advertisement
Infant and Preschool Learning News
May 19, 2019

Top Headlines
 

Chatterbox Parents May Boost Tots' Intelligence

A major new study has identified a link between kids who hear high quantities of adult speech and better nonverbal abilities such as reasoning, numeracy and shape ... read more

Breastfeeding Boosts Metabolites Important for Brain Growth

Micro-preemies who primarily consume breast milk have significantly higher levels of metabolites important for brain growth and development, according to sophisticated ... read more

Advanced Paternal Age Increases Risk of Early-Onset Schizophrenia in Offspring

Advanced paternal age increases the risk in offspring of early-onset schizophrenia, a severe form of the disorder, according to a new ... read more

Psychologists Solve Mystery of Songbird Learning

New research shows zebra finches engage in socially guided vocal learning, where they learn their songs by watching their mothers' reactions to their immature ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 5:18am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

A new father's views on his changing relationship with his wife or partner may depend in part on how much support he feels from her when he is caring for their baby, a new study suggests. ... read more

'Good Enough' Parenting Is Good Enough, Study Finds

Caregivers need only 'get it right' 50 percent of the time when responding to babies' need for attachment to have a positive impact on a baby, new research ... read more

Study Highlights Power of Play

Through simple games and day-to-day tasks, parents can help their children learn self-regulation, a skill considered essential for success, a new study has ... read more

Breastfeeding Can Erase Effects of Prenatal Violence for Newborns

Researchers found that breastfeeding through the first six weeks of life acts as a protective factor, effectively negating the risk of IPV the mother experienced during pregnancy on early infant ... read more

IQ a Better Predictor of Adult Economic Success Than Math

IQ in childhood is a better indicator of adult wealth than math for very preterm and very low-weight babies, according to a new ... read more

Expectant Mothers Can Prevent Fetal Brain Problems Caused by the Flu, Study Shows

Choline, an essential B vitamin nutrient, can prevent fetal brain developmental problems that often occur after prenatal maternal infections such as colds and influenza (flu), according to a new ... read more

Infants' Advances in Speech Processing Play Role in Language-Cognition Link

A new study provides the first evidence that infants' increasingly precise perceptual tuning to the sounds of their native language sets constraints on the range of human languages they will ... read more

For Infants, Distinguishing Between Friends and Strangers Is a Laughing Matter

Infants as young as five months can differentiate laughter between friends and that between strangers, finds a new study. The results suggest that the ability to detect the nature of social ... read more

Kids With Cochlear Implants Since Infancy More Likely to Speak, Not Sign

Researchers present further evidence that deaf children who received cochlear implants (implanted electronic hearing device) before 12 months of age learn to more rapidly understand spoken language ... read more

Mother's Behavioral Corrections Tune Infant's Brain to Angry Tone

The same brain network that adults use when they hear angry vocalizations is at work in infants as young as six months old, an effect that is strongest in infants whose mothers spend the most time ... read more

Infant Sleep Duration Associated With Mother's Level of Education and Prenatal Depression

A new study analyzing data from Canadian parents has found that babies sleep less at three months of age if their mothers do not have a university degree, experienced depression during pregnancy or ... read more

Mandarin Chinese Could Help Us Understand How Infants Learn English

Infants may be more sensitive to non-native speech sounds than previously thought, according to a new study. The findings shed light on the way babies begin to understand ... read more

Teens Need to Text, Talk With Parents Often to Maintain Youth Resiliency After a Divorce

Texting, FaceTime and other popular communication methods among teens may help build supportive parent-youth relationships after a divorce, according to a family studies ... read more

New Model Mimics Persistent Interneuron Loss Seen in Prematurity

Research-clinicians created a novel preclinical model that mimics the persistent interneuron loss seen in preterm human infants, identifying interneuron subtypes that could become future therapeutic ... read more

The More the Merrier? Children With Multiple Siblings More Susceptible to Bullying

A child with more than one brother or sister is more likely to be the victim of sibling bullying than those with only one sibling, and firstborn children and older brothers tend to be the ... read more

Benefits of Delayed Cord Clamping in Healthy Babies

A five-minute delay in the clamping of healthy infants' umbilical cords results in increased iron stores and brain myelin in areas important for early-life functional development, a new study ... read more

Hearing and Deaf Infants Process Information Differently

Deaf children face unique communication challenges, but a new study shows that the effects of hearing impairment extend far beyond language skills to basic cognitive functions, and the differences in ... read more

Effects of Teenage Motherhood May Last Multiple Generations

The grandchildren of adolescent mothers have lower school readiness scores than their peers, according to a new ... read more

Climate Change Poses Greater Risk of Mental Health Challenges for Children Born to Depressed Mothers

Climate change poses an exponentially greater risk for mental health problems in children born to mothers with prenatal depression who also experience natural disaster-related stress. That is the ... read more

Maternal Depression and Natural Disaster-Related Stress May Affect Infants' Temperament

A new study demonstrates that prenatal maternal depression has important consequences for infant temperament. Furthermore, the negative impact of prenatal maternal depression appeared to be magnified ... read more

Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Wednesday, May 8, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Monday, March 18, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Monday, March 11, 2019
Tuesday, March 5, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Friday, January 18, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Monday, December 17, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018
Wednesday, November 21, 2018
Monday, November 19, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Tuesday, November 13, 2018
Monday, November 12, 2018
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Friday, November 2, 2018
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Friday, October 19, 2018
Tuesday, October 16, 2018
Wednesday, October 10, 2018
Monday, October 8, 2018
Thursday, October 4, 2018
Wednesday, October 3, 2018
Wednesday, September 26, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Tuesday, September 18, 2018
Tuesday, September 11, 2018
Friday, September 7, 2018
Monday, September 3, 2018
Tuesday, August 28, 2018
Monday, August 27, 2018
Thursday, August 23, 2018
Wednesday, August 22, 2018
Thursday, August 16, 2018
Wednesday, August 1, 2018
Tuesday, July 31, 2018
Thursday, July 26, 2018
Monday, July 23, 2018
Monday, July 9, 2018
Tuesday, June 19, 2018
Monday, June 18, 2018
Tuesday, June 12, 2018
Monday, June 11, 2018
Wednesday, June 6, 2018
Monday, June 4, 2018
Thursday, May 31, 2018
Wednesday, May 30, 2018
Thursday, May 24, 2018
Tuesday, May 22, 2018
Monday, May 21, 2018
Thursday, May 17, 2018
Thursday, May 10, 2018
Wednesday, May 9, 2018
Tuesday, May 8, 2018
Monday, May 7, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com