advertisement
Extinction News
January 20, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 10:54pm EST

More Extinction News
January 20, 2019

Mediterranean Freshwater Fish Species Susceptible to Climate Change

Jan. 18, 2019 — Climate change will strongly affect many European freshwater fish species. This is particularly the case for species in the Mediterranean ... read more

History of North African Date Palm

Jan. 14, 2019 — Genome analysis reveals that North African date palms are a hybrid between cultivated date palms from the Middle East and a different, wild species of palm that grows on the island of Crete and in ... read more

Jan. 8, 2019 — Mega-dams should not be built in lowland tropical forest regions due to the threat they pose to biodiversity and ecosystems, according to ... read more

Jan. 7, 2019 — An international team of scientists, involving entomologists, conservation biologists, agro-ecologists and geographers, has just revealed how on-farm biological control can slow the pace of tropical ... read more

Forest Soundscapes Monitor Conservation Efforts Inexpensively, Effectively

Jan. 3, 2019 — Recordings of the sounds in tropical forests could unlock secrets about biodiversity and aid conservation efforts around the world, according to a new ... read more

Jan. 3, 2019 — Timber rattlesnakes, according to the study's author, are among the most docile creatures in Appalachia. They choose places to hibernate that are more likely to be surface mined due to their ... read more

Jan. 3, 2019 — A dazzling new species of treefrog was discovered at a remote tabletop mountain in the Ecuadorian Andes. The new species has an extraordinary characteristic, the presence of claw-like appendages at ... read more

Historical Genomes Reveal Recent Changes in Genetic Health of Eastern Gorillas

Dec. 27, 2018 — The critically endangered Grauer's gorilla has recently lost genetic diversity and has experienced an increase in harmful mutations, according to researchers who sequenced 11 genomes from ... read more

Dec. 25, 2018 — Scientists have long struggled to explain how tropical forests can maintain their staggering diversity of trees without having a handful of species take over -- or having many other species die out. ... read more

Wildlife Struggle to Cope With Extreme Weather

Dec. 21, 2018 — The mass death of flying foxes in extreme heat in North Queensland last month underscores the importance of wildlife research released today. The new research sheds light on how various species have ... read more

The Idiosyncratic Mammalian Diversification After Extinction of the Dinosaurs

Dec. 20, 2018 — Researchers state that many mammals lineages coexisted with the dinosaurs before the end-Cretaceous mass extinction. Although many species of mammals also disappeared in the extinction event, several ... read more

Dec. 19, 2018 — Over 450 millipedes, fossilized in 100-million-year-old Burmese amber, were recently discovered by a research team. Using micro-CT technology, the scientists identified 13 out of the 16 main groups ... read more

Optimizing Restoration Can Deliver an Eightfold Increase in Cost-Effectiveness

Dec. 18, 2018 — A new study presents a novel approach to identify optimal priority areas for restoration, considering multiple criteria such as biodiversity conservation, climate change mitigation and reduction of ... read more

Hurricane Maria Gave Ecologists Rare Chance to Study How Tropical Dry Forests Recover

Dec. 18, 2018 — To counteract the damage hurricanes have caused to their canopies, trees appear to adjust key characteristics of their newly grown leaves, according to a year-long field ... read more

Dec. 18, 2018 — Wild animals are increasingly exploited for entertainment and photo opportunities. A new study highlights that tourists in Morocco object to the use of barbary macaques as photo props, raising ... read more

Dec. 13, 2018 — Queensland's coastal shark numbers are continuing a 50-year decline, in sharp contradiction of suggestions of 'exploding' shark populations, according to a new analysis. Researchers ... read more

Dec. 12, 2018 — A new study is starting to unravel that mystery. Researchers found that the soundscape of a reef -- the combined sounds of all animals living nearby -- might play a major role in steering corals ... read more

Butterflies: Fallen Through the Net?

Dec. 12, 2018 — Using long-term data from the ''Butterfly Monitoring Germany'' citizens' research project, scientists have now investigated the matter using butterflies as an example. ... read more

Dec. 12, 2018 — Many fish produce sounds for courtship and mating, navigation, and defending their territories. Scientists analyze these sounds to study their behavior such as reproduction. Since grouper spawning is ... read more

A Future for Red Wolves May Be Found on Galveston Island, Texas

Dec. 11, 2018 — Red wolves, once nearly extinct, again teeter on the abyss. New research finds red wolf ancestry in Texas -- providing opportunities for additional conservation action and difficult policy ... read more

Friday, January 18, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Thursday, January 3, 2019
Thursday, December 27, 2018
Tuesday, December 25, 2018
Friday, December 21, 2018
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Friday, December 7, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018
Friday, November 23, 2018
Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Friday, November 16, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Tuesday, November 13, 2018
Monday, November 12, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Friday, November 2, 2018
Thursday, November 1, 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Friday, October 26, 2018
Thursday, October 25, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com