advertisement
Nervous System News
January 18, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 12:48pm EST

More Nervous System News
January 18, 2019

Alterations in Hippocampal Structural Connections Differentiate Between Responders of ECT

Jan. 16, 2019 — A new study in people with major depression reports that electroconvulsive therapy (ECT) induces changes in the fibers connecting the hippocampus to brain regions involved in mood and ... read more

Jan. 15, 2019 — Researchers have discovered that a drug currently being developed to treat stroke patients could also prevent Alzheimer's disease. The study shows that the genetically engineered protein ... read more

Jan. 14, 2019 — At a time when several states are moving to legalize recreational use of marijuana, new research shows that concerns about the drug's impact on teens may be warranted. The study shows that even ... read more

Dementia: New Culprit and Potential Treatment Target

Jan. 14, 2019 — A study shows people with the worst memory problems also had the most leakage in their brain's blood vessels -- regardless of whether abnormal proteins amyloid and tau were ... read more

Parasites from Patients With Cerebral Malaria Stick Preferentially in Their Brains

Jan. 11, 2019 — Scientists have provided, for the first time, evidence which links the ability of red blood cells infected with the malaria parasite to bind to the cells lining the blood vessels of the brain, with ... read more

Decades-Old Question About Protein Found in Alzheimer's Brain Plaques

Jan. 10, 2019 — Alzheimer's-affected brains are riddled with so-called amyloid plaques: protein aggregates consisting mainly of amyloid-beta. However, this amyloid-beta is a fragment produced from a precursor ... read more

Excessive Body Fat Around the Middle Linked to Smaller Brain Size, Study Finds

Jan. 9, 2019 — Carrying extra body fat, especially around the middle, may be linked to brain shrinkage, according to new research. For the study, researchers determined obesity by measuring body mass index (BMI) ... read more

A New Hope in Treating Neurodegenerative Disease

Jan. 4, 2019 — Researchers have clarified the fundamentals of coiled toxin protein which causes neurodegenerative brain disorders. The result is expected to speed the development of treatment for neurodegenerative ... read more

New Insight Into the Process of Generation of New Neurons in the Adult Brain

Jan. 3, 2019 — Researchers have discovered a novel and unexpected function of nestin, the best known marker of neural stem ... read more

Jan. 2, 2019 — In optogenetics, scientists use light to turn groups of neurons in the brain on or off. New research demonstrates a new optogenetics method that eliminates the need for bulky optical fibers, gives ... read more

Living a Stronger and Longer Life: What Scientists Are Learning from Worms

Jan. 2, 2019 — Research has uncovered a cause of declining motor function and increased frailty in tiny aging worms -- and a way to slow it ... read more

Two Possible New Ways to Treat Silent Seizures in Children

Jan. 2, 2019 — A recent study characterizes silent seizures in a mouse model of Dravet syndrome and identifies a new brain area that could be targeted to stop ... read more

Smelling in Tiny Houses: How Ciliary Electric Currents Keep Olfaction Reliable

Jan. 1, 2019 — Scientists have used a combination of mathematical modeling, electrophysiology, and computer simulations to explain how cells communicate effectively in highly constricted spaces such as the ... read more

Dec. 26, 2018 — The alcohol in beverages acts much like an anesthetic. It creates a hyper 'buzzed' feeling first, and then sedation. But how? It turns out there is an important intermediate step that ... read more

How Neurons Could Disconnect from Each Other in Huntington's Disease

Dec. 25, 2018 — Newly described mechanism called 'neuritosis' could play an important role in normal brain development, aging and neurodegenerative ... read more

Gut-Brain Connection Signals Worms to Alter Behavior While Eating

Dec. 20, 2018 — Neuroscientists have discovered how neurons in the digestive tract of the worm C. elegans signal the brain to slow down when it encounters an area of plentiful ... read more

Stem Cell-Derived Neurons Stop Seizures and Improve Cognitive Function

Dec. 20, 2018 — About 3.4 million Americans, or 1.2 percent of the population, have active epilepsy. Although the majority respond to medication, between 20 and 40 percent of patients with epilepsy continue to have ... read more

Parkinson's Disease Protein Buys Time for Cell Repair

Dec. 20, 2018 — Loss of the protein Parkin causes certain forms of Parkinson's disease, a neurodegenerative condition involving death of neurons. Scientists have now shown that Parkin stifles cell death by ... read more

New Memory Study First to Use Intracranial Recordings

Dec. 19, 2018 — New research is first memory study to use intracranial recordings to better understand how maturation of the prefrontal cortex drives memory ... read more

Drugs of Abuse: Identifying the Addiction Circuit

Dec. 19, 2018 — What happens in the brain of a compulsive drug user? Neurobiologists have discovered that the brain circuit connecting the decision-making region to the reward system is stronger in compulsive ... read more

Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Friday, January 11, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Friday, January 4, 2019
Thursday, January 3, 2019
Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Tuesday, January 1, 2019
Wednesday, December 26, 2018
Tuesday, December 25, 2018
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018
Friday, November 16, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Monday, November 12, 2018
Friday, November 9, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Friday, November 2, 2018
Thursday, November 1, 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Tuesday, October 30, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Friday, October 26, 2018
Thursday, October 25, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Monday, October 22, 2018
Friday, October 19, 2018
Thursday, October 18, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Monday, October 15, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com