advertisement
HIV and AIDS News
May 20, 2019

Top Headlines
 

New Findings Could Lead to Improved Vaccinations Against Sexually Transmitted Infections

In a new study, researchers show how skin vaccination can generate protective CD8 T-cells that are recruited to the genital tissues and could be used ... read more

In Rare Cases, Immune System Fails Despite HIV Suppression

Antiretroviral therapy (ART) is usually effective at suppressing HIV, allowing the immune system to recover by preventing the virus from destroying CD4+ T cells. Scientists have now identified a ... read more
Regular infusions of an antibody that blocks the HIV binding site on human immune cells may have suppressed levels of HIV for up to four months in people undergoing a ... read more

Sexual Behavior May Influence Gut Microbiome

A person's sexual behavior could affect their microbiome and immune system, potentially elevating their risk of HIV infection, according to a new ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 8:16am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

'Stepped' Treatment Reduces Drinking in Patients With HIV

People with HIV who drink too much were more likely to reduce drinking after undergoing an approach to care known as integrated stepped alcohol treatment, according to a new study. The finding ... read more

Researchers Verify New Method of HIV Transmission Among Injection Drug Users and Effective Prevention Technique

New studies have found for the first time that HIV can be transmitted through the sharing of equipment used to prepare drugs before injection and that a simple intervention - heating the equipment ... read more

Longer Neutrophil Lifespan May Contribute to HIV-Associated Intestinal Inflammation

The increased survival of white blood cells called neutrophils is associated with alterations in the intestinal microbiome of HIV-infected individuals, according to a new ... read more

The anti-cancer drug pembrolizumab has shown promise in slowing or stopping the progression of progressive multifocal leukoencephalopathy (PML), a typically fatal infection of the brain caused by the ... read more

New Imaging Reveals Previously Unseen Vulnerabilities of HIV

Imagine that HIV is a sealed tin can: if you opened it, what would you find inside? For the first time, scientists have visualized what the 'open can' of the human immunodeficiency virus ... read more

Gut Microbiome May Contribute to HIV Transmission in High-Risk Men

Gut microbes from high HIV-risk men who have sex with men drive immune activation in mice and HIV infection in cells, according to a new ... read more

Supporting HIV-Affected Couples Trying to Conceive

Timed vaginal insemination is a safe, effective way to help HIV-affected couples conceive, finds a new pilot study in Kenya led by a Michigan Medicine ... read more

Immunotherapy Kicks and Kills HIV by Exploiting a Common Virus

In a first on the quest to cure HIV, scientists report that they've developed an all-in-one immunotherapy approach that not only kicks HIV out of hiding in the immune system, but also kills it. ... read more

Investigators report that autoantibody production in HIV-positive patients who have undergone antiretroviral therapy is linked to levels of Staphylococcus products in their ... read more

Copycat Fungus Deceives Immune System and Deactivates Body's Response to Infection

Fungus can imitate signals from our immune system and prevent our body from responding to infection, new research has ... read more

New Method Drives Cellular HIV Reservoirs to Self-Destruct

While current therapies for HIV can successfully manage active infection, the virus can survive in tissue reservoirs, including macrophage cells, and remain a persistent problem. Now, scientists have ... read more

Exposure to HIV Virus, Treatment Before Birth Linked to Obesity Later in Life

Teens and young adults who were exposed to HIV and antiretroviral therapy before birth but are HIV-negative themselves are at increased risk of obesity and asthma-like ... read more

Naltrexone Implant Helps HIV Patients With Opioid Dependence Prevent Relapse

A new study shows that a naltrexone implant placed under the skin was more effective at helping HIV-positive patients with an opioid addiction reduce relapse and have better HIV-related outcomes ... read more

Many Recovering from Addiction Have Chronic Health Problems, Diminished Quality of Life

A study shows that more than a third of individuals who consider themselves in recovery from an alcohol or other substance use disorder continue to suffer from chronic physical ... read more

Are There Zika Reservoirs in the Americas?

A researcher travels the Americas, collecting feces from nonhuman primates to determine the risk of Zika ... read more

Reducing the Burden of Tuberculosis Treatment

A research team has developed a device that can lodge in the stomach and deliver antibiotics to treat tuberculosis, which they hope will make it easier to cure more patients and reduce health care ... read more

High Rate of Viral Suppression Among People New to HIV Care

Eighty-six percent of individuals who entered HIV care soon after diagnosis maintained viral suppression after 48 weeks during a clinical trial. Participants in the clinical trial, called iENGAGE, ... read more

Hurricane Maria Had a Significant Impact on HIV Care Outcomes

Hurricane Maria in San Juan, Puerto Rico had a significant impact on HIV outcomes among people living with HIV and a history of substance use, particularly increased viral load and decreased CD4 ... read more

New Hepatitis C Cases Down by Almost 70 Percent in HIV-Positive Men in London

New cases of hepatitis C amongst HIV-positive men in London have fallen by nearly 70 percent in recent years. The new analysis of data from three clinics in London found 256 men were diagnosed ... read more

HIV Remission Achieved in Second Patient

A second person has experienced sustained remission from HIV-1 after ceasing treatment, reports a new article. The case report comes ten years after the first such case, known as the 'Berlin ... read more

Saturday, May 18, 2019
Thursday, April 25, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019
Wednesday, April 10, 2019
Thursday, April 4, 2019
Monday, April 1, 2019
Thursday, March 28, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Thursday, March 7, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Tuesday, March 5, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Friday, March 1, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Friday, January 11, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Thursday, January 3, 2019
Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Wednesday, December 26, 2018
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Friday, December 14, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Friday, December 7, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018
Friday, November 23, 2018
Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Friday, November 16, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Friday, November 9, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Thursday, October 11, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Sunday, October 7, 2018
Friday, October 5, 2018
Wednesday, October 3, 2018
Monday, October 1, 2018
Thursday, September 27, 2018
Wednesday, September 26, 2018
Monday, September 24, 2018
Friday, September 21, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Thursday, September 13, 2018
Monday, September 10, 2018
Wednesday, September 5, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com