advertisement
Hearing Loss News
June 17, 2019

Top Headlines
 

What's Causing Your Vertigo? Goggles May Help With Diagnosis

Vertigo is a form of severe dizziness that can result in a loss of balance, a feeling of falling, trouble walking or standing, or nausea. There is more than one type of vertigo, each with a different ... read more
Our brains have a remarkable knack for picking out individual voices in a noisy environment, like a crowded coffee shop or a ... read more

Study Suggests Overdiagnosis of Schizophrenia

In a small study of patients, researchers report that about half the people referred to the clinic with a schizophrenia diagnosis didn't actually have schizophrenia. Schizophrenia is a chronic, ... read more

'Molecular Surgery' Reshapes Living Tissue With Electricity but No Incisions

Traditional surgery to reshape a nose or ear entails cutting, sometimes followed by long recovery times and scars. Now, researchers have developed a ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 12:17pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Drug to Treat Malaria Could Mitigate Hereditary Hearing Loss

The ability to hear depends on proteins to reach the outer membrane of sensory cells in the inner ear. But in certain types of hereditary hearing loss, mutations in the protein prevent it from ... read more

All Ears: Genetic Bases of Mammalian Inner Ear Evolution

Mammals have also a remarkable capacity in their sense of hearing, from the high-frequency echolocation calls of bats to low frequency whale songs. Assuming that these adaptations have a root genetic ... read more

Does Your Health in Middle Age Predict How Healthy You'll Be Later in Life?

In a new study, researchers identified factors associated with brain health in middle age in order to identify ways to preserve brain function when people are ... read more

Hearing Loss Before 50 May Mean Higher Risk of Drug and Alcohol Issues

People under age 50 with hearing loss misuse prescription opioids at twice the rate of their hearing peers, and are also more likely to misuse alcohol and other drugs, a new national study finds. ... read more

Novel Electrocardiogram Uses Signals from Ear and Hand to Check Heart Rhythm

A novel electrocardiogram (ECG) method uses signals from the ear and hand to check heart rhythm. The ECG does not require two hands and could be used by drivers, athletes, and the ... read more

Poll Shows Many Older Adults, Especially Those With Health Issues, Feel Isolated

One in four older adults say they feel isolated from other people at least some of the time, and one in three say they lack regular companionship, according to a new national poll. Those feelings of ... read more

Peering Inside the Mind of the Worm for Clues on How Memories Form

A new study lays the ground for uncovering the molecular basis of memory blocking that has baffled scientists for ... read more

Gene Therapy Durably Reverses Congenital Deafness in Mice

Scientists have managed to restore hearing in an adult mouse model of DFNB9 deafness -- a hearing disorder that represents one of the most frequent cases of congenital genetic deafness. Individuals ... read more

With Age Comes Hearing Loss and a Greater Risk of Cognitive Decline

In a new study, researchers report that hearing impairment is associated with accelerated cognitive decline with age, though the impact of mild hearing loss may be lessened by higher ... read more

Who's Listening? Mosquitoes Can Hear Up to 10 Meters Away

Mosquitoes can hear over distances much greater than anyone suspected, according to new ... read more

Exploring the Connection Between Hearing Loss and Cognitive Decline

A new study adds to a growing body of evidence that hearing loss is associated with higher risk of cognitive ... read more

Children Shape Their Learning Environment

Researchers are exploring how parents and children influence each other when they interact, and the longer term impact this has on language ... read more

Mechanism Helps Explain the Ear's Exquisite Sensitivity

Researchers have decoded the way structures in the inner ear give our hearing its remarkable sensitivity and ... read more

Difficulties With Audiovisual Processing Contributes to Dyslexia in Children

A neuroimaging study could help develop tests for early identification of ... read more

Older People Who Use Hearing Aids Still Report Hearing Challenges

A high proportion of older people with hearing aids, especially those with lower incomes, report having trouble hearing and difficulty accessing hearing care services, according to a new ... read more

To Head Off Late-Life Depression, Check Your Hearing

A new study of elderly Hispanics found that hearing loss increased the risk of depression ... read more

Surfer's Ear Points to Ancient Pearl Divers in Panama

Surfer's ear, associated with cold weather and water sports, led a bioarchaeologist at the Smithsonian in Panama to suspect that ancient shoreline residents were diving for pearls in an area of ... read more

Marmoset Monkeys Expect the Melody's Closing Tone

In speech and music, words and notes depend on each other. Humans are highly sensitive to such dependencies, but the evolutionary origins of this capacity are poorly understood. Cognitive biologists ... read more

Hearing Loss Is a Risk Factor for Premature Death

A new study links hearing loss with an increased risk for mortality before the age of 75 due to cardiovascular disease. Researchers found that mortality among those with hearing loss is elevated, ... read more

Medical Team Reports Acute Findings from Havana Embassy Phenomenon

Researchers have presented a report of acute symptoms and clinical findings in 25 diplomatic personnel living in the US Embassy in Havana, Cuba, who experienced severe neurosensory symptoms after ... read more

Tuesday, June 11, 2019
Tuesday, May 28, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019
Sunday, March 17, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Tuesday, February 12, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Friday, December 21, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Thursday, October 25, 2018
Monday, October 15, 2018
Sunday, October 14, 2018
Monday, September 24, 2018
Wednesday, September 12, 2018
Monday, September 10, 2018
Thursday, September 6, 2018
Wednesday, September 5, 2018
Wednesday, August 29, 2018
Wednesday, August 22, 2018
Saturday, August 4, 2018
Thursday, August 2, 2018
Thursday, July 26, 2018
Monday, July 23, 2018
Monday, July 2, 2018
Thursday, June 28, 2018
Monday, June 25, 2018
Wednesday, June 20, 2018
Monday, June 11, 2018
Wednesday, June 6, 2018
Tuesday, May 22, 2018
Thursday, May 17, 2018
Friday, May 11, 2018
Tuesday, May 8, 2018
Monday, May 7, 2018
Thursday, April 26, 2018
Monday, April 16, 2018
Thursday, April 12, 2018
Wednesday, April 4, 2018
Tuesday, April 3, 2018
Monday, April 2, 2018
Monday, March 26, 2018
Wednesday, March 14, 2018
Monday, March 12, 2018
Wednesday, March 7, 2018
Thursday, March 1, 2018
Tuesday, February 27, 2018
Monday, February 26, 2018
Thursday, February 15, 2018
Friday, February 9, 2018
Thursday, February 8, 2018
Thursday, February 1, 2018
Monday, January 29, 2018
Thursday, January 25, 2018
Tuesday, January 23, 2018
Monday, January 15, 2018
Friday, January 5, 2018
Wednesday, January 3, 2018
Wednesday, December 20, 2017
Tuesday, December 19, 2017
Monday, December 11, 2017
Thursday, December 7, 2017
Friday, December 1, 2017
Thursday, November 30, 2017
Monday, November 27, 2017
Thursday, November 16, 2017
Tuesday, November 7, 2017
Thursday, November 2, 2017
Tuesday, October 31, 2017
Thursday, October 26, 2017

http://www.vxiaotou.com