advertisement
Stroke Prevention News
June 17, 2019

Top Headlines
 

Millions of Cardiovascular Deaths Attributed to Not Eating Enough Fruits and Vegetables

Preliminary findings from a new study reveal that inadequate fruit and vegetable consumption may account for millions of deaths from heart disease ... read more
A new study shows that drinking coffee isn't as bad for our arteries as some previous studies would suggest. The research has shown that drinking coffee, including in people ... read more
A new study Finland shows that a moderately high intake of dietary cholesterol or consumption of up to one egg per day is ... read more

Plaque in Arteries May Not All Be the Same; Targeting Specific Immune Cells in Plaque May Reduce Heart Attack and Stroke Risk

A specific type of immune cell is more commonly found in arterial plaque from patients suffering from a recent stroke or mini-stroke, according to ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 12:16pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

New Imaging Modality Targets Cholesterol in Arterial Plaque

Researchers demonstrate a new imaging modality that successfully identifies the presence of cholesterol in the arterial ... read more

Genetic Marker Linked to Increased Risk of Diabetic Peripheral Neuropathy

This is the first real effort to have a genome wide search for genes predisposing to diabetic peripheral ... read more

Undetected Diabetes Linked to Heart Attack and Gum Disease

People with undetected glucose disorders run a higher risk of both myocardial infarction and periodontitis, according to a new study. The results demonstrate the need of greater collaboration between ... read more

'Cells Eating Cells' Is a Double-Whammy for Cell Health

Mathematicians have developed a model tested by experiment that shows cell cannibalism is an important driver in the build-up of cholesterol and other harmful ... read more

Beta Blockers Can Block the Effects of Stress and Anger in Patients Prone to Emotion-Triggered Atrial Fibrillation

Individuals who are prone to emotion-triggered atrial fibrillation (AF) may benefit from taking beta blockers. A new study shows that beta blockers can block the effects of psychological stress and ... read more

Women Are Less Likely Than Men to Be Diagnosed With Minor Stroke

A new study find women experiencing a minor stroke or transient ischemic attack (TIA) are less likely to be diagnosed with a stroke compared to men -- even though they describe similar symptoms in ... read more

Stroke Deaths in England Halved in the First Decade of the 21st Century

Deaths from stroke in England halved during the first decade of the 21st century, mainly as a result of improved survival due to better care, finds a ... read more

Experimental Noninvasive Tool Monitors Effectiveness of Stem Cell Transplantation

Other than clinical observations, the stem cell field lacks a repeatable, time-sensitive, noninvasive tool to assess the effectiveness of transplanted cells in the targeted organ. Researchers ... read more

Aspirin Green Light for Brain Bleed Stroke Patients, Study Suggests

People who suffer a stroke caused by bleeding in the brain -- known as brain haemorrhage -- can take common medicines without raising their risk of another stroke, a major clinical trial has found. ... read more

Blood Proteins Help Predict Risk of Developing Heart Failure

Two blood proteins help predict more accurately the risk for heart attack, stroke and heart failure ... read more

New Recommendations for Stroke Systems of Care to Improve Patient Outcomes

To translate advances in scientific knowledge and innovations in stroke care into improvements in patient outcomes, comprehensive stroke systems of care must be in place to facilitate optimal stroke ... read more

Feeling Healthy: A Good Start, but Not Always a Good Indicator of Heart Disease Risk

Most people feel they have a general idea of how healthy they are based on their diet and exercise regimen and how often they get sick. But a new study adds to evidence that how healthy people think ... read more

Injections of a Novel Protein Reduced Artery Blockage by Enhancing Lymphatic Vascular Function in Mice

Mice that received injections of a protein called VEGF-C experienced about a 30% reduction in artery blockage compared to untreated mice. The VEGF-C injections improved lymphatic transport, limited ... read more

New Approach Uses Magnetic Beads to Treat Preeclampsia

A new proof of concept study shows that functionalized magnetic beads reduced blood levels of a harmful molecule by 40%, which doubled the effect of a different molecule that aids blood vessel ... read more

Stem Cell Scientists Clear Another Hurdle in Creating Transplant Arteries

Recent work highlights a better way to grow smooth muscle cells, one of the two cellular building blocks of arteries, from pluripotent stem cells. This research is part of an effort to create artery ... read more

Researchers have found that therapy that can induce heart cells to regenerate after a heart ... read more

Understanding of Atrial Fibrillation-Related Dementia

Researchers have determined that atrial fibrillation (Afib) is independently associated with changes that occur with aging and ... read more

Da Vinci's Hand Impairment Caused by Nerve Damage, Not Stroke

A fainting episode causing traumatic nerve damage affecting his right hand could be why Leonardo da Vinci's painting skills were hampered in his late career. While the impairment affected his ... read more

Training for First-Time Marathon 'Reverses' Aging of Blood Vessels

Training for and completing a first-time marathon 'reverses' aging of major blood vessels, according to new research. The study found that older and slower runners benefit the ... read more

Prolonged Exposure to Low-Dose Radiation May Increase the Risk of Hypertension, a Known Cause of Heart Disease and Stroke

A long-term study of Russian nuclear plant workers suggests that prolonged low-dose radiation exposure increases the risk of hypertension. This study is the first to associate an increased risk of ... read more

Thursday, June 13, 2019
Tuesday, June 11, 2019
Monday, June 10, 2019
Wednesday, June 5, 2019
Tuesday, June 4, 2019
Thursday, May 23, 2019
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Tuesday, May 21, 2019
Monday, May 20, 2019
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Tuesday, May 14, 2019
Monday, May 13, 2019
Thursday, May 9, 2019
Wednesday, May 8, 2019
Monday, May 6, 2019
Saturday, May 4, 2019
Friday, May 3, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Friday, April 26, 2019
Thursday, April 25, 2019
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Thursday, April 18, 2019
Wednesday, April 17, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Friday, April 12, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019
Wednesday, April 10, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Sunday, April 7, 2019
Friday, April 5, 2019
Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Thursday, March 28, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019
Friday, March 22, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Monday, March 18, 2019
Sunday, March 17, 2019
Monday, March 18, 2019
Sunday, March 17, 2019
Saturday, March 16, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Thursday, March 7, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Tuesday, March 5, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Sunday, March 3, 2019
Saturday, March 2, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Friday, February 15, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Friday, February 1, 2019

http://www.vxiaotou.com