advertisement
Controlled Substances News
June 17, 2019

Top Headlines
 

Growing Up High: Neurobiological Consequences of Adolescent Cannabis Use

About one in five Canadian adolescents uses cannabis. Neuroscientists have been researching the effects of cannabis on the adolescent brain. Adolescence is associated with the maturation of cognitive ... read more
In a new mouse study, neonatal exposure to nicotine changed the biochemistry of reward circuitry in the brain. Researchers ... read more

Legal Marijuana Reduces Chronic Pain, but Increases Injuries and Car Accidents

The legalization of recreational marijuana is associated with an increase in its abuse, injury due to overdoses, and car accidents, but does not ... read more
Regular coffee drinkers can sniff out even tiny amounts of coffee and are faster at recognizing the aroma, which could open the door to new ways of using aversion therapy ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 12:47pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Cannabis Use Among Older Adults Rising Rapidly

Cannabis use among older adults is growing faster than any other age group but many report barriers to getting medical marijuana, a lack of communication with their doctors and a lingering stigma ... read more

Vaping Is Linked to Adolescents' Propensity for Crime, Study Shows

A new study explores emerging drug use in the form of adolescent vaping and its association with delinquency among 8th and 10th grade ... read more

Health Professionals Wary of Medicinal Cannabis Misuse and Adverse Effects

An analysis of published studies gauging attitudes to medicinal cannabis has found that while health professionals are broadly supportive, they feel they lack clinical and legislative knowledge, and ... read more

The New 'Runner's High'? Some Often Mix Weed, Workouts

A study of cannabis users in states where it's legal found 82% use the drug before and/or after exercise, with many reporting it increases enjoyment, enhances recovery, and heightens ... read more

Cannabis-Based Medicine May Reduce Seizures for Children With Difficult-to-Treat Epilepsy

Taking a pharmaceutical formulation of cannabidiol, a cannabis-based medicine, cut seizures nearly in half for children with a rare and severe type of epilepsy called Dravet syndrome, according to a ... read more

One in 7 Washington State Drivers With Children in the Car Recently Used Marijuana

According to a roadside survey conducted in Washington State, 14.1% of drivers with children in the car -- nearly one in seven -- tested positive for THC, the principal psychoactive compound in ... read more

Scientists used a compound found in a shrub native to Africa to reveal the three major shapes of the serotonin transporter, a protein in the brain linked to anxiety and depression. The discovery ... read more

Insights on Marijuana and Opioid Use in People With Cancer

A new study reveals that many people with cancer use marijuana, and rates of use in the US have increased over time. The study also found that patients with cancer are more likely to use prescription ... read more

Marijuana Users Weigh Less, Defying the Munchies

New evidence suggests that those who smoke cannabis, or marijuana, weigh less compared to adults who don't. The findings are contrary to the belief that marijuana users who have a serious case ... read more

Regular Cannabis Users Require Up to 220% Higher Dosage for Sedation in Medical Procedures

Researchers in Colorado examined medical records of 250 patients who received endoscopic procedures after 2012, when the state legalized recreational cannabis. They found patients who smoked or ... read more

Cell-Type Specific Mechanism for Formation and Retrieval of Cocaine-Associated Memories

Scientists have revealed neuronal mechanisms underlying the formation and retrieval of cocaine use-associated memories. Their research sheds light on how drug addiction develops and reveals pathways ... read more

Marijuana for Morning Sickness? It's Not Great for Baby's Brain

With a growing number of states legalizing recreational or medical marijuana, more women are using the drug during pregnancy, in part due to its reported ability to relieve morning sickness. A new ... read more

Combining Opioids and Marijuana May Be Advantageous for Pain Sufferers

Researchers report combining cannabinoids with morphine did not significantly increase impulsivity or memory impairment in a study conducted in rhesus monkeys. The findings suggest using opioids and ... read more

Performance-Enhancing Drugs May Increase Risk of Teen Cocaine Abuse, Impair Fertility

Performance-enhancing steroid use could increase the risk of cocaine use and addiction in teens, according to a new rodent study. The combination of these drugs could also impair fertility in young ... read more

Fresh Guidance to Fill 'Information Vacuum' on New Cannabis Products for Medicinal Use

A clinical review offers new advice to help patients and ... read more

New Insights on Liver Injury in Men Taking Body Building Supplements

Forty-four men with liver injury, attributed to over-the-counter bodybuilding supplements, experienced a uniform and distinctive pattern of signs and symptoms that were often prolonged, difficult to ... read more

Psychostimulants Play a Major Role in Fatal Strokes Among Young Adults

An estimated 76 million people use psychostimulants, which include illicit drugs such as methamphetamine, cocaine, and 3,4-methylenedioxymethamphetamine, as well as prescription stimulants. A new ... read more

'NarcoLogic' Computer Model Shows Unintended Consequences of Cocaine Interdiction

Efforts to curtail the flow of cocaine into the United States from South America have made drug trafficking operations more widespread and harder to ... read more

Cannabis During Pregnancy Bumps Psychosis Risk in Offspring

Pregnant women who use cannabis may slightly increase the risk their unborn child will develop psychosis later in life, suggests new ... read more

Patients With or Without Cancer Use Different Forms of Marijuana, Study Finds

A new study shows that compared to other patients, cancer patients use different forms of medical marijuana for unique ... read more

Thursday, May 30, 2019
Tuesday, May 28, 2019
Tuesday, May 7, 2019
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Thursday, April 25, 2019
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Monday, April 22, 2019
Friday, April 19, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Tuesday, April 9, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Sunday, April 7, 2019
Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Monday, March 18, 2019
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Thursday, March 7, 2019
Tuesday, March 5, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Tuesday, February 26, 2019
Friday, February 22, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Monday, February 18, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Tuesday, February 12, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Monday, January 21, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Monday, December 31, 2018
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018
Wednesday, November 21, 2018
Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Sunday, November 4, 2018
Thursday, November 1, 2018
Tuesday, October 30, 2018
Friday, October 26, 2018
Thursday, October 25, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Monday, October 22, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Wednesday, October 3, 2018
Friday, September 28, 2018
Wednesday, September 26, 2018
Monday, September 24, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Monday, September 17, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com