advertisement
Apes News
May 22, 2019

Top Headlines
 

New research finds that bonobo mothers take action to ensure their sons will become fathers. This way bonobo mothers increase their sons' chance of ... read more
Chimpanzees in captivity can successfully work out how to use tools to excavate underground food, even if they've never been presented with an underground food scenario ... read more
Paleontologists have discovered a new species of meat-eating mammal larger than any big cat stalking the world today. Larger than a polar bear, with a skull as large as that ... read more

World's Smallest Bears' Facial Expressions Throw Doubt on Human Superiority

The world's smallest bears can exactly mimic another bear's facial expressions, casting doubt on humans and other primates' supremacy at this subtle form of communication. It is the first time such ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 5:21am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

In Developing Nations, National Parks Could Save Endangered Species

A new study of animal populations inside and outside a protected area in Senegal, Niokolo-Koba National Park, shows that protecting such an area from human interaction and development preserves not ... read more

New Chimpanzee Culture Discovered

Different cultures, different habits and different behavioral patterns -- this applies not only to humans but also to chimpanzees, one of our two closest living relatives. A team of researchers now ... read more

Orangutans Make Complex Economic Decisions About Tool Use

Flexible tool use is closely associated to higher mental processes such as the ability to plan actions. Now a group of cognitive biologists and comparative psychologists found out that the apes ... read more

Ecosystem Changes Following Loss of Great White Sharks

A new study has documented unexpected consequences following the decline of great white sharks from an area off South Africa. The study found that the disappearance of great whites has led to the ... read more

Uncovering the Evolution of the Brain

What makes us human, and where does this mysterious property of 'humanness' come from? Humans are genetically similar to chimpanzees and bonobos, yet there exist obvious behavioral and ... read more

Social Behavior of Western Lowland Gorillas

A new study reveals one of the enigmas related to the social behavior of the western lowland gorilla (Gorilla gorilla gorilla) in the heart of the African equatorial rainforest. These primates show a ... read more

A Taste for Fat May Have Made Us Human

A new article argues that early human ancestors acquired a taste for fat long before they began hunting for meat by scavenging marrow from the skeletal remains of large ... read more

Diversity in the CD4 Receptor Protects Chimpanzees from Infection by AIDS-Like Viruses

Medical researchers have found that the CD4 surface protein, which is used by HIV and SIV as the receptor to enter immune cells, is highly variable among wild chimpanzees. Understanding how these ... read more

Do Bigger Brains Equal Smarter Dogs? New Study Offers Answers

Larger dogs have better short-term memory and self-control than smaller breeds, according to new ... read more

Human Mutation Rate Has Slowed Recently

Researchers have discovered that the human mutation rate is significantly slower than for our closest primate relatives. The new knowledge may be important for estimates of when the common ancestor ... read more

Human Respiratory Viruses Continue to Spread in Wild Chimpanzees

Less than two years after the first report of wild chimpanzees in Uganda dying as a result of a human 'common cold' virus, a new study has identified two other respiratory viruses of human ... read more

For These Birds, Climate Change Spells a Rise in Fatal Conflicts

Researchers have found yet another way in which climate change has been detrimental to migrating birds. As European winters have become warmer, pied flycatchers traveling from Africa to reach ... read more

Contact With Monkeys and Apes Puts Populations at Risk

Animal diseases that infect humans are a major threat to human health, and diseases often spillover to humans from nonhuman primates. Now, researchers have carried out an extensive social sciences ... read more

Historical Genomes Reveal Recent Changes in Genetic Health of Eastern Gorillas

The critically endangered Grauer's gorilla has recently lost genetic diversity and has experienced an increase in harmful mutations, according to researchers who sequenced 11 genomes from ... read more

Marmoset Monkeys Expect the Melody's Closing Tone

In speech and music, words and notes depend on each other. Humans are highly sensitive to such dependencies, but the evolutionary origins of this capacity are poorly understood. Cognitive biologists ... read more

Peering Into Little Foot's 3.67-Million-Year-Old Brain

MicroCT scans of the Australopithecus fossil known as Little Foot shows that the brain of this ancient human relative was small and shows features that are similar to our own brain and others that ... read more

How Much Are We Learning About the Genome? Natural Selection Is Science's Best Critic

Even as they've struggled to highlight parts of the human genome worth investigating, scientists have wondered how much they're actually learning through the methods they use. Now, two ... read more

What Sets Primates Apart from Other Mammals?

Researchers have discovered information about a gene that sets primates -- great apes and humans -- apart from other mammals, through the study of a rare developmental brain ... read more

Recycle Your Old Mobile Phone to Save Gorilla Populations

The link between hoarding disused mobile phones and the decimation of Grauer gorilla habitats is explored in a new ... read more

Oldest-Known Ancestor of Modern Primates May Have Come from North America, Not Asia

A new fossil analysis suggests the earliest-known ancestor of modern primates may have come from North America, not Asia, as previously ... read more

Thursday, March 7, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Tuesday, February 12, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Thursday, December 27, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Tuesday, October 30, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Thursday, October 18, 2018
Monday, October 15, 2018
Thursday, October 11, 2018
Wednesday, October 10, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Thursday, October 4, 2018
Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Monday, September 17, 2018
Monday, September 10, 2018
Wednesday, September 5, 2018
Tuesday, August 28, 2018
Monday, August 20, 2018
Friday, August 10, 2018
Thursday, August 9, 2018
Wednesday, August 1, 2018
Monday, July 30, 2018
Thursday, July 19, 2018
Wednesday, July 11, 2018
Tuesday, July 10, 2018
Thursday, June 28, 2018
Wednesday, June 27, 2018
Monday, June 25, 2018
Wednesday, June 20, 2018
Tuesday, June 19, 2018
Monday, June 18, 2018
Sunday, June 17, 2018
Thursday, June 7, 2018
Thursday, May 31, 2018
Thursday, May 24, 2018
Wednesday, May 23, 2018
Monday, May 21, 2018
Wednesday, May 16, 2018
Tuesday, May 15, 2018
Thursday, May 10, 2018
Tuesday, May 8, 2018
Thursday, May 3, 2018
Wednesday, April 25, 2018
Monday, April 23, 2018
Thursday, April 19, 2018
Thursday, April 5, 2018
Monday, March 26, 2018
Wednesday, March 7, 2018
Tuesday, February 27, 2018
Thursday, February 15, 2018
Thursday, February 8, 2018
Wednesday, January 17, 2018
Thursday, January 4, 2018
Wednesday, January 3, 2018
Thursday, December 21, 2017
Wednesday, December 13, 2017
Monday, December 4, 2017
Tuesday, November 28, 2017
Monday, November 27, 2017
Friday, November 24, 2017
Tuesday, November 21, 2017
Monday, November 20, 2017
Friday, November 17, 2017
Wednesday, November 15, 2017
Thursday, November 9, 2017

http://www.vxiaotou.com