advertisement
Behavioral Science News
March 23, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 12:25pm EDT

More Behavioral Science News
March 23, 2019

Mar. 18, 2019 — As states around the country move to stiffen punishments for animal cruelty, researchers have found a correlation between the types of animal abuse committed and the perpetrator's relationship ... read more

Mar. 15, 2019 — Scientists have discovered that repellent odors suppress the perception of pleasant smells. This happens because certain brain structures that respond to attractive odors are inhibited by a repellent ... read more

Mar. 7, 2019 — Researchers have developed a 'smart house' for mice, that allows them to study the animals' behavior with minimal disturbance for periods of up to 18 ... read more

Mar. 6, 2019 — New research has analysed the behavior of 12 dolphin social groups in South Australia's Coffin Bay region and shows males who team up in groups of two to five to form beneficial alliances may ... read more

Want to Save the Planet? Stop Trying to Be Its Friend

Mar. 4, 2019 — Research reveals how advertisers, politicians and economic systems play on the psychology of 'climate compensation' -- and encourages a more rational approach to environmental ... read more

Detailed New Primate Brain Atlas Could Lead to Disease Insights

Mar. 1, 2019 — An international project has mapped connections in the marmoset brain at an unprecedented level of detail. A better understanding of primate neural connectivity promises to lead to fundamental ... read more

Feb. 28, 2019 — Temnothorax americanus is a slavemaking ant found in northeastern America. In a new study, biologists examined the special relationship between the parasites and their host and made an exciting ... read more

Feb. 27, 2019 — Spiders that pretend to be ants to fool predators have an unusual problem when it comes to sex. How do they get the attention of potential mates without breaking character to birds that want to eat ... read more

Feb. 27, 2019 — As gray wolves return to Washington state, a new study finds that one species of deer is changing its behavior to spend more time away from roads, at higher elevations and in rockier ... read more

Inside the Brains of Hungry Worms, Researchers Find Clues About How They Hunt

Feb. 26, 2019 — When looking for food, the roundworm C. elegans searches the same area for up to 20 minutes before trying its luck at more distant locales. New research on the worm's brain explains how this ... read more

Feb. 26, 2019 — Using CRISPR, scientists have carried out extensive work on a little-known yet effective weapon of the innate immune system, antimicrobial ... read more

Understanding the Rich Social Lives of Animals Benefits International Conservation Efforts

Feb. 26, 2019 — An international group of researchers working on a wide range of species, from elephants and crows, to whales and chimpanzees, argues that animals' cultural knowledge needs to be taken into ... read more

Feb. 25, 2019 — Different cultures, different habits and different behavioral patterns -- this applies not only to humans but also to chimpanzees, one of our two closest living relatives. A team of researchers now ... read more

Feb. 22, 2019 — When dog-parents spend extra time scratching their dogs' bellies, take their dogs out for long walks and games of fetch, or even when they feel constant frustration over their dogs' naughty ... read more

Studying Species Interactions Using Remote Camera Traps

Feb. 22, 2019 — Scientists have explored to what extent camera trap data are suitable to assess subtle species interactions such as avoidance in space and ... read more

New MRI Sensor Can Image Activity Deep Within the Brain

Feb. 22, 2019 — Researchers have developed an MRI-based calcium sensor that allows them to peer deep into the brain. Using this technique, they can track electrical activity inside the neurons of living animals, ... read more

Too Hot for Comfort: The Physiological Dangers of Extreme Heat

Feb. 21, 2019 — A new review of more than 140 studies explores the physiological dangers that climate change will likely have on animal life, including ... read more

Feb. 19, 2019 — Aggressiveness among animals may increase the longer individuals live together in stable groups. The study used the Amazon molly, a naturally clonal fish species that produces genetically identical ... read more

Biologists Identify Honeybee 'Clean' Genes Known for Improving Survival

Feb. 15, 2019 — The key to breeding disease-resistant honeybees could lie in a group of genes -- known for controlling hygienic behavior -- that enable colonies to limit the spread of harmful mites and bacteria, ... read more

Feb. 14, 2019 — Researchers wanted to know how Magellanic penguin parents in South America balance the dietary demands of multiple chicks. They found that when a Magellanic penguin parent returns to its nest with ... read more

Monday, March 18, 2019
Friday, March 15, 2019
Thursday, March 7, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Friday, March 1, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Tuesday, February 26, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Friday, February 22, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Friday, February 15, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Tuesday, February 12, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Thursday, January 3, 2019
Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Friday, December 28, 2018
Thursday, December 27, 2018
Friday, December 21, 2018
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com