advertisement
Mental Health News
February 22, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 6:50am EST

More Mental Health News
February 22, 2019

How to Treat Depression in Prison -- And Why It Matters

Feb. 21, 2019 — The first randomized study of its kind reveals effective treatment for prisoners suffering from mental ... read more

Cannabis Use in Teens Linked to Risk of Depression in Young Adults

Feb. 13, 2019 — Cannabis is the most commonly used recreational drug by teenagers worldwide. In Canada, among youth aged 15 to 19 years, the rate of past-year cannabis use is 20.6 percent, while in England, 4 ... read more

Feb. 13, 2019 — In a randomized, controlled pilot trial, researchers found that participants pre-treated with noninvasive vagus nerve stimulation experienced less pain after heat stimulus than mock-treated ... read more

Newly Isolated Human Gut Bacterium Reveals Possible Connection to Depression

Feb. 13, 2019 — Researchers have established a correlation between depression and a group of neurotransmitter-producing bacteria found in the human ... read more

PTSD Alone Didn't Increase Heart Disease Risk in Veterans With PTSD

Feb. 13, 2019 — Coexisting medical conditions, psychiatric disorders, heavy smoking and illicit drug use may explain the increased risk for heart disease among veterans with ... read more

New Target to Prevent, Treat Alcoholism Identified

Feb. 8, 2019 — Researchers have identified a gene that could provide a new target for developing medication to prevent and treat ... read more

Working It Out: Researchers Find Exercise May Help Fight Depression in Seniors

Feb. 7, 2019 — The benefits of exercise are widely known but kinesiologists have for the first time found that physical activity may help fight depression in seniors by stimulating muscle-generated mood ... read more

Mental Illness Not to Blame for Gun Violence, Study Finds

Feb. 7, 2019 — Counter to a lot of public opinion, having a mental illness does not necessarily make a person more likely to commit gun violence. According to a new study, a better indicator of gun violence was ... read more

Being Kind to Yourself Has Mental and Physical Benefits

Feb. 6, 2019 — Taking time to think kind thoughts about yourself and loved ones has psychological and physical benefits, new research ... read more

Climate Change Poses Greater Risk of Mental Health Challenges for Children Born to Depressed Mothers

Feb. 6, 2019 — Climate change poses an exponentially greater risk for mental health problems in children born to mothers with prenatal depression who also experience natural disaster-related stress. That is the ... read more

Do Differences in Gait Predict the Risk of Developing Depression in Later Life?

Feb. 6, 2019 — Older people who were newly diagnosed with depression had a slower walking speed and a shorter step length compared with those without depression, new research ... read more

Maternal Depression and Natural Disaster-Related Stress May Affect Infants' Temperament

Feb. 6, 2019 — A new study demonstrates that prenatal maternal depression has important consequences for infant temperament. Furthermore, the negative impact of prenatal maternal depression appeared to be magnified ... read more

Depression Increases Risk of Early Death in Older Adults

Feb. 6, 2019 — A research team designed a study to investigate the role depression symptoms play in an increased risk of death over time. The team also examined the role heart disease and stroke play in the link ... read more

Yoga Regimen Reduces Severity of Rheumatoid Arthritis Symptoms

Feb. 5, 2019 — According to a new study, eight weeks of intensive yoga practice significantly decreases the severity of physical and psychological symptoms in patients with active rheumatoid arthritis (RA), a ... read more

Origins of Depression Brought Into Focus in Large-Scale Genetic Study

Feb. 5, 2019 — Hundreds of genes have been newly linked to depression, shedding light on the origins of the condition and highlighting personality types that could be at risk. The international study, involving ... read more

Healthy Diet Can Ease Symptoms of Depression

Feb. 5, 2019 — An analysis of data from almost 46,000 people has found that weight loss, nutrient boosting and fat reduction diets can all reduce the symptoms of ... read more

A Gut Feeling for Mental Health

Feb. 4, 2019 — The first population-level study on the link between gut bacteria and mental health identifies specific gut bacteria linked to depression and provides evidence that a wide range of gut bacteria can ... read more

Positive Findings With Dasotraline for ADHD in Children Ages 6-12

Feb. 4, 2019 — A new study in children aged 6 to 12 years of dasotraline, a promising new treatment for attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD), showed significant improvement in efficacy in the treatment ... read more

Jan. 31, 2019 — A new study is the first to directly examine cells from patients whose depression doesn't respond to selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors ... read more

Sleep Apnea Creates Gaps in Life Memories

Jan. 31, 2019 — Obstructive sleep apnea (OSA) is estimated to affect over 936 million people worldwide, and people with OSA are known to suffer memory problems and depression. New research builds on the known links ... read more

Thursday, February 21, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Friday, January 25, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Friday, January 11, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Friday, January 4, 2019
Thursday, January 3, 2019
Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Wednesday, December 26, 2018
Friday, December 21, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Friday, December 7, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018
Friday, November 23, 2018
Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Monday, November 19, 2018
Friday, November 16, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Monday, November 12, 2018
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com