prevalent in privately-owned amphibians across Western Europe, a nationwide investigation has ... read more

Mar. 11, 2019 — Using a combination of advanced satellite imaging and over 20 years of coral monitoring across the Reef, a team of researchers has found that chronic exposure to poor water quality is limiting the ... read more

Mar. 11, 2019 — During surveys in the Upper Guinea forest zone of Liberia and Guinea, scientists discovered snakes later identified as a new to science species. It belongs to the stiletto snakes, spectacular for ... read more

Coral Reef Parks Protecting Only 40 Percent of Fish Biomass Potential

Mar. 7, 2019 — Marine scientists examining the ecological status of coral reefs across the Indian and Pacific oceans have uncovered an unsettling fact: even the best coral reef marine parks contain less than half ... read more

In Developing Nations, National Parks Could Save Endangered Species

Mar. 7, 2019 — A new study of animal populations inside and outside a protected area in Senegal, Niokolo-Koba National Park, shows that protecting such an area from human interaction and development preserves not ... read more

Mar. 7, 2019 — Ecologists and local fishing populations may perceive major environmental shifts in fundamentally different ... read more

Insects in Decline: On Farmland, Latecomers Lose out

Mar. 7, 2019 — Wild bees in Europe are in trouble -- more than 50 percent of local species are now classified as endangered. Recent findings indicate that, in farming areas, species that emerge in late summer are ... read more

Crucial Milestone for Critically Endangered Bird

Mar. 7, 2019 — A team led by a conservation biologist has successfully relocated threatened Seychelles paradise flycatchers (Terpsiphone corvina) to a different island to help prevent their extinction. Four females ... read more

Fish Diversity Linked to Caribbean Coral Reef Health

Mar. 6, 2019 — The health of coral reefs can be impacted as much by the diversity of fish that graze on them as by the amount of fish that do so, according to a new study. In the paper, the researchers untangle and ... read more

Disrupting Wolf Movement May Be More Effective at Protecting Caribou

Mar. 6, 2019 — Researchers used motion-triggered cameras to capture photographs of wolves, caribou, and other wildlife species in the Canadian Oil Sands to study the habitat use patterns of these animals and test ... read more

Mar. 6, 2019 — Dinosaurs were unaffected by long-term climate changes and flourished before their sudden demise by asteroid strike, according to new ... read more

Mar. 5, 2019 — Scientists are puzzling out how to address the declining numbers of northern spotted owls (NSO) in their Pacific Northwest forest habitat. A new study explores the reasons why spotted owls are losing ... read more

Mar. 4, 2019 — New research has found that despite the low density of the desert yellowhead -- there are fewer than 15,000 individual plants scattered across just 55 acres -- these populations survive partly ... read more

Mar. 4, 2019 — Fossilized bones that appear to have been digested by crocodiles in the Cayman Islands have revealed three new species and subspecies of mammal that roamed the island more than 300 years ... read more

Mar. 4, 2019 — Rapid population and economic growth are destroying biodiversity. A growing demand for agricultural products requires ever new cultivated areas. Even though technological advances are making ... read more

Mar. 4, 2019 — How can a species split into several new species if they still live close to each other and are able to interbreed? Using a group of Caribbean reef fishes as a model system, a team of scientists has ... read more

Alien Species Are Primary Cause of Recent Global Extinctions

Mar. 3, 2019 — Alien species are the main driver of recent extinctions in both animals and plants, according to a new study. Scientists found that since 1500, alien species have been solely responsible for 126 ... read more

Mar. 1, 2019 — Scientists in Panama explored the compounds produced by frog skin bacteria as potential novel antifungal sources for the benefit of humans and ... read more

Monday, March 18, 2019
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Monday, March 11, 2019
Thursday, March 7, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Tuesday, March 5, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Sunday, March 3, 2019
Friday, March 1, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Tuesday, February 26, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Friday, February 22, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Monday, February 18, 2019
Sunday, February 17, 2019
Friday, February 15, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Saturday, February 2, 2019
Friday, February 1, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Friday, January 25, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Monday, January 21, 2019
Saturday, January 19, 2019
Friday, January 18, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019

http://www.vxiaotou.com