advertisement
Endangered Plants News
May 22, 2019

Top Headlines
 

Breakthrough Technique for Studying Gene Expression Takes Root in Plants

An open-source RNA analysis platform has been successfully used on plant cells for the first time -- a breakthrough that could herald a new era of fundamental research and bolster efforts to engineer ... read more
If the temperature is too high, potato plants form significantly lower numbers of tubers. Biochemists have now discovered the reason why. If the temperature rises, a ... read more
A new study has identified three factors critical in the rise of mammal communities since they first emerged during the Age ... read more
While many scientists are focused on the decline of honey bees, relatively few study bumble bees. The good news is that a new study provides an estimate on bumble bee ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 4:52am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

No Yield Benefit to Higher Plant Populations

Scientists have reviewed plant population studies published in 2000 or later. They found that yield is optimized at about 15,000 plants per acre (1.1 seed per foot in 40-inch rows), and contrary to ... read more

Role of Cover Crops in Slowing Herbicide Resistance

A new article shows that cover crops can play an important role in slowing the development of herbicide-resistant ... read more

If plants are injured, cells adjacent to the wound fill the gaps with their daughter cells. However, which cells divide to do the healing and how they manage to produce cells that match the cell type ... read more

Mathematician's Breakthrough on Non-Toxic Pest Control

Breakthrough 'gene silencing' technique uses naturally occurring soil bacteria to kill specific crop-destroying pests without harming other insects or the environment. Non-toxic pest ... read more

The Hunger Gaps: How Flowering Times Affect Farmland Bees

For the very first time, researchers have measured farmland nectar supplies throughout the whole year and revealed hungry gaps when food supply is not meeting pollinator demand. This novel finding ... read more

Biochemists have discovered two ways that autophagy, or self-eating, controls the levels of oils in plant cells. The study describes how this cannibalistic-sounding process actually helps plants ... read more

The leaves of date palms can heat up to temperatures around 50 degrees Celsius. They survive thanks to a unique wax mixture that is essential for the existence in the ... read more

Gene-Editing Technology May Produce Resistant Virus in Cassava Plant

The use of gene-editing technology to create virus-resistant cassava plants could have serious negative ramifications, according to new research by plant ... read more

Although pesticides are a standard part of crop production, researchers now believe pesticide use could be reduced by taking cues from wild ... read more

Ancient Secrets of Medicinal Mint

The precious chemistry of a plant used for 2000 years in traditional Chinese medicine has been unlocked in a project that raises the prospect of rapid access to a wide array of therapeutic ... read more

New Chemical Tool to Block Endocytosis in Plants Identified

Plant cells absorb many important substances through a process called endocytosis. Researchers have now found a new chemical that blocks ... read more

Plant Signals Trigger Remarkable Bacterial Transformation

Cycad plant roots release signals into the soil that triggers the transformation of bacteria into its motile form, helping them move to the plant roots and establish a symbiotic ... read more

Sustainable Way to Increase Seed Oil Yield in Crops

Scientists have developed a sustainable way to demonstrate a new genetic modification that can increase the yield of natural oil in seeds by up to 15% in laboratory ... read more

Warming: Plants Are Also Stressed out

What will a three-degree-warmer world look like? When experiencing stress or damage from various sources, plants use chloroplast-to-nucleus communication to regulate gene expression and help them ... read more

Researchers report that the distribution of forest types worldwide is based on the relationships plant species forged with soil microbes to enhance their uptake of nutrients. These symbioses could ... read more

Scientists Crack the Code to Regenerate Plant Tissues

A group of scientists have discovered a new way to regenerate flowering plant tissues, opening possibilities of mitigating global food shortage ... read more

When it comes to stem cell management, all flowering plants work to maintain the same status quo. Researchers have now identified the various strategies plants use to preserve a single, essential ... read more

Knowing How Cells Grow and Divide Can Lead to More Robust and Productive Plants

In contrast to mammals, where the body plan is final at birth, the formation of new root branches ensures that the root system keeps growing throughout a plant's life. Scientists identified a ... read more

Researchers have developed a new algorithm to bolster what once were static models of root dynamics, providing researchers a clearer picture of what's really happening beneath the soil. The work ... read more

Brassica rapa plants pollinated by bumblebees evolve more attractive flowers. But this evolution is compromised if caterpillars attack the plant at the same time. With the bees pollinating them less ... read more

Tuesday, May 21, 2019
Monday, May 13, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Monday, April 29, 2019
Friday, April 26, 2019
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Saturday, April 20, 2019
Friday, April 19, 2019
Wednesday, April 17, 2019
Tuesday, April 16, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Friday, April 12, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019
Tuesday, April 9, 2019
Friday, April 5, 2019
Thursday, April 4, 2019
Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Monday, April 1, 2019
Friday, March 29, 2019
Thursday, March 28, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019
Friday, March 22, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Monday, March 18, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Thursday, March 7, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Sunday, March 3, 2019
Friday, March 1, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Tuesday, February 26, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Saturday, February 16, 2019
Friday, February 15, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Friday, February 1, 2019

http://www.vxiaotou.com