advertisement
Aviation News
May 20, 2019

Top Headlines
 

Toy Transformers and Real-Life Whales Inspire Biohybrid Robot

Researchers create a remote-controlled soft robot that can transform itself to conduct targeted drug delivery against cancer ... read more
A new study of the environmental sustainability impacts of flying cars, formally known as electric vertical takeoff and landing aircraft, or VTOLs, finds that they wouldn't ... read more

At 3,836 Mph, Which Way Does the Air Flow?

Aerospace engineers extend classical kinetic theory into high-speed aerodynamics, including hypersonic speed, which begins at 3,836 mph or roughly five times the speed of sound. The new study attempt ... read more

Coal Power Stations Disrupt Rainfall: Global Study

Modern coal-fired power stations produce more ultrafine dust particles than road traffic and can even modify and redistribute rainfall patterns, a new 15-year international study shows. The study ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 8:20am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Plant Scraps Are the Key Ingredient in Cheap, Sustainable Jet Fuel

Scientists have developed a process for converting plant waste from agriculture and timber harvesting into high-density aviation fuel. Their research may help reduce CO2 emissions from airplanes and ... read more

Bright Skies for Plant-Based Jet Fuels

With an estimated daily fuel demand of more than 5 million barrels per day, the global aviation sector is incredibly energy-intensive and almost entirely reliant on petroleum-based fuels. However, a ... read more

Bat Flight Model Can Inspire Smarter, Nimbler Drones

Engineers have captured the full complexity of bat flight in a three-dimensional computer model for the first time, potentially inspiring the future design of better drones and other aerial ... read more

The Speedy Secrets of Mako Sharks -- 'Cheetahs of the Ocean'

To investigate how shortfin mako sharks achieve their impressive speeds, researchers tested real sharkskin samples, using digital particle image velocimetry. They discovered that a 'passive ... read more

High-Powered Fuel Cell Boosts Electric-Powered Submersibles, Drones

Engineers have developed a high-powered fuel cell that operates at double the voltage of today's commercial fuel cells. It could power underwater vehicles, drones and eventually electric ... read more

Renewable Energy Generation With Kites and Drones

A group of researchers has recently developed a new software aimed at the analysis of energy generation systems based on kites and drones. They used the software to study the behavior of these ... read more

New Method Improves Infrared Imaging Performance

By successfully suppressing spectral cross-talk in dual-band photodetectors, a researchers has opened the door to a new generation of infrared imaging devices with applications in medicine as well as ... read more

Researchers Wing It in Mimicking Evolution to Discover Best Shape for Flight

A team of mathematicians has determined the ideal wing shape for fast flapping flight -- a discovery that offers promise for better methods for harvesting energy from water as well as for enhancing ... read more

Feathers: Better Than Velcro?

The structures zipping together the barbs in bird feathers could provide a model for new adhesives and new aerospace materials, according to a new study. Researchers 3D printed models of the ... read more

Animals May Get Used to Drones

A new study shows that over time, bears get used to drones. Previous work indicated that animals behave fearfully or show a stress response near drone flights. Using heart monitors to gauge stress, ... read more

Breakthrough in Ice-Repelling Materials

Icy weather is blamed for multibillion dollar losses every year in the United States, including delays and damage related to air travel, infrastructure and power generation and transmission ... read more

Cartilage Could Be Key to Safe 'Structural Batteries'

Your knees and your smartphone battery have some surprisingly similar needs, a professor has discovered, and that new insight has led to a 'structural battery' prototype that incorporates a ... read more

Using Drones to Tackle Climate Change

Scientists are using drones to survey woody climbing plants and better understand how they may affect the carbon balance of tropical ... read more

Engineers, Zoologists Reveal How Gulls 'Wing Morph' for Stable Soaring

Aviation experts and zoologists have provided new insights into how gulls configure their wing shape -- known as wing morphing -- to stabilize their flight. The findings could be used to design more ... read more

Robots With Sticky Feet Can Climb Up, Down, and All Around

Researchers have created a micro-robot whose electroadhesive foot pads, inspired by the pads on a gecko's feet, allow it to climb on vertical and upside-down conductive surfaces, like the inside ... read more

The Secret Life of Cloud Droplets

Do water droplets cluster inside clouds? Researchers confirm two decades of theory with an airborne imaging ... read more

Understanding Dynamic Stall at High Speeds

Although many fixed-wing aircraft can withstand similar rapid pitch-up maneuvers, a vehicle subject to this dynamic stall process is not reliably controllable. Motivated by the lack of detailed ... read more

A New Model of Ice Friction Helps Scientists Understand How Glaciers Flow

Despite the looming ecological consequences, glacier motion remains poorly understood. The bedrock, the ice-bed interface and the water-filled cavities all affect friction and influence how the ice ... read more

Drones Can Detect Protected Nightjar Nests

Thermal-sensing cameras mounted on drones may offer a safer and more cost-effective way to locate nests of the elusive European nightjar in forestry work and construction areas, according to new ... read more

New Foldable Drone Flies Through Narrow Holes in Rescue Missions

A research team has developed a new drone that can retract its propeller arms in flight and make itself small to fit through narrow gaps and holes. This is particularly useful when searching for ... read more

Thursday, March 21, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Friday, December 7, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018
Friday, November 23, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Tuesday, November 13, 2018
Friday, November 2, 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Thursday, October 11, 2018
Wednesday, October 3, 2018
Thursday, September 27, 2018
Wednesday, September 26, 2018
Thursday, September 13, 2018
Tuesday, September 4, 2018
Friday, August 31, 2018
Thursday, August 30, 2018
Monday, August 27, 2018
Monday, August 20, 2018
Wednesday, August 15, 2018
Thursday, August 9, 2018
Tuesday, July 31, 2018
Thursday, July 19, 2018
Monday, July 16, 2018
Thursday, July 5, 2018
Friday, June 22, 2018
Tuesday, June 19, 2018
Monday, June 11, 2018
Thursday, June 7, 2018
Wednesday, June 6, 2018
Thursday, May 31, 2018
Monday, May 21, 2018
Friday, May 18, 2018
Thursday, May 17, 2018
Tuesday, May 15, 2018
Monday, May 14, 2018
Friday, May 11, 2018
Wednesday, May 9, 2018
Monday, April 30, 2018
Tuesday, April 17, 2018
Monday, April 16, 2018
Friday, April 13, 2018
Tuesday, April 3, 2018
Monday, March 26, 2018
Thursday, March 22, 2018
Thursday, March 15, 2018
Monday, March 12, 2018
Friday, March 9, 2018
Tuesday, March 6, 2018
Thursday, March 1, 2018
Wednesday, February 28, 2018
Tuesday, February 6, 2018
Monday, January 29, 2018
Tuesday, January 23, 2018
Tuesday, January 16, 2018
Monday, January 15, 2018
Friday, January 12, 2018
Saturday, December 16, 2017
Thursday, December 14, 2017

http://www.vxiaotou.com