advertisement
Behavioral Science News
May 20, 2019

Top Headlines
 

Unexplored Neural Circuit Modulates Memory Strength

The fruit fly mushroom body contains three groups of neurons that produce dopamine. Two of them work together to process aversive memories, a new study ... read more
Studying microscopic worms, scientists have identified a brain circuit that drives repetitive behavior -- providing ... read more
A new study provides the first evidence of transitive inference, the ability to use known relationships to infer unknown relationships, in a nonvertebrate animal: the lowly ... read more
In a touchscreen-based task that allowed individual animals to provide food to others, wolves behaved more prosocially toward their fellow pack members than did ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 8:52am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Researchers demonstrate that genetically identical cells exhibit differing responses in their motility towards chemical attractants. Average values hide the full picture when it comes to describing ... read more

Group Decisions: When More Information Isn't Necessarily Better

Modular -- or cliquey -- group structure isolates the flow of communication between individuals, which might seem counterproductive to survival. But for some animal groups, more information ... read more

Fish warn each other about danger by releasing chemicals into the water as a signal, research has ... read more

The iconic 'death roll' of alligators and crocodiles may be more common among species than previously believed, according to a new ... read more

An ancient and rare beetle fossil is the oldest example of a social relationship between two animal ... read more

Physical traits and behaviors that make a lizard sexy -- features used to attract potential mates and fend off competitors -- may be important enough that they do not change in the face of stress, ... read more

Computer Games for Fish Uncover Why Some Prey Lead and Others Follow

For the first time, researchers have shed new light on the evolution of different social roles within animal groups by exploring how fish predators target and attack groups of virtual prey. The study ... read more

Hold the Mustard: What Makes Spiders Fussy Eaters

It might be one of nature's most agile and calculating hunters, but the wolf spider won't harm an insect that literally leaves a bad taste in its mouth, according to new ... read more

Diet During Development Affects Mating Habits, Insect Study Shows

An animal's choice of mating partner can be influenced by what it eats during its sexual development, a study of insects has ... read more

Artificial Intelligence Singles out Neurons Faster Than a Human Can

Biomedical engineers have developed an automated process that can track and map active neurons as accurately as a human can, but in a fraction of the time. This new technique, based on a deep ... read more

Sexual Behavior May Influence Gut Microbiome

A person's sexual behavior could affect their microbiome and immune system, potentially elevating their risk of HIV infection, according to a new ... read more

Traces of neonicotinoid pesticides can impair a flying insect's ability to spot predators and avoid collisions with objects in their ... read more

Scientists developed a new version of a gene drive that allows the spread of specific, favorable genetic variants, also known as 'alleles,' throughout a population. The new 'allelic ... read more

Astro-Ecology: Counting Orangutans Using Star-Spotting Technology

A groundbreaking scientific collaboration is harnessing technology used to study the luminosity of stars, to carry out detailed monitoring of orangutan populations in Borneo. Researchers came ... read more

Animal-Assisted Therapy Improves Social Behavior in Patients With Brain Injuries

Animal-assisted therapy can foster social competence in patients with brain injuries and increase their emotional involvement during therapy, according to new ... read more

Using Artificial Intelligence to Understand Collective Behavior

A machine learning model can reproduce the swarming behaviour of ... read more

Diversity beats monotony: a colourful patchwork of small, differently used plots can bring advantages to agriculture and ... read more

Behavioral Ecology: Personalities Promote Adaptability

Bold great tits lay their eggs earlier when under threat, the shy ones put it off. Such personality differences help maintain the biological variation essential for the survival of populations, as ... read more

Biologists have discovered that long non-coding RNA regulates seasonal changes in stress response in medaka ... read more

Researchers conducted behavioral observations and collected urine samples for cortisol analysis of male chimpanzees of the Tai National Park, Ivory Coast, during periods of intense male-male ... read more

Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Monday, April 22, 2019
Thursday, April 18, 2019
Wednesday, April 17, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Friday, April 12, 2019
Wednesday, April 10, 2019
Tuesday, April 9, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Friday, April 5, 2019
Thursday, April 4, 2019
Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Monday, March 18, 2019
Friday, March 15, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Monday, March 11, 2019
Friday, March 8, 2019
Thursday, March 7, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Friday, March 1, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Tuesday, February 26, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Friday, February 22, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Friday, February 15, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Tuesday, February 12, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019

http://www.vxiaotou.com