advertisement
STD News
June 24, 2019

Top Headlines
 

New Findings Could Lead to Improved Vaccinations Against Sexually Transmitted Infections

In a new study, researchers show how skin vaccination can generate protective CD8 T-cells that are recruited to the genital tissues and could be used ... read more

Sexual Behavior May Influence Gut Microbiome

A person's sexual behavior could affect their microbiome and immune system, potentially elevating their risk of HIV infection, according to a new ... read more

HIV Remission Achieved in Second Patient

A second person has experienced sustained remission from HIV-1 after ceasing treatment, reports a new article. The case report comes ten years after the first such case, known as the 'Berlin ... read more

HIV Vaccine Protects Non-Human Primates from Infection

New research shows that an experimental HIV vaccine strategy works in non-human primates. In the study, rhesus macaque monkeys produced neutralizing antibodies against one strain of HIV that ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 11:45pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Newly Discovered Immune Cells at the Frontline of HIV Infection

Researchers have discovered brand new immune cells that are at the frontline of HIV infection. Known as CD11c+ dendritic cells, these new cells are more susceptible to HIV infection and can then ... read more

Taking the 'Killer' out of Natural Killer Cells

The virus responsible for chickenpox and shingles employs a powerful strategy of immune evasion, inhibiting the ability of natural killer cells to destroy infected cells and produce molecules that ... read more

Achieving sustained remission of HIV without life-long antiretroviral therapy (ART) is a top HIV research priority, according to a new ... read more

Immunotherapy Drug Found Safe in Treating Cancer Patients With HIV, Study Suggests

The results of a new study suggest that patients living with HIV and one of a variety of potentially deadly cancers could be safely treated with the immunotherapy drug pembrolizumab, also known by ... read more

Successful HIV Effort Prompts Call for Clinics to Expand Mental Health Services on Site

Increasing access to mental health services improves HIV outcomes among vulnerable patients, a new study suggests. Based on their findings, the researchers are urging HIV clinics to expand their ... read more

Researchers Verify New Method of HIV Transmission Among Injection Drug Users and Effective Prevention Technique

New studies have found for the first time that HIV can be transmitted through the sharing of equipment used to prepare drugs before injection and that a simple intervention - heating the equipment ... read more

Longer Neutrophil Lifespan May Contribute to HIV-Associated Intestinal Inflammation

The increased survival of white blood cells called neutrophils is associated with alterations in the intestinal microbiome of HIV-infected individuals, according to a new ... read more

Gut Microbiome May Contribute to HIV Transmission in High-Risk Men

Gut microbes from high HIV-risk men who have sex with men drive immune activation in mice and HIV infection in cells, according to a new ... read more

Supporting HIV-Affected Couples Trying to Conceive

Timed vaginal insemination is a safe, effective way to help HIV-affected couples conceive, finds a new pilot study in Kenya led by a Michigan Medicine ... read more

Immunotherapy Kicks and Kills HIV by Exploiting a Common Virus

In a first on the quest to cure HIV, scientists report that they've developed an all-in-one immunotherapy approach that not only kicks HIV out of hiding in the immune system, but also kills it. ... read more

Opioid Epidemic Is Increasing Rates of Some Infectious Diseases

The US faces a public health crisis as the opioid epidemic fuels growing rates of certain infectious diseases, including HIV/AIDS, hepatitis, heart infections, and skin and soft tissue infections. ... read more

HIV Infection Increases the Risk of Death Associated With Depressive Symptoms

In a new study to investigate the relationship among depressive disorders or symptoms, HIV status and mortality, researchers report that symptoms of depression are moderately associated with death ... read more

Copycat Fungus Deceives Immune System and Deactivates Body's Response to Infection

Fungus can imitate signals from our immune system and prevent our body from responding to infection, new research has ... read more

New Method Drives Cellular HIV Reservoirs to Self-Destruct

While current therapies for HIV can successfully manage active infection, the virus can survive in tissue reservoirs, including macrophage cells, and remain a persistent problem. Now, scientists have ... read more

AIDS-Immunocompromised Populations See More Antibiotic-Resistant Infections, Study Finds

Populations with a high prevalence of AIDS-immunocompromised people are more likely to see the emergence of antibiotic-resistant bacterial infections, according to new ... read more

Naltrexone Implant Helps HIV Patients With Opioid Dependence Prevent Relapse

A new study shows that a naltrexone implant placed under the skin was more effective at helping HIV-positive patients with an opioid addiction reduce relapse and have better HIV-related outcomes ... read more

Many Recovering from Addiction Have Chronic Health Problems, Diminished Quality of Life

A study shows that more than a third of individuals who consider themselves in recovery from an alcohol or other substance use disorder continue to suffer from chronic physical ... read more

Dormant Viruses Activate During Spaceflight

Herpes viruses reactivate in more than half of crew aboard Space Shuttle and International Space Station missions. While only a small proportion develop symptoms, virus reactivation rates increase ... read more

Child's Elevated Mental Ill-Health Risk If Mother Treated for Infection During Pregnancy

Risks for autism and depression are higher if one's mother was in hospital with an infection during pregnancy. This is shown by a major Swedish observational study of nearly 1.8 million ... read more

New Hepatitis C Cases Down by Almost 70 Percent in HIV-Positive Men in London

New cases of hepatitis C amongst HIV-positive men in London have fallen by nearly 70 percent in recent years. The new analysis of data from three clinics in London found 256 men were diagnosed ... read more

Monday, June 24, 2019
Thursday, June 13, 2019
Thursday, June 6, 2019
Monday, June 3, 2019
Tuesday, May 21, 2019
Thursday, April 25, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019
Thursday, April 4, 2019
Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Monday, April 1, 2019
Thursday, March 28, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Saturday, March 16, 2019
Thursday, March 7, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Thursday, January 3, 2019
Wednesday, December 26, 2018
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Friday, December 7, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Friday, November 9, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Friday, October 19, 2018
Thursday, October 11, 2018
Sunday, October 7, 2018
Monday, October 1, 2018
Thursday, September 27, 2018
Wednesday, September 26, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Monday, September 17, 2018
Thursday, September 13, 2018
Wednesday, September 5, 2018
Tuesday, September 4, 2018
Tuesday, August 28, 2018
Monday, August 27, 2018
Monday, August 20, 2018
Wednesday, August 15, 2018
Tuesday, August 14, 2018
Monday, August 13, 2018
Wednesday, August 8, 2018
Tuesday, August 7, 2018
Friday, August 3, 2018
Tuesday, July 24, 2018
Thursday, July 19, 2018
Thursday, July 12, 2018
Wednesday, July 11, 2018
Saturday, July 7, 2018
Thursday, July 5, 2018
Thursday, June 28, 2018
Wednesday, June 27, 2018
Tuesday, June 26, 2018
Monday, June 25, 2018
Monday, June 11, 2018
Thursday, June 7, 2018
Tuesday, June 5, 2018
Friday, May 18, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com