advertisement
Immune System News
March 21, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 12:18pm EDT

More Immune System News
March 21, 2019

Inflammation Inhibitor Blocks Neurodevelopmental Disorders in Mouse Model

Mar. 19, 2019 — New work shows that an enzyme inhibitor reduced inflammation in the brains of mice born to mothers with maternal immune activation. Inflammation triggered by the enzyme, soluble epoxide hydrolase, is ... read more

Different Bacteria Use Same Cell Surface Molecule to Invade Tissue and Promote Infection

Mar. 19, 2019 — A new study identifies a single molecule as a key entry point used by two types of dangerous bacteria to break through cellular barriers and cause disease. The findings suggest that blocking the ... read more

The Story of GARP: A Potential Target for Cancer Immunotherapy

Mar. 18, 2019 — Researchers reveal how the cell surface receptor GARP plays a role in T regulatory cell function and migration to the gut. Because the presence of T regulatory cells in the gut is generally ... read more

Combination Immunotherapy Could Stop Liver Cancer Growth

Mar. 13, 2019 — New preclinical data offers proof-of-principle for a combination immunotherapy that suppresses tumor growth in the liver. Current therapies for liver cancer are largely ineffective, resulting in poor ... read more

Mar. 13, 2019 — Scientists have shown that harmless purple bacteria (Rhodobacter) are capable of visualizing heterogeneity in tumors. With the aid of optoacoustic imaging, the researchers used these microorganisms ... read more

Mar. 13, 2019 — An extract from the seeds of avocados exhibited anti-inflammatory properties in a laboratory study, according to researchers, and it represents a potential source for novel anti-inflammatory ... read more

These Less Common Proteins May Help Fend Off the Flu

Mar. 12, 2019 — Influenza type B, though generally less widespread than type A, poses a formidable threat for vulnerable populations like the elderly and the young. In the 2012-2013 flu season, for example, ... read more

Mar. 12, 2019 — Researchers explain how viruses make a molecular decoy that is used to subvert the CRISPR-Cas bacterial immune ... read more

For Infection-Fighting Cells, a Guideline for Expanding the Troops

Mar. 11, 2019 — A new study uses mathematical modeling to explain how T cells, part of the body's key defenses against pathogens, expand to fight a new infection. The team found that the amount of T-cell ... read more

Mar. 11, 2019 — Researchers have applied molecular evolutionary analysis to quantify the severity of negative selection pressures on genes encoding the pneumococcal choline-binding proteins (CBPs). They found ... read more

Precision Drugs Could Unmask Cancers to Immune System and Boost Effects of Immunotherapy

Mar. 8, 2019 — Precision cancer drugs called PARP inhibitors have a previously unknown ability to boost the immune system, and could help many more patients benefit from immunotherapy, a new study ... read more

Gene Identified That Increases Risk of Antibiotic Reaction

Mar. 8, 2019 — Researchers have identified a gene that increases the risk for a severe and potentially life-threatening reaction to the commonly prescribed antibiotic ... read more

Zinc Could Help as Non-Antibiotic Treatment for UTIs

Mar. 8, 2019 — New details about the role of zinc in our immune system could help the development of new non-antibiotic treatment strategies for bacterial diseases, such as urinary tract infections (UTIs). UTIs are ... read more

Mar. 7, 2019 — A host protein called Serum Amyloid A (Saa) is a major factor mediating the effects of the microbiota on the function of immune cells called neutrophils, according to a new ... read more

Mar. 6, 2019 — Researchers have found a compound that may treat inflammatory bowel disease without directly targeting inflammation. The compound tamps down the activity of a gene linked to blood clotting. They ... read more

Structure of Elusive Innate Immunity Protein Determined

Mar. 6, 2019 — Researchers used cryo-electron microscopy (cryo-EM) to determine the near-atomic structure of the smallest membrane protein solved to date. Their work could lead to better immunotherapies in cancer ... read more

Mar. 6, 2019 — A research team has discovered a mechanism with which bacteria activate white blood cells and attack an organism's immune ... read more

Better Regulation of the Immune System May Minimize Preeclampsia Symptoms

Mar. 6, 2019 — Boosting the body's levels of interleukin-4 (IL-4)--an immune system protein that controls inflammation -- may help manage the pregnancy complication preeclampsia, according to a new rodent ... read more

A New Way to Map Cell Regulatory Networks

Mar. 5, 2019 — A new mathematical method may soon make it much easier to conduct more of the complex data analysis needed to drive advances in the exploding field of personalized ... read more

A Fungus Usually Found on Skin Might Play a Role in Crohn's Disease

Mar. 5, 2019 — A fungus commonly found in human hair follicles also resides in the gut, where it may worsen intestinal disorders such as inflammatory bowel disease (IBD) in patients with a certain genetic makeup, ... read more

Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Monday, March 18, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Monday, March 11, 2019
Friday, March 8, 2019
Thursday, March 7, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Tuesday, March 5, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Friday, March 1, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Tuesday, February 26, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Sunday, February 24, 2019
Friday, February 22, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Monday, February 18, 2019
Sunday, February 17, 2019
Friday, February 15, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Tuesday, February 12, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019

http://www.vxiaotou.com