advertisement
Malaria News
June 17, 2019

Top Headlines
 

Researchers describe the first trial outside the laboratory of a transgenic approach to combating malaria. The study shows that a naturally occurring fungus engineered to ... read more

Half a Million Tests and Many Mosquitoes Later, New Buzz About a Malaria Prevention Drug

Researchers spent two years testing chemical compounds for their ability to inhibit the malaria parasite at an earlier stage in its lifecycle than ... read more

First Malaria-Human Contact Mapped With Nobel Prize-Winning Technology

Scientists have taken a significant step toward developing a new vaccine for malaria, revealing for the first time an 'atomic-scale' blueprint of how the parasite invades human cells. Using the Nobel ... read more

Unlocking the Genome of the World’s Deadliest Parasite

Antimalarial drugs and vaccines are expected to be far more superior with the uncovering of Plasmodium falciparum's full genome, the parasite that makes malaria so ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 12:45pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Human Protein That Aids Development of Malaria Parasite Identified

Researchers have discovered that the Plasmodium parasites responsible for malaria rely on a human liver cell protein for their development into a form capable of infecting red blood cells and causing ... read more

Mosquito Control Program Reduces Dengue, Costs in Sri Lanka

A public health, police, and military partnership to reduce the mosquito population in Sri Lanka resulted in a more than 50% reduction in dengue, as well as cost savings, finds a new ... read more

Egg Yolk Precursor Protein Regulates Mosquitoes' Attraction to Humans

Feeding mosquitoes sugar makes them less attracted to humans, a response that is regulated by the protein vitellogenin, according to a new ... read more

Fifteen Years of Mosquito Data Implicate Species Most Likely to Transmit West Nile Virus in Iowa

A study which analyzed 15 years of mosquito surveillance data shows Iowa's western counties experience a higher abundance of the species thought to most commonly carry West Nile virus. Culex ... read more

Identifying Regions That Would Most Benefit from an Innovative Strategy Against Malaria

A new analysis identifies African regions where ivermectin administration to livestock would have the greatest impact on malaria transmission. The results point to West Africa, below the Sahel, where ... read more

Modelled Climate Change Impact on Mosquito-Borne Virus Transmission

Mosquito-borne viruses, such as dengue, chikungunya, and Zika, already threaten over a billion people globally. A study predicts that climate change and rising global temperatures will lead to both ... read more

Protecting Homes With Netting Window Screens Can Reduce Malaria Parasite Infection

Protecting houses against mosquitoes with netting window screens can suppress malaria vector populations and dramatically reduce human parasite infection prevalence, according to new ... read more

Potential New Combination Treatment for Pancreatic Cancer

Researchers have identified a possible new therapeutic strategy using two types of drug inhibitors at once to treat one of the world's deadliest ... read more

New Mobile Element Found in Mosquito Parasite Has Potential for Disease Control

An interdisciplinary team of scientists has identified a new mobile DNA element in the Wolbachia parasite, which may contribute to improved control strategies for mosquito vectors of diseases such as ... read more

Anti-Malarial Shows Promise in Human Clinical Study

An experimental drug, called DSM265, cured seven volunteers of a Plasmodium falciparum infection, a malaria parasite that is a major cause of morbidity and mortality worldwide. The goal of this ... read more

Protection from Zika Virus May Lie in a Protein Derived from Mosquitoes

By targeting a protein found in the saliva of mosquitoes that transmit Zika virus, investigators reduced Zika infection in mice. The finding demonstrates how researchers might develop a vaccine ... read more

A Quick Path to Antimalarial Resistance

Resistance to antimalarial drugs is thought to result mainly from changes in the parasite's genome. However, P. falciparum can also develop resistance to some antimalarial compounds by ... read more

Earlier Emergence of Malaria in Africa

Malaria, which claims hundreds of thousands of lives each year -- mainly children and especially in Africa -, is one of the leading causes of death by an infectious agent, the Plasmodium falciparum ... read more

Medicating Mosquitoes to Fight Malaria

Mosquitoes that landed on surfaces coated with the anti-malarial compound atovaquone were completely blocked from developing Plasmodium falciparum, the parasite that causes malaria, according to new ... read more

Mosquitoes That Carry Malaria May Have Been Doing So 100 Million Years Ago

The anopheline mosquitoes that carry malaria were present 100 million years ago, new research shows, potentially shedding fresh light on the history of a disease that continues to kill more than ... read more

Genome Scientists Develop Novel Approaches to Studying Widespread Form of Malaria

Scientists have developed a novel way with genome sequences to study and better understand transmission, treat and ultimately eradicate Plasmodium vivax, the most widespread form of ... read more

Putting Female Mosquitoes on Human Diet Drugs Could Reduce Spread of Disease

Researchers report that they have identified drugs that can reduce mosquito hunger for blood. Because movement of female mosquitoes from human to human -- male mosquitoes do not consume blood -- is ... read more

Genome Structure of Malaria Parasites Linked to Virulence

An international research has found that malaria parasite genomes are shaped by parasite-specific gene families, and that this genome organization strongly correlates with the parasite's ... read more

Male Birth Control for the Malaria Parasite

Disrupting two genes involved in the preservation of RNA molecules inhibits the ability of the male form of the malaria parasite to mature and be transmitted from human blood into mosquitoes, ... read more

Insecticide Resistance Genes Affect Vector Competence for West Nile Virus

In a context of overuse of insecticides, which leads to the selection of resistant mosquitoes, it is already known that this resistance to insecticides affects interactions between mosquitoes and the ... read more

Wednesday, June 12, 2019
Wednesday, June 5, 2019
Thursday, May 9, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Tuesday, April 9, 2019
Thursday, March 28, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Monday, March 11, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Friday, January 11, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Thursday, October 25, 2018
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Monday, October 15, 2018
Thursday, October 11, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Thursday, October 4, 2018
Wednesday, September 26, 2018
Monday, September 24, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Tuesday, September 18, 2018
Friday, August 31, 2018
Thursday, August 30, 2018
Monday, August 27, 2018
Tuesday, August 21, 2018
Monday, August 20, 2018
Thursday, August 16, 2018
Friday, August 10, 2018
Thursday, August 2, 2018
Monday, July 30, 2018
Tuesday, July 24, 2018
Friday, July 20, 2018
Thursday, July 19, 2018
Friday, July 13, 2018
Monday, July 9, 2018
Friday, July 6, 2018
Tuesday, July 3, 2018
Monday, July 2, 2018
Monday, June 25, 2018
Friday, June 22, 2018
Thursday, June 21, 2018
Tuesday, June 19, 2018
Monday, June 18, 2018
Friday, June 15, 2018
Thursday, June 7, 2018
Wednesday, May 23, 2018
Tuesday, May 22, 2018
Monday, May 21, 2018
Friday, May 18, 2018
Wednesday, May 16, 2018
Monday, May 14, 2018
Friday, May 11, 2018
Tuesday, May 8, 2018
Tuesday, May 1, 2018
Monday, April 30, 2018
Tuesday, April 24, 2018
Friday, April 20, 2018
Wednesday, April 18, 2018
Monday, April 16, 2018
Friday, April 13, 2018
Thursday, April 12, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com