advertisement
Obesity News
May 20, 2019

Top Headlines
 

Early Weight-Loss Surgery May Improve Type 2 Diabetes, Blood Pressure Outcomes

Despite similar weight loss, teens who had gastric bypass surgery were significantly more likely to have remission of both type 2 diabetes and high ... read more
People eating ultra-processed foods ate more calories and gained more weight than when they ate a minimally processed diet, according to results from a new study. The ... read more

Obesity: The Key Role of a Brain Protein Revealed

Regardless of how much you exercise or how balanced your diet is, controlling your weight is more brain-related than you might have thought. Researchers show for the first time in mice that the ... read more

Older Adults With Obesity May Have Fewer Years of Healthy Life

A study conducted of older Singaporeans (above 60 years) showed that those with a higher Body Mass Index (BMI) might have the same number of remaining years of life compared to those with a lower ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 8:15am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Maternal Microbes Mediate Diet-Derived Damage

New research has found, using a mouse model, that microbes in the maternal intestine may contribute to impairment of the gut barrier during ... read more

Heavier and Taller Children Are More Likely to Develop Kidney Cancer as Adults Than Their Average-Sized Peers

A study of more than 300,000 individuals in Denmark reveals that heavier and taller children are at greater risk than their average-sized peers of developing the kidney cancer renal cell carcinoma ... read more

Children, Their Parents, and Health Professionals Often Underestimate Children's Higher Weight Status

More than half of parents underestimated their children's classification as overweight or obese -- children themselves and health professionals also share this ... read more

Weight-Loss Surgery and Risk of Pregnancy and Birth Complications

Women who have undergone weight-loss surgery appear to be at higher risk of developing complications during pregnancy, and their babies seem more likely to be born prematurely, small for gestational ... read more

Being a Car Commuter With Obesity Linked to a 32% Increased Early Death Risk

New research shows that individuals with obesity who commute by car have a 32% higher risk of early death, from any cause, compared with those individuals with a normal weight and commute via cycling ... read more

Obesity and Emotional Problems Appear to Develop Together from Age 7

Obesity and emotional problems, such as feelings of low mood and anxiety, tend to develop hand-in-hand from as young as age seven ... read more

Nationwide Study Suggests Obesity as an Independent Risk Factor for Anxiety and Depression in Young People

Obesity is linked with an increased risk of developing anxiety and depression in children and adolescents, independent of traditional risk factors such as parental psychiatric illness and ... read more

Comfort Food Leads to More Weight Gain During Stress

Australian researchers have discovered a new molecular pathway in the brain that triggers more weight gain in times of ... read more

It's OK to Indulge Once in a While, Study Suggests: The Body Adapts to Occasional Short-Term Overeating

Overeating has been found to impair blood sugar (glucose) control and insulin levels. A new study suggests that the duration of a bout of overeating can affect how the body adapts glucose and insulin ... read more

Researchers using sophisticated MRI technology have found that higher levels of body fat are associated with differences in the brain's form and structure, including smaller volumes of gray ... read more

Improved WIC Food Packages Reduced Obesity Risk for Children, Study Finds

A decade ago, the U.S. federal government overhauled nutrition standards for food packages in its primary food assistance program for young mothers and their children. The change reduced obesity ... read more

Mediterranean Diet Deters Overeating, Study Finds

A new study finds that nonhuman primates on a Mediterranean diet chose not to eat all the food available to them and maintained a normal ... read more

How Lifestyle Affects Our Genes

In the past decade, knowledge of how lifestyle affects our genes, a research field called epigenetics, has grown exponentially. Researchers have summarized the state of scientific knowledge within ... read more

No Increase in Complications With 'Tummy Tuck' in Obese Patients

'Tummy tuck' surgery (abdominoplasty) can be safely performed in obese patients, with no increase in complications compared to non-obese patients, reports a new ... read more

New Insight Into How Obesity, Insulin Resistance Can Impair Cognition

Obesity can break down our protective blood brain barrier resulting in problems with learning and memory, scientists ... read more

Marijuana Users Weigh Less, Defying the Munchies

New evidence suggests that those who smoke cannabis, or marijuana, weigh less compared to adults who don't. The findings are contrary to the belief that marijuana users who have a serious case ... read more

Genetic Variants That Protect Against Obesity Could Aid New Weight Loss Medicines

Around four million people in the UK carry genetic variants that protect them from obesity, type 2 diabetes and heart disease, suggests new research. The team say the discovery could lead to the ... read more

Achieving Sugar Reduction Targets Could Cut Child Obesity and Healthcare Costs

Reducing the sugar content of certain foods by 2020, in line with UK government policy targets, could cut child obesity and related illness, and save the NHS in England £286 million over 10 years, ... read more

Cognitive Functioning Does Not Predict Weight-Loss Outcome for Adolescents

Young people with cognitive impairments and developmental disabilities, including Down syndrome, have similar weight-loss trajectories to those with typical cognitive function after bariatric ... read more

DNA Methylation Levels Linked to Obesity

A multidisciplinary study has linked DNA methylation levels to the development of the metabolic disease associated with obesity. A multidisciplinary work that has been carried out by biologists, ... read more

Monday, May 13, 2019
Monday, April 29, 2019
Saturday, April 27, 2019
Thursday, April 25, 2019
Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Monday, April 22, 2019
Friday, April 19, 2019
Thursday, April 18, 2019
Wednesday, April 17, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Friday, April 12, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019
Wednesday, April 10, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Sunday, April 7, 2019
Thursday, April 4, 2019
Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Monday, April 1, 2019
Friday, March 29, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019
Saturday, March 23, 2019
Friday, March 22, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Monday, March 18, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Tuesday, March 5, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Friday, March 1, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Monday, February 18, 2019
Friday, February 15, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Tuesday, February 12, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Friday, February 1, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019

http://www.vxiaotou.com