advertisement
Infant's Health News
May 21, 2019

Top Headlines
 

Older Fathers Put Health of Partners, Unborn Children at Risk

Men who delay starting a family have a ticking 'biological clock' -- just like women -- that may affect the health of their partners and children, according to ... read more

Autism Diagnoses Prove Highly Stable as Early as 14 Months

Diagnoses of autism spectrum disorder (ASD) by trained professionals in children as young as 14 months are remarkably stable, suggesting that accurate screening and earlier treatment is ... read more

Placental Function Linked to Brain Injuries Associated With Autism

Allopregnanolone, a hormone made by the placenta late in pregnancy, is such a potent neurosteroid that disrupting its steady supply to the developing fetus can leave it vulnerable to brain injuries ... read more
Using CRISPR gene editing, researchers have thwarted a lethal lung disease in an animal model in which a harmful mutation ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 3:17am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Progress Against Child Mortality Lags in Many Indian States

India in 2015 had more deaths among children under five than any other country and had large disparities in the under-five mortality rate between richer and poorer states, according to a new ... read more

New Approach Uses Magnetic Beads to Treat Preeclampsia

A new proof of concept study shows that functionalized magnetic beads reduced blood levels of a harmful molecule by 40%, which doubled the effect of a different molecule that aids blood vessel ... read more

Maternal Microbes Mediate Diet-Derived Damage

New research has found, using a mouse model, that microbes in the maternal intestine may contribute to impairment of the gut barrier during ... read more

Milk Expression Within 8 Hours Associated With Lactation Success for VLBW Infants in NICU

A study has shown that first milk expression within eight hours of giving birth is associated with the highest probability of mothers of very low-birth-weight infants being able to provide milk ... read more

Specific Identification of Chronic Lung Disease in Premature Babies

Infants born prematurely frequently develop a form of chronic lung disease known as Bronchopulmonary Dysplasia. Previously, this disease could only be diagnosed clinically and with a low degree of ... read more

'Good Enough' Parenting Is Good Enough, Study Finds

Caregivers need only 'get it right' 50 percent of the time when responding to babies' need for attachment to have a positive impact on a baby, new research ... read more

Mobile Prenatal App Shown to Reduce in-Person Visits During Pregnancy

Using the mobile app Babyscripts reduced in-person prenatal care visits while maintaining patient and provider satisfaction, according to new ... read more

High Rates of Formula Use With Low-Income Infants

New research found high rates of non-exclusive breastfeeding and early infant formula introduction. Their sample included low-income, predominately Hispanic immigrant women participating in a local ... read more

Pregnancy Shifts the Daily Schedule Forward

New research finds that women and mice both shift their daily schedules earlier by up to a few hours during the first third of their pregnancy. A new study shows how impending motherhood induces ... read more

Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder Prevalence Is Very High in Susceptible Groups Worldwide

A major new review of the world literature has found that fetal alcohol spectrum disorder (FASD) is 10 to 40 times higher in certain susceptible groups than the general population. These groups ... read more

Inhaled Hydrogen Could Protect the Brain During Heart-Lung Bypass

Newborns with life-threatening congenital heart disease often need open-heart surgery with cardiopulmonary bypass, which carries a risk of damaging the brain. Critically ill newborns who are placed ... read more

First Genome-Wide Association Study for Type 2 Diabetes in Youth Findings

First Genome-Wide Association Study for Type 2 diabetes discovers seven genetic variants associated with the disease in young ... read more

Caffeine Prevents PGE1-Induced Disturbances in Respiratory Neural Control

Researchers propose PGE exerts adenosine-mediated effects on brainstem mechanisms of respiratory control, which may lead to destabilization of breathing in human infants undergoing treatment for ... read more

Weight-Loss Surgery and Risk of Pregnancy and Birth Complications

Women who have undergone weight-loss surgery appear to be at higher risk of developing complications during pregnancy, and their babies seem more likely to be born prematurely, small for gestational ... read more

Machine-Learning System Used to Diagnose Genetic Diseases

Scientists have utilized a machine-learning process and clinical natural language processing (CNLP) to diagnose rare genetic diseases in record time. This new method is speeding answers to physicians ... read more

Improved WIC Food Packages Reduced Obesity Risk for Children, Study Finds

A decade ago, the U.S. federal government overhauled nutrition standards for food packages in its primary food assistance program for young mothers and their children. The change reduced obesity ... read more

Pregnant Women With Type 1 Diabetes Are at Risk of Giving Birth Prematurely

Pregnant women with type 1 diabetes are at increased risk of delivering their baby prematurely, according to a new study. The risk increases as blood sugar levels rise, however women who maintain the ... read more

Study Finds That Quitting Smoking During Pregnancy Lowers Risk of Preterm Births

A new study of more than 25 million pregnant women reports on rates of smoking cessation at the start of and during pregnancy and also examines the association of quitting cigarette smoking and the ... read more

Potential Treatment for NEC in Preemies

Cutting-edge research offers a new direction toward treatment of necrotizing enterocolitis (NEC) -- a devastating intestinal emergency that occurs in up to 10 percent of premature ... read more

Additional Routine Ultrasounds Benefit Mothers and Babies, and Could Be Cost Saving, Study Finds

Offering universal late pregnancy ultrasounds at 36 weeks' gestation eliminates undiagnosed breech presentation of babies, lowers the rate of emergency caesarean sections, and improves the ... read more

Tuesday, May 14, 2019
Monday, May 13, 2019
Thursday, May 9, 2019
Wednesday, May 8, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Monday, April 29, 2019
Saturday, April 27, 2019
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Friday, April 19, 2019
Thursday, April 18, 2019
Tuesday, April 16, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019
Wednesday, April 10, 2019
Tuesday, April 9, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Monday, April 1, 2019
Friday, March 29, 2019
Thursday, March 28, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019
Saturday, March 23, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Monday, March 18, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Monday, March 11, 2019
Thursday, March 7, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Tuesday, March 5, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Friday, March 1, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Tuesday, February 26, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Sunday, February 24, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Monday, February 18, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Tuesday, February 12, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019

http://www.vxiaotou.com