advertisement
Evolutionary Biology News
January 20, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 9:54pm EST

More Evolutionary Biology News
January 20, 2019

History of North African Date Palm

Jan. 14, 2019 — Genome analysis reveals that North African date palms are a hybrid between cultivated date palms from the Middle East and a different, wild species of palm that grows on the island of Crete and in ... read more

Herpes Viruses and Tumors Evolved to Learn How to Manipulate the Same Ancient RNA

Jan. 14, 2019 — Herpes viral infections use the ancient genetic material found in the human genome to proliferate, mimicking the same process tumors have been found to manipulate, Mount Sinai researchers have shown ... read more

Variable Venom: Why Are Some Snakes Deadlier Than Others?

Jan. 8, 2019 — By comparing records of venom potency and quantity for over 100 venomous snake species, researchers have discovered that the potency of a snake's venom depends on what it ... read more

Jan. 7, 2019 — According to a new study that looked at 10 species of vertebrates, evolution used a kind of universal formula for turning non-monogamous species into monogamous species -- turning up the activity of ... read more

Jan. 3, 2019 — For most of the 20th century, scientists believed that the reproductive incompatibility between species evolved gradually as a by-product of adapting to different environments. New research has shown ... read more

Fruit Flies Help to Shed Light on the Evolution of Metabolism

Jan. 3, 2019 — Researchers have discovered that the ability to use sugar as food varies strongly between closely related fruit fly species. They have also identified the genetic basis of this variation. In the ... read more

'Time Is Ripe' to Use Big Data for Planet-Sized Plant Questions

Jan. 1, 2019 — Scientists have issued a 'call to action' to use big data to tackle longstanding questions about plant diversity and evolution and forecast how plant life will fare on an increasingly ... read more

Historical Genomes Reveal Recent Changes in Genetic Health of Eastern Gorillas

Dec. 27, 2018 — The critically endangered Grauer's gorilla has recently lost genetic diversity and has experienced an increase in harmful mutations, according to researchers who sequenced 11 genomes from ... read more

Howler Monkey Study Examines Mechanisms of New Species Formation

Dec. 22, 2018 — A new study of interbreeding between two species of howler monkeys in Mexico is yielding insights into the forces that drive the evolution of new ... read more

Genetics of California Mountain Lions: Research to Inform Future Conservation

Dec. 21, 2018 — Mountain lions in California exhibited strong population genetic structure, and some California populations had extremely low levels of genetic diversity, with some exhibiting estimates as low as the ... read more

Female Penises Evolved Twice in Bark Lice

Dec. 21, 2018 — In a group of bark lice, a penis has evolved twice -- in the females. In their nutrient-scarce environment, 'seminal gifts' are an incentive for females to force mating, leading to the ... read more

Genetic Study Reveals How Citrus Became the Med's Favorite Squeeze

Dec. 20, 2018 — Genetic detective work has illuminated the important role of Jewish culture in the widespread adoption of citrus fruit by early Mediterranean ... read more

Dec. 19, 2018 — Over 450 millipedes, fossilized in 100-million-year-old Burmese amber, were recently discovered by a research team. Using micro-CT technology, the scientists identified 13 out of the 16 main groups ... read more

Stick Insects: Egg-Laying Techniques Reveal New Evolutionary Map

Dec. 19, 2018 — Scientists have created the best map of stick-insect evolution to date by combining DNA analysis and knowledge of their varied egg-laying techniques. The first stick insects flicked or dropped their ... read more

Dec. 18, 2018 — Scientists look to fossils and evolutionary trees to help determine the rate of evolution -- albeit with conflicting results. A new model has helped to resolve these ... read more

Mysteries of the Primrose Unraveled

Dec. 18, 2018 — Plant scientists have succeeded in unraveling the complete genome sequence of the common primrose -- the plant whose reproductive biology captivated the Victorian naturalist Charles Darwin. The ... read more

How Much Are We Learning About the Genome? Natural Selection Is Science's Best Critic

Dec. 18, 2018 — Even as they've struggled to highlight parts of the human genome worth investigating, scientists have wondered how much they're actually learning through the methods they use. Now, two ... read more

Dec. 17, 2018 — Scientists offer novel insights into why and how wind-pollinated plants have evolved from insect-pollinated ancestors, and what it might mean for a potential pollination crisis. They found that ... read more

Dec. 14, 2018 — Scientists have performed one of the largest comparative genomic studies to help determine the key molecular and evolutionary origins of mammalian adaptations seen in skin ... read more

New Techniques Better Determine How Ancient Viral DNA Influences Human Genes

Dec. 13, 2018 — New laboratory techniques can identify which of our genes are influenced by DNA snippets that are left behind in our genetic code by ... read more

Monday, January 14, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Thursday, January 3, 2019
Tuesday, January 1, 2019
Thursday, December 27, 2018
Saturday, December 22, 2018
Friday, December 21, 2018
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018
Friday, December 14, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Friday, December 7, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018
Friday, November 23, 2018
Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Monday, November 19, 2018
Saturday, November 17, 2018
Friday, November 16, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Tuesday, November 13, 2018
Monday, November 12, 2018
Saturday, November 10, 2018
Friday, November 9, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Friday, November 2, 2018
Thursday, November 1, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com