advertisement
Heart Disease News
March 22, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 9:46am EDT

More Heart Disease News
March 22, 2019

Antibodies Stabilize Plaque in Arteries

Mar. 21, 2019 — Researchers have found that type IgG antibodies play an unexpected role in atherosclerosis. A study on mice shows that the antibodies stabilize the plaque that accumulates on the artery walls, which ... read more

Ultrasound Provides Precise, Minimally Invasive Way to Measure Heart Function in Children

Mar. 18, 2019 — Currently, a practical, precise, minimally invasive way to measure cardiac output or heart function in children undergoing surgery does not exist. New research illustrates how a novel minimally ... read more

Ticagrelor Is as Safe and Effective as Clopidogrel After Heart Attack

Mar. 18, 2019 — Patients given clot busters to treat a heart attack fared equally well if they were given the standard blood thinning medication clopidogrel versus the newer, more potent drug ticagrelor, according ... read more

Pure Omega-3 Prescription Drug Markedly Reduces First, Repeat and Total CV Events

Mar. 18, 2019 — Taking a high dose of icosapent ethyl -- a pure and stable prescription form of the omega-3 fatty acid known as EPA -- significantly reduces the occurrence of first, subsequent and total ischemic ... read more

New Practice Corrects Pump Function in Heart Failure

Mar. 18, 2019 — New results pave the way for a new standard of care to improve the heart's pump function in selected patients with heart ... read more

Echocardiograms May Help With Patient Selection for Transcatheter Mitral Valve Repair

Mar. 18, 2019 — Clinicians should use echocardiography, an ultrasound that shows the heart's structure and function, when determining whether patients with heart failure and a leaking heart valve are likely to ... read more

Partial Oral Antibiotic Therapy Safe and Effective in Infectious Endocarditis

Mar. 18, 2019 — Patients with an infection of the inner lining on the left side of the heart (endocarditis) who were switched from intravenous to oral antibiotic therapy had better long-term survival and fewer ... read more

Mar. 18, 2019 — Researchers have identified eight new gene mutations that may cause or contribute to idiopathic dilated cardiomyopathy, a form of heart disease not caused by known external influences, such as high ... read more

Commonly Used Heart Drug Associated With Increased Risk of Sudden Cardiac Arrest

Mar. 17, 2019 — A drug commonly used to treat high blood pressure and angina (chest pain) is associated with an increased risk of out-of-hospital sudden cardiac arrest, according to new ... read more

Mar. 17, 2019 — A novel electrocardiogram (ECG) method uses signals from the ear and hand to check heart rhythm. The ECG does not require two hands and could be used by drivers, athletes, and the ... read more

Absorbable Antibiotic Envelope Can Significantly Cut Cardiac Device Infections

Mar. 17, 2019 — A research team has found that using an absorbable, antibiotic-eluting envelope when implanting cardiac devices like pacemakers and defibrillators can cut the rate of major infections by 40 ... read more

New Cardiac Pump Clinically Superior, Safer for Patients, Study Suggests

Mar. 17, 2019 — The study of more than 1,000 patients with severe heart failure not only confirms that the HeartMate 3™, a next-generation LVAD device, markedly reduced the need for re-operations due to pump ... read more

Mar. 18, 2019 — A new study finds that taking statins for heart disease cuts risk of second serious event in half, yet only 6 percent of patients are following as ... read more

In Study, TAVR Is Superior to Surgery for Low-Risk Patients With Aortic Valve Stenosis

Mar. 17, 2019 — A large clinical trial has found that a minimally invasive procedure to replace a narrowed heart valve performed better than surgery in patients who were good candidates for ... read more

Calcium in Arteries Is Shown to Increase Patients' Imminent Risk of a Heart Attack

Mar. 16, 2019 — New research findings show that identifying the presence or absence of coronary artery calcium (CAC) in a patients' arteries can help determine their future ... read more

Higher Egg and Cholesterol Consumption Hikes Heart Disease and Early Death Risk

Mar. 15, 2019 — Cancel the cheese omelet. A large, new study of nearly 30,000 people reports adults who ate more eggs and dietary cholesterol had a significantly higher risk of cardiovascular disease and death from ... read more

Since 1990s, Heart Attacks Have Become Less Deadly, Frequent for Americans

Mar. 15, 2019 — Heart attack prevention and outcomes have dramatically improved for American adults in the past two decades, according to a new study. Compared to the mid-1990s, Americans today are less likely to ... read more

Non-Invasive Imaging Technique Valid for Identifying Small Airway Disease in Lung

Mar. 14, 2019 — Landmark study confirms ability of non-invasive imaging technique to identify early signs of chronic obstructive pulmonary disease ... read more

New Cholesterol-Lowering Drug Could Help Patients Unable to Take Statins

Mar. 13, 2019 — A new class of oral cholesterol-lowering drug could help patients unable to take statins due to side ... read more

Blood Test to Diagnose Heart Attacks Is Flawed, Warn Researchers

Mar. 13, 2019 — The blood test used to diagnose a heart attack (acute myocardial infarction) in patients admitted to hospital can be misleading, warn researchers in a new ... read more

Thursday, March 21, 2019
Monday, March 18, 2019
Sunday, March 17, 2019
Monday, March 18, 2019
Sunday, March 17, 2019
Saturday, March 16, 2019
Friday, March 15, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Monday, March 11, 2019
Thursday, March 7, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Tuesday, March 5, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Sunday, March 3, 2019
Saturday, March 2, 2019
Friday, March 1, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Friday, February 22, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Monday, February 18, 2019
Saturday, February 16, 2019
Friday, February 15, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Tuesday, February 12, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Friday, February 1, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019

http://www.vxiaotou.com