advertisement
Botany News
March 21, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 5:25pm EDT

More Botany News
March 21, 2019

Many Pet Owners Keen to Have Vegan Pets

Mar. 19, 2019 — A growing number of pet owners is interested in feeding their pets plant-based ... read more

Mar. 12, 2019 — A new study shows that growing grasses alongside blueberry plants corrects signs of iron deficiency, with associated improvements in berry quantity and quality. The effects are comparable to those ... read more

Mar. 11, 2019 — For almost 100 years, there has been controversy as to the possible parent species of the saffron crocus are. If the parent species were known, changes could be inserted into the crocus genome by new ... read more

Small Animals With Big Impact

Mar. 8, 2019 — Copepods, the world's most common animal, release unique substances into the oceans. Concentrations of these substances are high enough to affect the marine food web, according to new research. ... read more

Mar. 7, 2019 — Researchers conducted an experiment that suggests microbes can specialize within plant species, which can promote plant species diversity and increased seed ... read more

Mar. 6, 2019 — Research on high-level switches that control wood formation has applications in timber, paper and biofuels, as well as making forests ... read more

Getting More Mileage from Microsatellites

Mar. 6, 2019 — Researchers at the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, are using a next-generation sequencing genotyping approach to find insight into the evolutionary history of the carob tree -- an economically important ... read more

Mar. 6, 2019 — Human disturbance reduces forest density, biomass, and richness of species in sacred church forests of northern Ethiopia, according to new ... read more

Mar. 6, 2019 — A new study explores how climate, evolution, plants, and soils are linked. The research is the first to show how climate-driven evolution in tree populations alters the way trees directly interact ... read more

Antibiotic Resistance Is Spreading from Wastewater Treatment Plants

Mar. 6, 2019 — The products of wastewater treatment have been found to contain trace amounts of antibiotic resistant DNA. Researchers have found that even low concentrations of just a single type of antibiotic in ... read more

Mar. 6, 2019 — Vegetation biomass on grasslands increases in response to elevated carbon dioxide levels, but less than expected. Vegetation on grasslands with a wet spring season has the greatest ... read more

Houston, We're Here to Help the Farmers

Mar. 6, 2019 — Farmers irrigating their crops may soon be getting some help from space. In 2018, scientists launched ECOSTRESS, a new instrument now attached to the International Space Station. Its mission: to ... read more

Source of Citrus' Sour Taste Is Identified

Mar. 5, 2019 — Scientists have identified the genes responsible for the hallmark sour taste of many citrus ... read more

Mar. 4, 2019 — New research has found that despite the low density of the desert yellowhead -- there are fewer than 15,000 individual plants scattered across just 55 acres -- these populations survive partly ... read more

Dying Trees in Cities? Blame It on the Pavement

Mar. 4, 2019 — A new study of urban tree life in the Southeast shows pavement and concrete may have a bigger effect than longitudinal ... read more

Mar. 4, 2019 — For millions of years, plants and fungi have exchanged crucial nutrients such as phosphate and fatty acids, but the mechanism by which this exchange happens has been poorly understood. Now, ... read more

Alien Species Are Primary Cause of Recent Global Extinctions

Mar. 3, 2019 — Alien species are the main driver of recent extinctions in both animals and plants, according to a new study. Scientists found that since 1500, alien species have been solely responsible for 126 ... read more

How the Humble Marigold Outsmarts a Devastating Tomato Pest

Mar. 1, 2019 — Researchers carried out a study to prove what gardeners around the world have known for generations -- marigolds repel tomato ... read more

Mar. 1, 2019 — A new study shows how information revealed by a new method of analyzing tree rings matches the story told by more high-tech equipment over the short-term. Because trees are long-lived, looking back ... read more

Cell Editors Correct Genetic Errors

Mar. 1, 2019 — Almost all land plants employ an army of editors who correct errors in their genetic information. Researchers have now transferred parts of this machinery into a bacterium. Their results confirm a ... read more

Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Monday, March 11, 2019
Friday, March 8, 2019
Thursday, March 7, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Tuesday, March 5, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Sunday, March 3, 2019
Friday, March 1, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Tuesday, February 26, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Monday, February 18, 2019
Saturday, February 16, 2019
Friday, February 15, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Tuesday, February 12, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Friday, February 1, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Monday, January 21, 2019
Friday, January 18, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Friday, January 11, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019

http://www.vxiaotou.com