advertisement
Apes News
January 20, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 10:53pm EST

More Apes News
January 20, 2019

How Much Are We Learning About the Genome? Natural Selection Is Science's Best Critic

Dec. 18, 2018 — Even as they've struggled to highlight parts of the human genome worth investigating, scientists have wondered how much they're actually learning through the methods they use. Now, two ... read more

Recycle Your Old Mobile Phone to Save Gorilla Populations

Dec. 5, 2018 — The link between hoarding disused mobile phones and the decimation of Grauer gorilla habitats is explored in a new ... read more

Lifespan and Sexual Maturity Depends on Your Brain More Than Your Body

Oct. 30, 2018 — New research finds how long humans and other warm-blooded animals live -- and when they reach sexual maturity -- may have more to do with their brain than their body. More specifically, it is not ... read more

Chimpanzees React Faster to Cooperate Than Make Selfish Choices

Oct. 29, 2018 — When it comes to cooperation, there's no monkey business in how some chimpanzees ... read more

Oct. 24, 2018 — The birds are able to combine individual parts to form a long-distance reaching ... read more

Oct. 24, 2018 — Primates, including humans, are usually thought of as visual animals with reduced reliance on the sense of smell. In behavioral experiments, biologists have now found that chimpanzees use olfaction ... read more

Oct. 23, 2018 — Although bonobos and chimpanzees are similar in size, bonobo calls sound an octave higher than chimpanzee calls. Researchers explain this discrepancy with the fact that the vocal folds of bonobos are ... read more

Oct. 18, 2018 — Researchers examined the behavior of female chimpanzees in the Budongo Forest, Uganda, where chimpanzees (at least in the study community) are particularly prone to committing and suffering ... read more

Oct. 15, 2018 — Males have greater reproductive success if they spend more time taking care of kids -- and not necessarily only their own, according to new ... read more

Genetic Achilles Heel Hurts Humans Fighting Hepatitis C

Oct. 11, 2018 — An antimicrobial signaling molecule called interferon lambda 4 has lower activity against the hepatitis C virus in the vast majority of humans compared with chimpanzees and African hunter-gatherer ... read more

Oct. 10, 2018 — Why share food with non-family members when there is no immediate gain? An international team of researchers conducted observations of natural food sharing behavior of the chimpanzees of the Tai ... read more

Affable Apes Live Longer, Study Shows

Oct. 9, 2018 — Male chimps that are less aggressive and form strong social bonds tend to live longer, research ... read more

A Pheromone-Sensing Gene That Predates Land-Dwelling Vertebrates

Oct. 9, 2018 — Scientists have discovered a gene that appears to play a vital role in pheromone sensing. The gene is conserved across fish and mammals and over 400 million years of vertebrate evolution, indicating ... read more

Oct. 4, 2018 — Human evolution used to be depicted as a straight line, gradually progressing from an ape-like ancestor to modern Homo sapiens. But thanks to next-generation sequencing, findings in recent years have ... read more

Foraging of Mountain Gorillas for Sodium-Rich Foods

Sep. 19, 2018 — A new Biotropica study examines mountain gorillas in Rwanda and their foraging for sodium-rich food in both national park areas and lands managed by local ... read more

Sep. 17, 2018 — Social interactions can be intricate -- and not just among humans. A new study suggests that researchers may be overlooking some of these same complexities in the social relations of our closest ... read more

Sep. 10, 2018 — Wild chimpanzees of the Taï National Park, Ivory Coast, hunt in groups to catch monkeys. By observing group-hunts and meat sharing, an international team of researchers found that chimpanzee hunting ... read more

New Research Could Reduce Primate Electrocutions and Help Conservation Strategies

Sep. 5, 2018 — New research has mapped and analyzed the incidence of primate electrocutions in Diani, Kenya to identify hotspot areas that should be prioritized to reduce the risk of electric shock. The study could ... read more

Aug. 28, 2018 — Biological anthropologists have described three new species of fossil primates that were previously unknown to ... read more

Aug. 20, 2018 — The genome sequences of ape parasites related to Plasmodium vivax, the main source of mosquito-borne malaria outside Africa, provide insights on the origin and early evolution of the human parasite. ... read more

Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Tuesday, October 30, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Thursday, October 18, 2018
Monday, October 15, 2018
Thursday, October 11, 2018
Wednesday, October 10, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Thursday, October 4, 2018
Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Monday, September 17, 2018
Monday, September 10, 2018
Wednesday, September 5, 2018
Tuesday, August 28, 2018
Monday, August 20, 2018
Friday, August 10, 2018
Thursday, August 9, 2018
Wednesday, August 1, 2018
Monday, July 30, 2018
Thursday, July 19, 2018
Wednesday, July 11, 2018
Tuesday, July 10, 2018
Thursday, June 28, 2018
Wednesday, June 27, 2018
Monday, June 25, 2018
Wednesday, June 20, 2018
Tuesday, June 19, 2018
Monday, June 18, 2018
Sunday, June 17, 2018
Thursday, June 7, 2018
Thursday, May 31, 2018
Thursday, May 24, 2018
Wednesday, May 23, 2018
Monday, May 21, 2018
Wednesday, May 16, 2018
Tuesday, May 15, 2018
Thursday, May 10, 2018
Tuesday, May 8, 2018
Thursday, May 3, 2018
Wednesday, April 25, 2018
Monday, April 23, 2018
Thursday, April 19, 2018
Thursday, April 5, 2018
Monday, March 26, 2018
Wednesday, March 7, 2018
Tuesday, February 27, 2018
Thursday, February 15, 2018
Thursday, February 8, 2018
Wednesday, January 17, 2018
Thursday, January 4, 2018
Wednesday, January 3, 2018
Thursday, December 21, 2017
Wednesday, December 13, 2017
Monday, December 4, 2017
Tuesday, November 28, 2017
Monday, November 27, 2017
Friday, November 24, 2017
Tuesday, November 21, 2017
Monday, November 20, 2017
Friday, November 17, 2017
Wednesday, November 15, 2017
Thursday, November 9, 2017
Tuesday, November 7, 2017
Thursday, November 2, 2017
Wednesday, November 1, 2017
Monday, October 16, 2017
Thursday, October 12, 2017
Sunday, October 1, 2017
Thursday, September 28, 2017
Tuesday, September 5, 2017
Thursday, August 31, 2017
Monday, August 21, 2017
Thursday, August 10, 2017
Wednesday, August 9, 2017
Wednesday, August 2, 2017
Tuesday, August 1, 2017
Tuesday, July 25, 2017
Tuesday, July 18, 2017
Friday, July 14, 2017
Thursday, July 13, 2017
Monday, July 10, 2017
Monday, June 26, 2017
Wednesday, June 21, 2017
Monday, June 19, 2017

http://www.vxiaotou.com