advertisement
Ecology Research News
June 17, 2019

Top Headlines
 

Yellowstone's migratory elk rely primarily on environmental cues, including a retreating snowline and the greening grasses of spring, to decide when to make the treks between ... read more
To study the impacts of invading predators, researchers used three lizard species: one curly-tailed predator and two prey ... read more
Researchers in Myanmar describe flooded elephant tracks as key breeding grounds and 'stepping stones' ... read more
New research suggests that feathers arose 100 million years before birds -- changing how we look at dinosaurs, birds, and pterosaurs, the ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 12:22pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Fracking Causes Some Songbirds to Thrive While Others Decline

A new study finds that some songbird species benefit from the spread of fracking infrastructure while others ... read more

Microorganisms on Microplastics

A recent study shows that that the potentially toxin-producing plankton species Pfiesteria piscicida prefers to colonize plastic particles, where they are found in 50 times higher densities than in ... read more

A new analysis shows that the world's protected areas (PAs) are experiencing major shortfalls in staffing and resources and are therefore failing on a massive scale to safeguard ... read more

Working Landscapes Can Support Diverse Bird Species

Privately-owned, fragmented forests in Costa Rica can support as many vulnerable bird species as can nearby nature reserves, according to a new study. Working with landowners to conserve or restore ... read more

Early Lives of Alaska Sockeye Salmon Accelerating With Climate Change

An ample buffet of freshwater food, brought on by climate change, is altering the life history of one of the world's most important salmon ... read more

Fear of 'Killer Shrimp' Could Pose Major Threat to European Rivers

The fear of invasive 'killer shrimp' can intimidate native organisms to such a degree that they are incapable of performing their vital role in river systems, a new study ... read more

Pop-Up Parks Deliver Big Benefits in Small Spaces

'Pop-up parks' represent one possible means to help meet the demands of urbanites for more opportunities to connect with nature in their neighborhoods, serve important conservation ... read more

Exotic Pets Can Become Pests With Risk of Invasion

In a new study, researchers gain further insight into the dynamics of the exotic pet trade and the role it plays in the introduction of invasive vertebrate populations across the ... read more

New Guinea is one of the only places in the world where frogs are safe from the chytrid fungus that has made more than 90 species extinct. An international team of scientists has published a new ... read more

Native Plant Species May Be at Greater Risk from Climate Change Than Non-Natives

Warming temperatures affect native and non-native flowering plants differently, which could change the look of local landscapes over time, according to new ... read more

How Habitat Loss Can Destabilize Ecosystems

An international study has revealed new evidence to help understand the consequences of habitat loss on natural ... read more

Over Half a Million Corals Destroyed by Port of Miami Dredging, Study Finds

New findings reveal significant damage to Miami's coral reefs from the 16-month dredging operation at the Port of Miami that began in 2013. The study found that sediment buried between half to ... read more

Godzilla first made his debut in 1954 as a 50-meter tall metaphor for indiscriminate destruction, particularly US hydrogen-bomb testing in the Marshall Islands, which, in the film, destroyed ... read more

Fossil Zooplankton Indicate That Marine Ecosystems Have Entered the Anthropocene

New research shows that the associations of marine plankton in the present are markedly different from those of pre-industrial ... read more

Using the Past to Unravel the Future for Arctic Wetlands

A new study has used partially fossilised plants and single-celled organisms to investigate the effects of climate change on the Canadian High Arctic wetlands and help predict their ... read more

Light at night might be convenient for humans, but it's having a detrimental effect on amphibian populations, according to new ... read more

Soil Communities Threatened by Destruction, Instability of Amazon Forests

A meta-analysis of nearly 300 studies of soil biodiversity in Amazonian forests found that the abundance, biomass, richness and diversity of soil fauna and microbes were reduced following ... read more

Preventing the introduction of the mosquitofish and removing its population are the most effective actions to control the dispersal of this exotic fish in ponds and lakes, according to a new ... read more

Conservation Goals Compete at the Expense of Biodiversity

With an ever-growing list of threats facing biodiversity on multiple scales, conservationists struggle to determine which to address. A common reaction is to prioritize their efforts on threats to ... read more

Wolf-Dog 'Swarms' Threaten Europe's Wolves

'Swarms' of wolf-dog crossbreeds could drive Europe's wolves out of existence, according to the lead author of new ... read more

Tuesday, June 11, 2019
Wednesday, June 5, 2019
Tuesday, June 4, 2019
Monday, June 3, 2019
Friday, May 31, 2019
Thursday, May 30, 2019
Tuesday, May 28, 2019
Friday, May 24, 2019
Thursday, May 23, 2019
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Tuesday, May 21, 2019
Monday, May 20, 2019
Friday, May 17, 2019
Thursday, May 16, 2019
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Tuesday, May 14, 2019
Friday, May 10, 2019
Thursday, May 9, 2019
Wednesday, May 8, 2019
Monday, May 6, 2019
Friday, May 3, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Friday, April 26, 2019
Thursday, April 25, 2019
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Thursday, April 18, 2019
Wednesday, April 17, 2019
Tuesday, April 16, 2019
Friday, April 12, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019
Tuesday, April 9, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Friday, April 5, 2019
Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Monday, April 1, 2019
Friday, March 29, 2019
Thursday, March 28, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019

http://www.vxiaotou.com