advertisement
Social Psychology News
January 18, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 1:20pm EST

More Social Psychology News
January 18, 2019

Personality Type Could Shape Attitudes Toward Body Weight of Others, Researchers Say

Jan. 15, 2019 — Researchers found that personality traits have significant bearing on a person's attitudes toward obesity, their implicit theories of weight and their willingness to engage in derisive fat talk ... read more

Military Spouses Face Higher Perinatal Depression Risk

Jan. 14, 2019 — Women whose partners are away on military deployment are at greater risk of developing mental illness during the perinatal period, according to a review ... read more

Neuroimaging Shows Social Exclusion Spurs Extremism in Those Vulnerable to Radicalization

Jan. 10, 2019 — A new study used neuroimaging techniques to show that social exclusion increases the number of ideological and group values worth fighting and dying for in populations vulnerable to radicalization. ... read more

Research Fosters Communication Between Smart Buildings and People

Jan. 10, 2019 — Researchers found people connect better with a computer-generated avatar that represents building management -- and small talk helped, ... read more

Whites Struggle to Tell Real from Fake Smiles on Black Faces

Jan. 7, 2019 — White people and non-black minorities have a harder time telling the difference between genuine and fake smiles on black faces than they do on white faces, a problem black people don't ... read more

Americans Are Happier in States That Spend More on Libraries, Parks and Highways

Jan. 7, 2019 — Americans are happier in states where governments spend more on public goods, among them libraries, parks, highways, natural resources and police protection, a new study has ... read more

Meta-Analysis Highlights Important Challenges in Cognitive Processing for Adults With ASD

Jan. 2, 2019 — New study results contribute to understanding of patterns of cognitive functioning in adults with autism and highlight the importance of a broader approach when studying ... read more

Dec. 27, 2018 — Every time we look at a face, we take in a flood of information effortlessly: age, gender, race, expression, the direction of our subject's gaze, perhaps even their mood. How the brain does this ... read more

Dec. 27, 2018 — Examining over 2,000 video blogs, or vlogs on YouTube, researchers found we mirror the emotions of those we see online and seek out people who share our ... read more

Interpreting Emotions: A Matter of Confidence

Dec. 21, 2018 — We are exposed to the facial expressions of the people. But do we interpret them correctly? And do we trust our own judgment? This trust is essential for avoiding potentially dangerous situations. ... read more

What Helps People Live Well With Dementia

Dec. 21, 2018 — Psychological aspects, such as optimism, self-esteem, loneliness and depression were closely linked to ability to optimize quality of life and wellbeing in both people with dementia and carers. ... read more

College Binge Drinkers Are Posting While Drunk, 'Addicted' to Social Media

Dec. 21, 2018 — College students who binge drink are frequently posting on social media while intoxicated and show signs of social media ''addiction,'' according to a new ... read more

The Joy of Giving Lasts Longer Than the Joy of Getting

Dec. 20, 2018 — The happiness we feel after a particular event or activity diminishes each time we experience that event, a phenomenon known as hedonic adaptation. But giving to others may be the exception to this ... read more

Cost to Walk Away from Facebook for a Year? More Than $1,000, New Study Finds

Dec. 19, 2018 — Using a series of auctions in which people were paid to close their accounts for as little as one day or as long as one year, a new study finds that Facebook users would require an average of more ... read more

Austerity Results in 'Social Murder' According to New Research

Dec. 19, 2018 — The consequence of austerity in the social security system -- severe cuts to benefits and the 'ratcheting up' of conditions attached to benefits -- is 'social murder', according ... read more

Are the Late Stephen Hawking's Religious Beliefs Typical of U.K. Scientists?

Dec. 19, 2018 — The late Stephen Hawking famously didn't believe in God. Neither does the renowned Richard Dawkins. But is that typical for U.K. ... read more

Aggressive Behavior Brings Emotional Pain to the Sadist

Dec. 19, 2018 — Sadists derive pleasure or enjoyment from another person's pain, yet new research shows that sadistic behavior ultimately deprives the sadists of ... read more

Do Personality Traits of Compulsive Users of Social Media Overlap With Problem Drinking?

Dec. 19, 2018 — A study found certain similarities and differences in personality traits when comparing compulsive use of social media with problematic or risky alcohol ... read more

Children of Problem Drinkers More Likely to Marry Someone With a Drinking Problem

Dec. 17, 2018 — Children of parents who have alcohol use disorder are more likely to get married under the age of 25, less likely to get married later in life, and more likely to marry a person who has alcohol use ... read more

Self-Perception and Reality Seem to Line-Up When It Comes to Judging Our Own Personality

Dec. 14, 2018 — When it comes to personality, it turns out your peers probably think the same way about you as you do about ... read more

Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Thursday, December 27, 2018
Friday, December 21, 2018
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018
Friday, December 14, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Friday, December 7, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018
Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Monday, November 19, 2018
Friday, November 16, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Tuesday, November 13, 2018
Monday, November 12, 2018
Friday, November 9, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Friday, November 2, 2018
Thursday, November 1, 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Friday, October 26, 2018
Thursday, October 25, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Monday, October 22, 2018
Friday, October 19, 2018
Thursday, October 18, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Tuesday, October 16, 2018
Monday, October 15, 2018
Thursday, October 11, 2018
Wednesday, October 10, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Sunday, October 7, 2018
Thursday, October 4, 2018
Wednesday, October 3, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com