advertisement
Mental Health News
April 23, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 9:50am EDT

More Mental Health News
April 23, 2019

For Busy Medical Students, Two-Hour Meditation Study May Be as Beneficial as Longer Course

Apr. 15, 2019 — For time-crunched medical students, taking a two-hour introductory class on mindfulness may be just as beneficial for reducing stress and depression as taking an eight-week meditation course, a study ... read more

Itchy Skin Affects the Health and Quality of Life of Many Patients With Kidney Disease

Apr. 11, 2019 — New research reveals that pruritus, or itchy skin, affects a substantial percentage of patients with chronic kidney disease (CKD). The study also indicates which patients are more likely to ... read more

Childhood Trauma Has Lasting Effect on Brain Connectivity in Patients With Depression

Apr. 8, 2019 — A study found that childhood trauma is linked to abnormal connectivity in the brain in adults with major depressive disorder (MDD). The paper shows symptom-specific, system-level changes in brain ... read more

Psychiatry: Multigene Test Predicts Depression Risk

Apr. 8, 2019 — An international team has found a genetic score that reliably predicts the risk, severity and age of onset of depression in young people. The study also confirms a history of childhood abuse as a ... read more

More Sleep May Help Teens With ADHD Focus and Organize

Apr. 8, 2019 — Teenagers with attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) may benefit from more sleep to help them focus, plan and control their ... read more

Preventing Toxic Work Environments Through Ethical Leadership

Apr. 4, 2019 — New research shows that 'managers who demonstrate ethical leadership through two-way communication, positive reinforcement and emotional support not only mitigates this type of employee ... read more

Integrating Infant Mental Health Into the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit

Apr. 3, 2019 — Psychotherapists attend to mental health needs of NICU families, specifically focusing on the developing relationship between babies and ... read more

Stress in Childhood and Adulthood Have Combined Impact on Hormones and Health

Apr. 3, 2019 — Adults who report high levels of stress and who also had stressful childhoods are most likely to show hormone patterns associated with negative health outcomes, according to new ... read more

Study Debunks 'Depression Genes' Hypotheses

Apr. 2, 2019 — A new study assessing data from 620,000 individuals found that the 18 most highly-studied candidate genes for depression are no more associated with depression than randomly chosen ... read more

Dopamine Conducts Prefrontal Cortex Ensembles

Apr. 2, 2019 — New research in rodents reveals for the first time how dopamine changes the function of the brain's prefrontal cortex. Researchers found that dopamine has little effect on individual cells. ... read more

Psychological Interventions in Post-Conflict Pakistan Evaluated

Apr. 2, 2019 — A new study highlights the effectiveness of a brief group psychological intervention for women affected by anxiety and depression in a post-conflict setting in ... read more

HIV Infection Increases the Risk of Death Associated With Depressive Symptoms

Apr. 1, 2019 — In a new study to investigate the relationship among depressive disorders or symptoms, HIV status and mortality, researchers report that symptoms of depression are moderately associated with death ... read more

Apr. 1, 2019 — Major depression, obesity and chronic pain are all linked to the effects of one protein, called FKBP51. Researchers have now developed a highly selective compound that can effectively block FKBP51 in ... read more

Critical Receptor Involved in Response to Antidepressants Like Ketamine

Mar. 28, 2019 — Effective treatment of clinical depression remains a major mental health issue, with roughly 30 percent of patients who do not respond to any of the available treatments. Researchers have discovered ... read more

Maternal Diet During Pregnancy May Modulate the Risk of ADHD Symptoms in Children

Mar. 28, 2019 — A study suggest that the risk of a child developing symptoms of attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) may be modulated by the mother's diet during pregnancy. The research analyzed ... read more

Consider Non-Surgical Brain Stimulation for Severe Depression, Say Experts

Mar. 27, 2019 — Non-surgical brain stimulation should be considered as alternative or add-on treatments for adults with severe forms of depression, suggests a new ... read more

Childhood Methylphenidate Treatment Predicts Antidepressant Use During Adolescence

Mar. 27, 2019 — A new, 12-year longitudinal study, which monitored 6,830 children from early childhood into adolescence, has shown that consistent treatment with MPH-based medications during childhood increases the ... read more

Continued PTSD in Women Exposed to Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill

Mar. 25, 2019 — A study reports that women exposed to the 2010 Deepwater Horizon (BP) Oil Spill continue to experience symptoms of trauma and post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD). Less than half reported receiving ... read more

Mothers of Fussy Babies at Higher Risk of Depressive Symptoms

Mar. 25, 2019 — As FDA approval of the first postpartum depression drug hits the news, study looks at how infant fussiness and a baby's level of prematurity may influence the severity of maternal depressive ... read more

Mar. 22, 2019 — Selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors (SSRIs) are the most commonly prescribed medication for major depressive disorder (MDD), yet scientists still do not understand why the treatment does not work ... read more

Monday, April 15, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Thursday, April 4, 2019
Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Monday, April 1, 2019
Thursday, March 28, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019
Friday, March 22, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Monday, March 18, 2019
Friday, March 15, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Monday, March 11, 2019
Thursday, March 7, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Tuesday, March 5, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Tuesday, February 26, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Monday, February 18, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Friday, January 25, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019

http://www.vxiaotou.com