advertisement
Ecology Research News
April 25, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 1:24am EDT

More Ecology Research News
April 25, 2019

Astro-Ecology: Counting Orangutans Using Star-Spotting Technology

Apr. 9, 2019 — A groundbreaking scientific collaboration is harnessing technology used to study the luminosity of stars, to carry out detailed monitoring of orangutan populations in Borneo. Researchers came ... read more

Apr. 8, 2019 — A common species of freshwater green algae is capable of removing certain endocrine disrupting chemicals (EDCs) from wastewater, according to new research. Researchers explored the potential for use ... read more

Apr. 8, 2019 — Diversity beats monotony: a colourful patchwork of small, differently used plots can bring advantages to agriculture and ... read more

Apr. 5, 2019 — New research by a global team of scientists has resulted in significant strides in ornithological classification and identified possible causes of diversity among modern bird ... read more

Science-Based Guidelines for Building a Bee-Friendly Landscape

Apr. 5, 2019 — Many resources encourage homeowners and land care managers to create bee-friendly environments, but most of them include lists of recommended plants rarely backed by science. To rectify this, ... read more

Apr. 3, 2019 — There's little evidence that reintroducing top predators to ecosystems will return them to the conditions that existed before they were wiped out, according to new ... read more

Apr. 2, 2019 — Sea snakes, best known from shallow tropical waters, have been recorded swimming at 250 meters in the deep-sea 'twilight zone,' smashing the previous diving record of 133 meters held by sea ... read more

Apr. 2, 2019 — Loss and fragmentation of habitat are among the main reasons why biodiversity is decreasing in many places worldwide. Now, a research team has established that the destruction of habitat causes ... read more

Apr. 2, 2019 — One critically endangered species of smooth-shelled abalone is making a comeback in certain parts of its range along the California coast. To better understand the extent of black abalone recovery, a ... read more

Apr. 1, 2019 — In a new analysis of the effectiveness of marine protected areas worldwide, marine ecologists report that reserves not only replenish target fish populations, they also restore ecological ... read more

White Sharks Have High Levels of Mercury, Arsenic and Lead in Their Blood

Mar. 29, 2019 — Researchers found high concentrations of mercury, arsenic, and lead, in blood samples obtained from Great white sharks in South Africa. The samples had levels that would be considered toxic to many ... read more

Novel Methodological Tool Helps Detect Synergistic Phenomena in Phytoplankton Growth

Mar. 28, 2019 — Researchers have developed a new model allowing them to observe the key drivers of phytoplankton growth (blooms) patterns in the seas surrounding the United ... read more

Novel Insights Into Soil Biodiversity, Earth's Global Engine

Mar. 28, 2019 — New findings indicate changes in soil biodiversity are driven by changes in plant cover and soil acidification during ecosystem ... read more

Mar. 28, 2019 — An international study has found a fungal disease has caused dramatic population declines in more than 500 amphibian species, including 90 extinctions, over the past 50 ... read more

Mar. 28, 2019 — Increased human activity around one of Africa's most iconic ecosystems is 'squeezing the wildlife in its core', damaging habitation and disrupting the migration routes of wildebeest, ... read more

Invasive Crayfish Sabotages Its Own Success, Study Says

Mar. 28, 2019 — Understanding when and why invasive species populations crash could help managers decide when and where to apply control efforts. After all, invasive species cost the US economy more than $120 ... read more

What 'Big Data' Reveals About the Diversity of Species

Mar. 28, 2019 — 'Big data' and large-scale analyses are critical for biodiversity research to find out how animal and plant species are distributed worldwide and how ecosystems function. The necessary data ... read more

Colder Temperatures Foster Greater Microbial Diversity on Amphibian Skin

Mar. 27, 2019 — A far-reaching global study has found that climate is a critical determinant of microbial diversity on amphibian skin, with colder, more variable temperatures producing richer bacterial communities ... read more

Mar. 27, 2019 — A study sheds new light on how exactly ultraviolet (UV) emitting and non-UV emitting street lamps influence the activity of bats in the Berlin metropolitan area and whether tree cover might mitigate ... read more

Mar. 26, 2019 — Many insect pollinator species are disappearing from areas of Great Britain, a new study has found. Research showed one third of wild pollinator species experienced declines in terms of areas in ... read more

Tuesday, April 9, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Friday, April 5, 2019
Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Monday, April 1, 2019
Friday, March 29, 2019
Thursday, March 28, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019
Friday, March 22, 2019
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Monday, March 18, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Monday, March 11, 2019
Thursday, March 7, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Tuesday, March 5, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Friday, March 1, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Tuesday, February 26, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Monday, February 18, 2019
Sunday, February 17, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Saturday, February 2, 2019
Friday, February 1, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019

http://www.vxiaotou.com