advertisement
Pregnancy and Childbirth News
May 19, 2019

Top Headlines
 

Older Fathers Put Health of Partners, Unborn Children at Risk

Men who delay starting a family have a ticking 'biological clock' -- just like women -- that may affect the health of their partners and children, according to ... read more

Viral Infections During Pregnancy Linked to Behavioral Abnormalities in Offspring

Male and female rats whose mother experienced a simulated viral infection during pregnancy behave abnormally, consistent with behavioral alterations ... read more
Researchers have found a way to transform skin cells into the three major stem cell types that comprise early-stage embryos. The work (in mouse cells) has significant ... read more

Possible Link Between Autism and Antidepressants Use During Pregnancy

An international team has found a potential link between autistic-like behavior in adult mice and exposure to a common antidepressant in the womb. They also identified a treatment that helped improve ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 4:17am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

People Fail to Recognize Male Postnatal Depression

A new study shows that people are almost twice as likely to correctly identify signs of postnatal depression in women than in ... read more

New Approach Uses Magnetic Beads to Treat Preeclampsia

A new proof of concept study shows that functionalized magnetic beads reduced blood levels of a harmful molecule by 40%, which doubled the effect of a different molecule that aids blood vessel ... read more

Maternal Microbes Mediate Diet-Derived Damage

New research has found, using a mouse model, that microbes in the maternal intestine may contribute to impairment of the gut barrier during ... read more

Milk Expression Within 8 Hours Associated With Lactation Success for VLBW Infants in NICU

A study has shown that first milk expression within eight hours of giving birth is associated with the highest probability of mothers of very low-birth-weight infants being able to provide milk ... read more

Maternal Nut Consumption During Pregnancy Linked to Improvements in Neurodevelopment in Children

For the first time links have been observed between a nut-rich maternal diet during the first trimester of pregnancy and better outcomes after birth in cognitive function, attention capacity and ... read more

Induced Labor Not More Expensive to Health Care System Than Spontaneous Labor

A new study shows inducing labor one week early costs the same as waiting for spontaneous ... read more

Mobile Prenatal App Shown to Reduce in-Person Visits During Pregnancy

Using the mobile app Babyscripts reduced in-person prenatal care visits while maintaining patient and provider satisfaction, according to new ... read more

Premature Birth Linked to Increased Risk of Chronic Kidney Disease Into Later Life

Preterm and early term birth are strong risk factors for the development of chronic kidney disease (CKD) from childhood into mid-adulthood, a new study ... read more

How Both Mother and Baby Genes Affect Birth Weight

The largest study of its kind has led to new insights into the complex relationships surrounding how mothers' and babies' genes influence birth ... read more

Drug Can Reverse Hyperactivity Induced by Parasitic Infection

When rodents get infected by Toxoplasma gondii, the single-celled brain parasite that causes toxoplasmosis, they become hyperactive risk-takers. Researchers show for the first time that it's ... read more

Pregnancy Shifts the Daily Schedule Forward

New research finds that women and mice both shift their daily schedules earlier by up to a few hours during the first third of their pregnancy. A new study shows how impending motherhood induces ... read more

Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder Prevalence Is Very High in Susceptible Groups Worldwide

A major new review of the world literature has found that fetal alcohol spectrum disorder (FASD) is 10 to 40 times higher in certain susceptible groups than the general population. These groups ... read more

Your Genetic Make-Up Has Little Impact on Your Dental Health, New Study Finds

A new study estimates that one in three Australian children have tooth decay by the time they start ... read more

Weight-Loss Surgery and Risk of Pregnancy and Birth Complications

Women who have undergone weight-loss surgery appear to be at higher risk of developing complications during pregnancy, and their babies seem more likely to be born prematurely, small for gestational ... read more

Placental Function Linked to Brain Injuries Associated With Autism

Allopregnanolone, a hormone made by the placenta late in pregnancy, is such a potent neurosteroid that disrupting its steady supply to the developing fetus can leave it vulnerable to brain injuries ... read more

Short Period of Parental Sexual Contact Prior to Pregnancy Increases Offspring Risk of Schizophrenia

Children may be at a slightly increased risk of schizophrenia when their parents were in sexual contact for less than three years before conceiving them, according to new ... read more

Pregnant Women With Type 1 Diabetes Are at Risk of Giving Birth Prematurely

Pregnant women with type 1 diabetes are at increased risk of delivering their baby prematurely, according to a new study. The risk increases as blood sugar levels rise, however women who maintain the ... read more

Study Finds That Quitting Smoking During Pregnancy Lowers Risk of Preterm Births

A new study of more than 25 million pregnant women reports on rates of smoking cessation at the start of and during pregnancy and also examines the association of quitting cigarette smoking and the ... read more

Using CRISPR gene editing, researchers have thwarted a lethal lung disease in an animal model in which a harmful mutation causes death within hours after birth. This proof-of-concept study showed ... read more

Additional Routine Ultrasounds Benefit Mothers and Babies, and Could Be Cost Saving, Study Finds

Offering universal late pregnancy ultrasounds at 36 weeks' gestation eliminates undiagnosed breech presentation of babies, lowers the rate of emergency caesarean sections, and improves the ... read more

Monday, May 13, 2019
Thursday, May 9, 2019
Tuesday, May 7, 2019
Friday, May 3, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Saturday, April 27, 2019
Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Friday, April 19, 2019
Wednesday, April 17, 2019
Tuesday, April 16, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019
Wednesday, April 10, 2019
Tuesday, April 9, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Sunday, April 7, 2019
Saturday, April 6, 2019
Thursday, April 4, 2019
Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Monday, April 1, 2019
Friday, March 29, 2019
Thursday, March 28, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019
Sunday, March 24, 2019
Saturday, March 23, 2019
Friday, March 22, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Monday, March 18, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Monday, March 11, 2019
Friday, March 8, 2019
Thursday, March 7, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Tuesday, March 5, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Friday, March 1, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019

http://www.vxiaotou.com